We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, nice place, great breakfast but no free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #32 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, nice place, great breakfast but no free wifi”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This place is a great location, right on Copacabana. They had free chair, towel and umbrella service at the beach. Staff was amazingly helpful, especially at the front desk (Aline?). They had good food recommendations. Breakfast was great! Wifi was not included, it was 15BRL a day, which isn't great. The rooms were clean and pretty quiet for us. Friends of ours in this place as well had very noisy neighbours though so try not to get a room with a connecting door.

Room Tip: room 716 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very glad with your comments. They will certainly make our staff very happy.

We pool forward to host you in Rio again during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    612
    180
    40
    24
See reviews for
331
449
70
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is located in the center of the Copacabana beach, which is the main +. My room (five.one.six) was clean with comfortable beds, decent amenities, but was very small and had a bad view of an 'ugly' looking building. The complementary breakfast was good. Stuff was accommodating too.
However, the main thing that really bothered me everyday was their internet, it is not free and it keeps dropping out every few minutes. I think for the amount of money you pay per night, they should consider free internet, coffee makers inside the rooms, and things like daily free water, coffee and tea.
It was a nice stay overall. But I will probably stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that facing the Copacabana beach. Like this review? Click on helpful vote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mansour1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Sir:

We thank you for your comments and have taken note of your complaint regarding the Internet service charge, the water and the coffee maker.

We hope to receive you again at our hotel during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel location was superb, staff were very friendly and accommodating, buffet breakfast was brilliant. Rooms were great as were the facilities, swimming pool, gym and steam and sauna room. Really glad that we managed to get this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basher0773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Sir:

Thank you for having chosen the Windsor Excelsior hotel.

We appreciate your detailed comments which will certainly be useful to tourists or businessmen who are looking for a hotel in Rio.

We hope you stay with us again during your next visit to RIo.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Windsor Excelsior. The hotel is well situated on Copacabana Beach with a small rooftop swimming pool with lovely views. The service especially at Reception was excellent. The staff are knowledgeable and were very helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast was superb with something for everyone. The only problem with the hotel is the wifi. It can be purchased on a daily basis but doesn't work very well and keeps cutting out

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolcevita14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very glad with your comments. They will certainly make our staff very happy.

We pool forward to host you in Rio again during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Booked this hotel a week before flying to Rio for the World Cup. Not sure what to expect, but couldn't have been any happier. Great staff, amazing views from rooftop pool. Food was ok but we weren't staying for the food. Had a room overlooking Fan Fest and beach. Room was clean and shower rocked. Beds were fine, could have been a little better, but what can you do. I'll def come back and stay here. Nice job Windsor, thanks!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the city, the world cup and our stay with us.

We look forward to host you again during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The rooftop pool overlooking the beach makes this good hotel - fantastic. Stunning views. If you can afford it stay here. The room was comfortable but not alot more - we had a partial sea view. We didnt eat here (other than breakfast) but Brazil is not a food paradise anyway. The hotel is a good one in a fantastic location. I would return. Breakfast was not that great and the service was not great either.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Michael,

Thank you for your comments. We hope you stay with us again during your next visit to RIo.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I liked this hotel. I spent two nights here during the World Cup, before moving on to Winsor Atlantica. The Excelsior is less fancy than the Atlantica, but still a fine place to stay. The rooms are relatively large, well apponted if not super luxurious, the breakfast buffet is phenomenal, and the front desk staff were helpful throughout the crazy crowds. Yes, the room rate was extortionate during the World Cup, but it was hard to get around that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirdWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for having stayed at the Windsor Excelsior. We appreciate your detailed comments and are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope you stay again with us duriing your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
735 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,331 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,037 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,394 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#52 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Property: Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing