We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“buyers be aware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #31 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“buyers be aware”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We just stayed at this hotel for 3 nights booked through FIFA accommodation for 4 nights during the 2014 World cup. Staying at other hotels booked through FIFA both in 2010 and now 2014 World Cups, we thought it would be a good choice though quite pricier than others but it is in Rio afterall, We had reserved 3 single beds for 3 persons through FIFA with each person name shown on the reservation but the hotel still charged us 25% more for an extra person. We did not get any reasonable response from the hotel and have to follow up with FIFA. Also it seems this hotel is stuck in the 1960s or earlier era. It feels old but not "old style" with many equipment showing their age. the hotel badly needs an upgrade.
Pros: location is great next to Rue Atlántico near all the Copacabana beach activities
Hotel restaurant has great breakfast with friendly and professional staff
Front desk staff and door bell, etc speak fluent English
Cons: Our Superior room had a bare view off the ocean if you really wanted to lean by the window. Standard rooms with no view may be better, cheaper, with less street noise.
Internet is quite slow and spotty, worse they charge per device...it adds up quickly if you are using different devices
Hotel taxis cost almost twice the regular yellow taxis.
The room we stayed was quite plain, very basic, and old looking to our surprise. Certainly not a 5 star hotel.
The bed mattress was not comfortable as it seemed too old. We asked for replacement beds but the quality did not seem much of the improvements.
It seems the staff try to charge you as much as they can with a min. of good service
The hotel did not meet our the least expectation and decided to check out one day early. Will not return to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay at this hotel, ask for a room at the back for much less street noise No laundry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xpen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Sir:
Thank you for your comments and for your preference.
While I understand that you are not satisfied with the 25% charge for the third guest, I would like to explain that FIFA had no fixed rates for triple rooms and your voucher indicated that you had a reservation for a double room. Therefore, the hotel has correctly charged for the third guest.
Should you require any additional information, please let me know.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    607
    179
    40
    24
See reviews for
326
446
70
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

amazing location right in centre of copacabana beach, great rooftop view and amazing breakfasts with very friendly waiters. rooms are okay, worth paying extra for partial seaview. shockingly bad wifi though, wouldnt use this hotel for work again but would for holidays

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaandPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I must say that I was expecting more from the hotel.
Rooms are old fashion, Average service, wifi is charged but work in only one device and you cannot use in everywhere in the hotel because of lack of signal. There is a good location, but the experience in the hotel is poor, sauna is such a shame very small and locker ate small and they have only cold water in the shower. Breakfast is good but not exciting or special.
Definitely it's not a good place for whom look for luxury experience.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocaixeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.

We are very sorry for your disappointment during your stay with us.

In respect of our breakfast, we would like to say that we offer as courtesy, a wide range of breads, different types of juices, fruits, eggs, pies, cakes, light and diet items, totalizing more than 120 items.

We hope to have provided you with a few useful explanation about our hotel and services and would like to have the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Lovely hotel, staff excellent, our room was very tiny only one person could walk pass the bottom of the bed at a time, was a little disappointed as staying 5 nights here but the room was well serviced and very clean. Breakfast was excellent and the staff excellent as well. Just across the road from the beach great location walking distance to mainly anything you wanted would stay here again. lovely pool on top floor and bar amazing views

Room Tip: not sure on pricing but out room was quite small just see what it cost to get something a little lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your helpful comments. We are glad to hear about your pleasant experience at our hotel and look forward to hosting you again in your next visit to Rio.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Hotel is old, but I did visit during the week before the world cup 2014. During the stay- afternoon rest was horrible. Constant pounding and hammer was annoying. The location over all is decent. The end of Copacabana, the beach right across the street and damp beach towels were given to you" felt gross" staff is friendly and helpful. INTERNET is NOT FREE. arm and leg to use. Hotel room views are mostly ugly areas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest:

We thank you for your comments and are sorry to hear about your bad experience with us.
We apologize for the problem with towels and internet. We will do our best to make sure that these problems does not occur again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

great location, staff were very helpful and attentive, very good facilities and cheap food and drinks! The little extras such as beach loungers/towels, airport transfer made it a very enjoyable stay.

Only downside was the daily rate for wifi and only one device could be connected at one time. This was a disappointment considering cheaper hotels eg Ibis, give it for free.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Sir:

Thank you for having stayed at the Windsor Excelsior and for your useful comments.

We hope to host you at our hotel again during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I would recommend this Hotel to any visitor to Rio. The location is excellent, right across the road from Copacabana beach and within easy reach (by taxi) of all of the major tourist destinations.

The hotel is clean, very comfortable and reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet is very good and the staff friendly - the head waiter always came across to inform us about the strikes that were taking place on that day that might affect us.

There is a rooftop bar/terrace overlooking the beach which serves a limited range of food (burgers, pizza etc) at reasonable (by Rio standards) prices.

The reception team are fantastic. There was always someone on duty that spoke good English and we found them unfailingly helpful on a range of matters from an issue with our room (that was fixed immediately) to advice on travel, excursions, local safety etc. I really cannot understand some recent negative comments regarding staff- this was certainly not our experience. Special thanks however must go to William who was sincere and so helpful - a true professional and a credit to the hotel. We cannot thank him enough.

They understand the needs of the customer and act if they can. The check out time is 12.00 but we did not have to leave for the flight until 17.00. We were allowed to keep our room until then (free of charge) because the hotel was not full and they did not need the room that night. Most hotels would charge for this (because they can) irrespective of when the room needed to be prepared for re-occupancy.

I could go on.

A great hotel in a great location - give it a try !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike2016852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Sir:

Thank you for having chosen the Windsor Excelsior hotel.

We appreciate your detailed comments which will certainly be useful to tourists or businessmen who are looking for a hotel in Rio.

We hope you stay with us again during your next visit to RIo.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
729 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#17 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,320 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,030 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#52 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,865 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#103 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Property: Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing