We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven amongst the hills...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros
Ranked #21 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven amongst the hills...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Arrived with an upturned eyebrow and sceptical look towards the entrance. Lesson, dont judge a book by its cover.

This VERY quickly turned into the highlight of a 3 week South American trip. The memories from here are unforgettable.

The atmosphere was utterly Brazilian.. even more Carioca!

The help we got from the staff was priceless, from restaurant suggestions, to vegetarian food suggestions, to transportation arrangements, to payment options!! EVERYTHING was great.

Nelson was a smiling bundle of joy. Rosa was a quiet but charming lady. There were three other people that worked there that I didnt interact much with, but they seemed JUST AS NICE.

FOUR THUMBS UP. I would highly recommend this to ANYONE.

Room Tip: I think there are only 6-8 rooms. Any one of them is charming and unique, besides, if you are in RIo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasHospitality101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Casa Amarelo. We believe this is the best reward our staff can have!

We understand that good reviews mean that we must work even harder to keep surprising and pleasing our guests.

Hope to meet you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    54
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
55
148
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
208 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in January and generally enjoyed our stay a lot. We had decided to stay away from the more touristy beach areas on purpose. I found the inn charming!! It was weird and exciting to be dropped off by taxi in front of a small non-distinct iron-gated entrance. You walk through a 20 to 30 meter small tunnel that reminded me of the New York subway - all tiled. You come to an old Otis elevator for two people that still has a metal pull door that needs to be closed before the elevator goes up to the reception area (and one floor higher right into your room if you stay in the Tivoli Suite - which we did). The common areas are nicely decorated and large with huge ceilings. We were greeted by Fabio who gave us an introduction to the house and Rio and the neighborhood. It was a little too detailed for my taste. Fabio was trying to be very helpful and accommodating. He offered us drinks (for which we were however billed at the end of the stay - I found this annoying). The common areas are not air-conditioned and initially that was hard, but if you wear light clothing it is OK. There is also often a nice breeze with all the windows open. I thought the house was so beautiful, but it does show some wear. Our room was very large with an amazing view over downtown centro Rio. I loved this! I found the bathroom of this suite fairly basic. Disappointed with the open shower concept that splashes water everywhere. Amenities in the bathroom seemed somewhat basic considering the price of the room. Bed was large and very comfortable. AC unit in room was quite old and maybe should be replaced. When we arrived, the room felt quite warm, but as AC ran for some time, the room became comfortable. We enjoyed the garden and pool area, though this could be cleaned up a little bit. The breakfasts were basic. Grilled ham and cheese sandwiches, fruit salad, yogurt, and breads with jam and butter. Coffee was only warm several times. We ordered a snack from the menu once. The Brazilian cheese bread/puffs. They were awful! We walked around the neighborhood alone several times at night and during the day. We never had any problems and it seems Santa Teresa neighborhood is not as dangerous anymore as it once supposedly was. We were two men however. But, we frequently saw women walking alone or in twos. There are some decent and even nice restaurants in walking distance. Maybe 15 to 20 minutes. We at times walked into the downtown area to the subway stop which took about 25 minutes. This way we could reach Impenema beach in about one hour including the walks to and from the subway stations. We went to Lapa at night and took one of the mini buses that frequently travel up and down from the Santa Teresa neighborhood. Cheap. 5 reais for two. Had an awful dining experience at Tereze, the fancy hotel restaurant of the nearby Relais & Chateaux chain hotel. To stay in this neighborhood for four nights was perfect. The old mansions all around are so amazing and beautiful.

Room Tip: We loved the Tivoli Suite just for the view alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielswiss64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home. We really try to offer a service as taylor made as possible. And it is most of the times very appreciated by our guests.

Regarding questions concerning the physical structure of the house, we would like to remind that it is an old house from 1904 which became part of the historical and cultural heritage. Therefore it is sometimes difficult to do structural intervention. However many improvements have been implemented in recent years, such as: installation of air conditioning in all suites, modernization of the elevator, garden landscaping, electrical works, upgrading the pool, renovation of the kitchen and painting the facade.

We also recall that our team is accessible at any time during your stay, and that our services are customized, including breakfast.

The rates we practice, take into account the variations of periods of high and low season and are suitable to the standards of the city and the neighborhood in which we operate. Here are some factors that distinguish our standard of hospitality: the exclusivity of having just 6 suites in a renovated 1904 mansion, finely decorated spaces (including suites), a substantial breakfast, trained staff and personalized service.

We still have some ongoing projects, particularly in the area of food and events. We hope you can check them out soon!

Best Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to Rio for a couple of days on our way to our honeymoon in Buzios, but Casa Amarelo became one of the most memorable things of our trip!
The service was very kind and helpful. Our suite was huge, impecable and beautifully furnished.

Besides, Santa Teresa district is very charming with great restaurants nearby and with great views of the city.

This is definetely our choice for our next trip to Rio!

Room Tip: Suite des Anges was great. Its has virtually its own floor and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FdoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home.

We know that there is always room for improvement. As we strive for excellence, we are not content with only positive reviews. For this reason, we continually invest in upgrading our infrastructure, the training of our staff and the quality of our services.

Hoping to welcome you anytime soon.

Kind Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was at Casa Amarelo for a few days in August. We were totally happy about the style of this Casa Colonial with a great and unexpected mix between the old house and the very cool and modern interior design with great furnitures...
We also were very much in confidence with all the staff always very kind with us and very helpful with precious suggestions about what to see in town, were to go in daytime and nightlife too..
Definetely the place to stay to experience Rio, the most beautiful town in the world!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacopodm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,


Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home.

We know that there is always room for improvement. As we strive for excellence, we are not content with only positive reviews. For this reason, we continually invest in upgrading our infrastructure, the training of our staff and the quality of our services.

Kind regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great place, difficult to find, well located nearby the Lapa nightlife and walking distance from Santa Teresa center.
Beautifully decorated rooms and living rooms. Nice and relaxing swimming pool.
We loved it, but, we have to say, we found it a too expensive...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex Daphné C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions. We are very glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We understand how disappointing the prices in Rio can be. Nevetheless, we keep our rates in the correct average for the standard we offer.

We have some projects going on for 2014 and we hope we can meet you anytime soon in the near future.

Thank you once again.

Kindest Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

I have to start off by saying that I was there 17 months ago (Sep 2010)...I've been busy :)
I took my wife there on our honeymoon (both 28 years old), I chose this place because I didn't want the typical hotel by the beach, with the busy city and all I had heard about how dangerous the city streets are at night. This forced us to expand our perception of Rio outside of the main core.
We loved this old, redone hotel. Our first impression was sort of scary, the cab dropped us off at the entrance, which was a very secured door, with a doorbell...it seemed like forever before they came down to the door, because we were in a strange neighbourhood, with a strange cabby watching us... The maid who didn't speak english led us down a dark corrider into a very small old-fashioned cargo elevator...I was starting to question my booking of this hotel, but we came out of the elevator to a gorgeous victorian house. Phew!
The view of the city from all the different terraces was amazing, the gardens just kept going and going, with a pool at the top! very 'feng shui'. The balcony where we ate breakfast those two days was terrific, apart from the city, we saw a couple monkeys in the tree, right beside us. The breakfast didn't seem too fancy, but it was very healthy, and gave us that good feeling to start the day off right. I loved the high ceilings and the antiquity yet modernity of the decor. The whole experience made us feel like we actually lived there, and that we were rich! The place was very quiet (despite the lack of sound-proofing the room would seem to offer), we only saw one other guest during our stay, out in the common area. Matthieu was the most helpful guest I could have ever hoped for. He pretty much set our agenda for the short time we were there. He told us what the best times of day were to see each place we were wanting to see, and it worked out amazingly, Rio is such an awesome place to be. My wife had left two jackets in our hotel in Iguazu Falls before we got to Rio, He made a couple phone calls and follow up calls the next day, and he got them to the hotel in just over 2 days. We thought we would never see them again. On our last night there, and last night of our honeymoon, he recommended a particular restaurant for us (Aprazivel), we agreed. He made the reservation for us, and reserved a particular table that looked over the entire city at night with amazing food. He also arranged for a car & driver, not just a cab; it was waiting for us when we got out...what a way to end our honeymoon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razor6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home.

We know that there is always room for improvement. As we strive for excellence, we are not content with only positive reviews. For this reason, we continually invest in upgrading our infrastructure, the training of our staff and the quality of our services.

Best Regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

My wife and I spent a week at the lovely Casa Amarelo, a tastefully renovated 1904 mansion in the hilly Santa Teresa district of Rio. Everything was clean and organized in a comfortable way. Our room was sunny, with a large double bed, high ceilings and a giant bath/shower area. A little key-locked safe had recently been installed where we could put our passports/wallets when we went out. What really made our stay at Casa Amarelo so enjoyable and relaxing was the hospitality and friendliness of the multi-lingual (English, French, & Portuguese) innkeepers who were particularly well-attuned to our needs, arranged for a guided "historic tour" of Centro that was exceptional, and generally made us feel at home in theirs. Breakfast was included and served at whatever time we wanted outdoors on one of the terraces or in the corner solarium with a great view. Complementary wi-fi was a nice plus. Not the fanciest or biggest of the many B&Bs in Santa Teresa. And nothing like the modern hotels in Copa, Ipanema or Leblon--which attract most tourists in Rio. Casa Amarelo was just right for us. (Since the Santa Teresa tram is not currently running--re-opening 2012--be prepared to take taxis to most parts of Rio, although there's a fun walk up the hill to a picturesque little shopping district with bars, restaurants, galleries and shops.)

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor are sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucianadelamare, Gerente geral at Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your impressions on your stay at the Casa Amarelo! Your opinions are really important for us. It represents a real reward for the team.

Our project proposes an unconventional hospitality with personalized services and a warm atmosphere. Our goal is to give our guests the feeling of "being at home" even when they are far away from home.

We know that there is always room for improvement. As we strive for excellence, we are not content with only positive reviews. For this reason, we continually invest in upgrading our infrastructure, the training of our staff and the quality of our services.

Best regards,

Luciana De Lamare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#10 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#20 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Santa Teresa
Guesthouse Bianca
Guesthouse Bianca
#18 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros

Property: Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros
Address: Joaquim Murtinho, 569 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-320, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The French designer Robert le Heros has created a place of festivity, both poetic and colourful, thus inventing a seductive "art de vivre". Casa Amarelo is a beautiful home, refined and authentic, built in 1904 on the heights of Santa Teresa, an historic area, where artists' studios border beautiful Brazilian homes and museums. It is a magical place, a mixture of the charm of an ancient building and the modernity of contemporary fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Amarelo By Robert Le Heros Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing