We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros
Ranked #14 of 334 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brockville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Character and Charm”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a large house, over 100 years old, that has been turned into a hotel with a/c in the bedrooms and nestled amongst lots of greenery. The entry is disappointing as one is buzzed into a long white claustraphobic corridor with no indication that the dorr at the end is an elevator into the house. However, once there it is full of charm and has the friendliest most helpful staff imaginable that speak several languages between them.

Room Tip: All rooms are different - some open directly into the dining area and one is accessed only by the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home.

We know that there is always room for improvement. As we strive for excellence, we are not content with only positive reviews. For this reason, we continually invest in upgrading our infrastructure, the training of our staff and the quality of our services.

We know the entrance may seem a little unusual for a hotel, but we want to keep it authentic and low profile.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    57
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
58
149
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We felt really at home in casa Amarelo. We liked the decoration (warm, elegant and practical at the same tune). The staff are simply delightful. The only drawback we had was the fact that, being under the sitting room, we would hear the noise of other guess having their breakfast in the morning.
The location in Santa Teresa is really nice and gives you an unusual picture of Rio

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Silvio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home.

We know that there is always room for improvement. As we strive for excellence, we are not content with only positive reviews. For this reason, we continually invest in upgrading our infrastructure, the training of our staff and the quality of our services.

Regarding questions concerning the physical structure of the house, we would like to remind that it is an old house from 1904 which became part of the historical and cultural heritage. Therefore it is sometimes difficult to do structural intervention.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a lovely stay in Casa Amarelo. Extremely friendly and accommodating. It was 3 of us, my husband and I and are daughter who just turned 4. We would definitely recommend and come back next time we stay in Rio. Beautiful place with beautiful views. Love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KeoghFamily0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home.

We know that there is always room for improvement. As we strive for excellence, we are not content with only positive reviews. For this reason, we continually invest in upgrading our infrastructure, the training of our staff and the quality of our services.

Best Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visited during our honeymoon and had the small hotel to ourselves. Hotel is beautiful and service excellent, but only the owner speaks English (and French). Nice breakfast, and a charming staff nonetheless.
The location just outside Lapa (party district) in the hills of Santa Theresa is perfect for either a wild night out in Lapa, or a quiet dinner at a trendy and exciting restaurant in the hills, both of which are just a 10 minutes walk away.
Communication wise its OK, though some taxis will refuse if you are far away since you have to move through Lapa, and that takes too much time for them, but walking from the arcs will be fine. In the daytime, walking to the metro works.
Pool was fine, view was stunning, interior made us feel like noblemen from the 17th century with modern day comforts.
I would recommend this hotel to all.
5 stars despite of some noise due to old house, lacking internet connection and poor English knowledge.

Room Tip: Room under the music room is very nice, but you can hear everything from the music room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ladet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home.

We know that there is always room for improvement. As we strive for excellence, we are not content with only positive reviews. For this reason, we continually invest in upgrading our infrastructure, the training of our staff and the quality of our services.


Kind Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during the carnival. It was a cozy place that makes you feel at home. The house itself was a charming bungalow, nicely decorated with its own designer's pieces. It has got beautiful garden and a pool amidst it. The room was big, clean and comfortable. Simply AWESOME!

It was located up in the hill of Santa Teresa, so, it was a bit of walking but still accessible to a few places eg: Lapa.

All the staff are friendly and in great help. Luciana helped us to pre-arrange for airport transfer and the tickets for samba parade. Upon arrival, Sergio gave us a tour in the house and furnished us with all information needed in Rio. He is simply informative and helpful to assist us throughout our stay, and most importantly he speaks fluent English.

Breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home.

We know that there is always room for improvement. As we strive for excellence, we are not content with only positive reviews. For this reason, we continually invest in upgrading our infrastructure, the training of our staff and the quality of our services.

Kind Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here during carnival....the 'casa' became a wonderful haven away from the hustle and bustle of what was an amazing 4 days.

We had booked a transfer from the airport which although pricey was worth every penny, to arrive amidst a crazy Bloco any other driver would have given up, but we were delivered direct to the door safely after several attempts to beat the semi naked people filling the streets.

We were met by Sergio who remained our constant support, advising us throughout our stay who booking us the best tables and made the tastiest Caprianas in all of Rio!! And we sampled a few!

Even before our stay the staff were so helpful, Luciana put my mind at ease after what could have been a disastrous cancellation mix up, and helped book Carnival tickets months in advance.

The rooms are big, airy, full of character, colour and positively charming... I will never forget our sunny breakfasts on the terrace as if we were the owners of this amazing house!

We also had no idea how lovely Santa Teresa was and the house was a fantastic base for our Rio adventure, close enough to Lapa for Transport but far enough away to feel of the tourist trail.

I can’t recommend this place enough. My only negative was a puppy next door who was keen to bark at the passing revellers well into the night but at such a strange time of year... I am hardly surprised.

Room Tip: We were inthe Junior suite, huge room, which we probably didnt need as all of them are big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion with us. There is no better reward for our staff.

We hope to be able to welcome you again anytime soon.

Kind Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Arrived with an upturned eyebrow and sceptical look towards the entrance. Lesson, dont judge a book by its cover.

This VERY quickly turned into the highlight of a 3 week South American trip. The memories from here are unforgettable.

The atmosphere was utterly Brazilian.. even more Carioca!

The help we got from the staff was priceless, from restaurant suggestions, to vegetarian food suggestions, to transportation arrangements, to payment options!! EVERYTHING was great.

Nelson was a smiling bundle of joy. Rosa was a quiet but charming lady. There were three other people that worked there that I didnt interact much with, but they seemed JUST AS NICE.

FOUR THUMBS UP. I would highly recommend this to ANYONE.

Room Tip: I think there are only 6-8 rooms. Any one of them is charming and unique, besides, if you are in RIo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasHospitality101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Casa Amarelo. We believe this is the best reward our staff can have!

We understand that good reviews mean that we must work even harder to keep surprising and pleasing our guests.

Hope to meet you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#9 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
281 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
#124 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
64 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#8 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#6 of 334 in Rio de Janeiro
209 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#8 of 334 in Rio de Janeiro
91 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#11 of 334 in Rio de Janeiro
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros

Property: Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros
Address: Joaquim Murtinho, 569 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-320, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The French designer Robert le Heros has created a place of festivity, both poetic and colourful, thus inventing a seductive "art de vivre". Casa Amarelo is a beautiful home, refined and authentic, built in 1904 on the heights of Santa Teresa, an historic area, where artists' studios border beautiful Brazilian homes and museums. It is a magical place, a mixture of the charm of an ancient building and the modernity of contemporary fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Amarelo By Robert Le Heros Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing