We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Views and Great Breakfast Buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #36 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My Wife and I stayed here during our visit to Rio. We were very happy with our stay. The staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfast buffet has excellent selection and the location is perfect - right on Copa Cabana beach next to the Copa Cabana palace hotel.
Atalantic Avenue - where he hotel is located was buzzing with people and looked safe to venture out even at night. We walked along the beach at midnight/1 AM without any problems.

Pros:
Location - perfect. Close to beach and tons of restaurants
Rooftop bar - Great Caiprinhas and fantastic views of copacabana beach, christ the redeemer and Sugarloaf Mountain
Clean rooms
Excellent breakfast
Helpful staff

Cons:
Hotel walls are thin and we could hear noises from people outside in the hallways.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC_Gunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2016

Dear traveler,

Thank you for coming to Trip Advisor and leave your experience in Windsor Excelsior Hotel. We work diligently care and receive this sensational return.

It makes them happy!

His considerations are very important for us to verify where we make mistakes and we can improve to maintain service excellence. Thank you.

I look forwards to see you back in Rio.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2011

Just across the beach and easy walking distance to the metro. Excellent buffet breakfast. The hotel lunch and dinner buffets are good value but don't change from day to day. Instead try the local cafeteria that has a buffet priced by the weight of what you purchase. Only negative about the hotel was the lack of sound proofing between rooms. From your room you can even hear the musak playing in the corridor. Bring you ear plugs or white noise generator.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2016

Dear traveler,

Thank you for coming to Trip Advisor and leave your experience in Windsor Excelsior Hotel. We work diligently care and receive this sensational return.

It makes them happy!

I look forwards to see you back in Rio.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Our flight from Rio was delayed and the airline bussed us to this hotel to spend what was left of the night. Room service took over an hour and a half for a sandwich and while waiting my husband had two mini-bottles of Johnny Walker Red.

The next day when we checked out we were charged $29.70 Real or $17.54 (USD) for each tiny bottle for a total of $59.40 real ($35.16 USD), which is absolutely out of line, even for a mini bar.

The hotel and management should be ashamed of themselves for such a rip-off!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank E Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente de recepção at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights for a business trip in December. The first room I was given had a musty smell which wasn't very pleasant and also the safe wasn't working so I spoke to reception and they asked if I would prefer to move rooms. The second room was much better (no smell) and overall the service in the hotel was fantastic. The breakfast was also great! The rooftop pool looks much bigger in the photos than in reality but with Copacabana beach across the road I don't think this is a concern. It is also only 6km from Ipanema via a lovely walk along the beach

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisandjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente de recepção at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Ideal location - right across the street from Copacabana beach. Great service, excellent breakfast. Tour group of 19 - none of us had any safety issues in Rio.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDHJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Nice location, good breakfast, comfortable rooms. Te pool view is so beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pecuniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

this place is the pits. the staff is rude and has a major attitude. everyone from the doorman to the reception acts as if they are doing you a favor for staying here. my wife and ended up here during our stay in rio. we read the reviews on trip advisor and believed this would a really nice hotel. the only good part was checking out. we were able to deal with the incompotent staff, but the worst part was the cleaning staff stole a several artilces of clothing from our luggage. the hotel did not take any action or responsiblity. if you end up in rio make sure you stay clear of this mess of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank abibergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,962 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
768 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#20 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#27 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,487 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#40 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,073 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#68 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $113 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing