We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Transamerica Prime Barra
Ranked #120 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here for two nights for a family wedding. Having stayed in a different hotel as well, we learned that people have different expectations of value for money in Brazil. \

For the price, it's not that great, however we did not have any major issues.

The good: The pool is nice. The larger room was very nice, clean, the showers were amazing. The breakfast looked good, I did not partake. Free internet throughout the hotel. Nice balcony on the room.

The bad: We had a room with two beds, they were twins :-(. The rooms were not available at 3 in the afternoon. On Saturday morning I was woken up to vacuuming in the room next door at 8 AM. The toilet seat was missing a screw.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    279
    141
    51
    26
See reviews for
89
103
24
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

This was a relatively expensive hotel but it is clean and very nice. The gym was rather basic but the rooms were well equipped and nice and the beds very comfortable. the front desk staff are also very helpful and spoke English. I am suprised by the negative reviews of this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with how good it was.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yissylevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Do not use the laundry service at the hotel! Actually, don't stay at this hotel unless you absolutely have to! The rooms are dirty! There is mold everywhere! The breakfast is the same every morning with no variation!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grootbliksem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

absolutely outdated, the smell in the corridors is horrible, apartments are dirty, old and unpleasant.
the service is terrible, huge lines to do check in and check out, bad food, not even enough lifts.
the only thing that qualifies this hotel as a 4 star is the price

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly303506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

bad food, always comes cold, and order uncomplete.
expensive..
room falling to bits..
only staying here as it was booked with husbands work...
But is a piece of rubish
dont stay here..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

I stayed at transamerica flats at Barra Rio de Janeiro.The Barra area vas such is so beautiful and magnificent that it caught our heart and soul immediately; very planned ,clean and green. I was at room 2204.1 the balcony of my flat/room was such that I had a direct view of the Barra Beach which looked so magnificent.My room was having a small kitchen with Microwave and crockery.Since I am a vegetarian it was the most sought after facility for me. Mornig breakfast I had daily in the hotel itself. The size of the room and its accessories was good and sufficient for me. The hotel looked so popular that every morning and evening there used to be such a rush of the visitors that sometimes it took 10 minutes to get a lift.
The Barra Beach is only nearby and I shall often go the beach by crossing the canal by a hotel boat.
I felt that alongwith the microwave the hotel could also provide some cooking bowls else individual is to purchase for itself.
I stayed there for 20 days and found I am not the only one staying for such long time. I found people there staying for months together.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

The good...
It is close to the beach (5 minutes walk including 30 seconds canal crossing). There are good restaurants at walking distance if you go towards the green and pink buildings... pass the buildings, cross the street and on your left you have a mall with everything.
The bad...
Although it shows as a 4 star hotel you could compare it to a 2 star hotel. After staying for a few weeks until finding a place to live in Rio I found out why the maids were always with a grumpy face... Each one of them, on a regular bases, have to clean 48 apartments in a 7 hour window. That lives them with less than 9 minutes to clean each apartment (mission impossible!). That's why they don't clean well and that's why the vibe is horrible there. The pool is wonderful but the people that works in the pool are always grumpy too. I guess the hotel don't pay well their employees and treat them more like slaves... WE ARE IN THE YEAR OF 2010!!!! About the restaurant, DON'T EVER EAT THERE EVEN IF IT IS FOR FREE!!! They're kitchen is nasty. If you want to check it out just use the service elevator to the main floor and you will see... the restaurant kitchen door is the one right in front the elevator. Good luck!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tacru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence
#77 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da...
#153 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Promenade Barra First
#102 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#24 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#62 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Recreio dos Bandeirantes
Americas Barra Hotel
Americas Barra Hotel
#170 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transamerica Prime Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transamerica Prime Barra

Property: Transamerica Prime Barra
Address: Avenida Gastao Senges 395 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631-280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Transamerica Prime Barra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Transamerica Prime Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transamerica Flat Barra Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Transamerica Prime Barra Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing