We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grotty den”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Angrense

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Angrense
Ranked #203 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Grotty den”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I arrived tired, dirty and in need of a clean bed and shower and I thought I was going to get just that when I stepped into the nice lobby. However, once I got into the room I found a grotty cigarette smelling barracks with ants crawling everywhere. Woke up after a long loud night and found that a guest had decided to throw up all the drinks and food he/she had the night before in front of my room door. After stepping over mess I went to check out the promised breakfast at back of the lobby area. I suspect they take their cue from penal institutions when it comes to breakfast and eating area. Surly staff took my order and slopped it on my table in a yucky eating room. Took one look at it and ran for the nearest restaurant on main drag outside. Coppacabana is nice but I was still very uncomfortable at night. First night I was hassled by several guys on main road just near hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    56
    56
    13
    10
See reviews for
29
47
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I was looking for a place to crash during my quick trip to Rio basically a place to sleep and keep my stuff while going around Rio, i stayed at this hotel a couple of nights and i have to say the location is good due to the proximity to Copacabana beach they are located in a street with dead end called Angrense over the Nossa Senhora de Copacabana Avenue, the room was a small standard room in the second level with a single bed and a small bathroom it was clean and i had clean towels and soap eveyday at my bed :D , for my taste its just what i needed for a fast trip, the cost was fair enough considering that Rio is not a cheap place compared to other places ive been, breakfast was included but didnt had time to take breakfast there, the do have wireless internet if you have a wireless device to check your mail as well as a couple of computers at the lobby, the staff was nice and kind.

Room Tip: The room i stayed at was a single room quiet with a window but with no view at all big enough for me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gersson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
251 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night with Gap and it was basic and lacking in any charm but the location was fantastic and very close to Copacabana beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful despite the language barrier. The rooms were clean but sterile with no character and the bathroom was so tiny in size with no space at all. This place is fine for 1 or 2 nights but I would not recommend staying here for longer or if you want a romantic getaway. The view from the window was the back of residential properties and air conditioning units so not very attractive. The breakfast here was also overpriced and not very nice. This place was ok - not great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stayed in 2 different rooms. The first was a standard room, it was basic, very clean and had a spacious bathroom. The second room was the cheapest option, it was terrible. Small, dirty and very noisy due to proximity to the kitchen. Woke me up every morning. Great location though.

Room Tip: Just don't take the cheapest room option and you'll be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amtlza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Avoid it, dirty, messy, breakfast is served on trays, honestly, my trip to Rio was spoiled by this hotel, I don't mind staying in simple places, but paying for five star hotel, and staying in a Hostel is very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night and found that it was very basic but ok. The location was great as it was only a block from Copacabana beach. The staff in the hotel had very good English and were very helpful so the hotel definitely has this going for them. The one thing that I would watch out for is that there are no safety deposit boxes available in the hotel which I found very strange and extremely disappointing. When people are travelling around they need to know that their valuables are safe when they are staying in the hotel. Make sure you bring a lock for your bag if & when you stay.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

I don't know how much it actually costs to book it ( since i was in a GAP tour) .. I found the hotel okay. There are lots of shops/banks in the vicinity ... Not very sure how far the nearest Metro Rio Stop is ..

The reception area is small but okay.

Advisable for a few days stay ( MAX).

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Toledo Copacabana Hotel
Toledo Copacabana Hotel
#212 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Copacabana
Royalty Rio Hotel
Royalty Rio Hotel
#134 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Backpackers
Rio Backpackers
#201 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Grande Hotel Canada
Grande Hotel Canada
#103 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#141 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Copacabana
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
#121 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angrense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angrense

Property: Hotel Angrense
Address: Travessa Angrense, 25, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22050-020, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Angrense 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Angrense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angrense Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing