We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well located for business at Barra district”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Promenade Barra First
Ranked #120 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and well located for business at Barra district”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed overnight in Mid-March. Found a very decent hotel. Clean room, well equiped with modern TV set, roomy wardrobe and king size bed. Bathroom needed some painting, but is clear (thought that the window was too large), and had all necessary soaps, combs and shampoo. Fare was below average due to my company´s corporate rate. Restaurant is quite simple, no luxury at all, but presented typical Brazilian dishes for dinner, including grilled beef, chicken, cassava flour, rice and black beans. Breakfast had a good assortment of breads,juices, fruits, and one type of cheese, ham and scrambled eggs. Conclusion: Recommended for a business trip. I did not have time to take a walk in the pool or other facilities.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room in the west corner facing America Avenue. Some city workers were using annoying law...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilvioT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    261
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
88
84
17
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Liverpool, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon and it was a very bad experience. We encountered insects in the hotel. The air conditioning leaked badly. The service in the restaurant was very, very poor. The room was small. The elevator was broken 1/2 of the time. The staff spoke very little English. The staff did not provide good information about surrounding attractions. No laundry facilities in the hotel. There were no ice machines in the hotel and they were trying to make us pay for ice. The hotel is too far from the attractions in Rio. We would not recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: The furniture and flooring in the rooms was cheaply made.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GregoryTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is miles outside the centre of Rio and takes a good hour to reach from the international airport. We found it very difficult to find any staff who spoke any english so asking for information on the area, or an iron for my room was nigh on impossible.
The rooms are a good size but no more than average in the fittings, there is a balcony for each room but as I said in this review title the noise from the street is outrageous. In order to talk on my phone in my room I had to make sure the balcony door, the window in the room and the window in the bathroom were all tightly shut otherwise I could not hear anything.........crazy.
Also getting a drink from the hotel bar was not straight forward. There was a phone sitting on the bar top which you used to call someone to come and serve you. This without fail took about 20 minutes and at least 2 more calls before anyone showed up.The breakfast was ok. When I came to check out there was a queue of about 15 people all waiting at reception to check in/out so it took forever as they only had 3 people working the desk. So all in all not the greatest experience and would I stay there again? No.

Room Tip: ask for one as far from the main road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbaatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel has big rooms and a good breakfast, and it´s well located if you´re in Barra to do business. Nevertheless, that´s beside the point. What matters the most is that I forgot a Rolex on top of the safebox and they gave it back to me! I mean, I realized that I had lost the watch 14hs after I had left the hotel. I called at night and they said they we´re gonna look into it. The morning after I stopped by, hopeless, and for my surprise they had it in a sealed bag along with a small chocolate! that I had left on purpose.

Awesome. Good people run this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ParisKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is located pretty far from major attractions in Rio (count for one hour drive in a taxi) in a residential area of middle to high income population, so very safe. Rooms are spacious, big enough for two adults and a child, with small balconies. Personel is well trained to perform their duties. Breakfast is very good. Small swimming pool, fitness and hammam are for a casual visit. Internet connection with my iPad was stable throughout the day. The hotel provides free transportation (an electric vehicle and a ferry boat) to the beach, which is the longest and cleanest beach in town, good for a morning jog. Several eateries and a Brazilian food resto are within walking distance. A nearby avenue with heavy traffic and noizy aircons make you want to keep the balcony door shut.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side, away from Av.das Americas, are quietr
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel has good size rooms and well appointed.
Nothing fancy or special, just plain, tasteless but decent decoration.
As for the rest of the services, they are below average but in line with Rio de Janeiro in general which is distinctive for the poor quality of its services and personnel.
Internet was out 2 out of 3 days, and the Checkout took forever...
As for the location it is OK for business, but not good if your are visiting as a tourist.

Room Tip: Avoid Twin Beds at any cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuroAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Promenade is a very good hotel, big room, good service and staff, but far away from downtown. It is located in a high class neighborhood, and the region is quiet, clean and beautiful, breakfast is excelent.
If you want to go to the beach you have to take a ticket in the reception, a mini golf vehicle to get in the lake and a boat to cross the lake until the beach. Before you get to the beach you can see little monkeys called sagui, they are very beautiful and come close to you. The beach is the Praia da Barra, clean and beautiful, with a lot of beach bars.
Close to the hotel there is a Mall called Shopping Design Rio, and not too far from there the Barra Shopping Mall, the first is smaller and more luxurious, the second have more stores and places to eat.
If you want to visit the main attractions in Rio de Janeiro, like Corcovado, Copacabana, Leblon, Pão de Açúar (Sugar Loaf) is Kind of far… in the way from Copacabana to Barra da Tijuca you cross the Rocinha favela.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kati G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence
#72 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
730 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Promenade Paradiso
Promenade Paradiso
#148 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
468 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Promenade Rio Stay
Promenade Rio Stay
#213 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recreio dos Bandeirantes
Americas Barra Hotel
Americas Barra Hotel
#166 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
164 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ramada Encore Ribalta Rio de Janeiro
Ramada Encore Ribalta Rio de Jan...
#80 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
448 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
BEST WESTERN Premier Americas Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Americas Fa...
#11 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Barra First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Barra First

Property: Promenade Barra First
Address: Avenida das Americas 7897 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22793-081, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Barra First 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Barra da Tijuca district, the 4-star Promenade Barra First Hotel welcomes you to spend peaceful and joyful moments in its beautiful swimming pool surrounded by grounds. In addition to the pool, sauna, gym and other facilities of the hotel, you can enjoy the beach walking only 10 minutes from there. The hotel is within walking distance of other natural attractions as well, such as the Bosque da Barra Natural Park, the Marapendi Ecological Park, the Marapendi Lake and the Jacarepaguá Lake. Hotel Chain: Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Promenade Barra First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Barra First Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Promenade Barra 1st
Promenade Barra First Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing