We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a romantic dinner”
Review of Le Vin Bistro

Le Vin Bistro
Ranked #203 of 13,943 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $25 - $76
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Description: Authentic bistro, serving classic French dishes in a cosy and charming atmosphere. From lunch time until late night.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Highly recommend this French bistro for a romantic dinner! The food was absolutely delicious on both nights that me and my boyfriend went. Had the Fish of the day with mustard sauce and potatoes and it was mouth watering good! Great wine list, dessert and coffee as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tr0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear tr0511,

Thank you very much for your comment and recommendation. We hope to see you around soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 497 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

This restaurant is extremely overpriced. We had two mediocre salads, one glass of simple wine, one coffee and two small bottles of mineral water, and we had to pay 185 reais (about US$ 105). Worst dining experience in Rio de Janeiro.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Paul B,

We're sorry to hear you were not impressed by Le Vin. Our aim is to serve top quality French bistrot food and in order to do so we choose only the finest ingredients and this cost reflects on our prices.

We do hope you change your mind and visit us again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Cozy environment, delicious food, great wine selection. A bit pricey though. I would go back if it was a special occasion.

Thank engped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear engped,

Thank you very much for your comment and recommendation. Our prices reflect our choice of top quality ingredients that make it possible for us to offer classic French cuisine bistrotière. During the week, at lunch time, we also offer a set menu for R$ 49 that includes salad, main and dessert, usually with an option of the best of our patisserie.

We do hope to see you around at Le Vin soon. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had the same meal----mussels in cream and salad----that was our final meal in France last summer (in Nice)............and it was just as good here! Great Malbec as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pattinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Gerente de relações públicas at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Pattinkc,

We're very glad to hear our food brought so many nice memories from your holidays in France!

We hope to see you around soon!

And thanks very much for your time and comment.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This French-style bistro at the heart of Ipanema is larger and busier than I expected for a bistro, so to me it lacked atmosphere (from previoous previews I thought it would be more charming) But the food is worth the visit. Forget about nouvelle cuisine, this is well-cooked no-frills French fare. The warm bread and paté they bring to the table is delicious. The Boeuf Bourgignon was nicely done, with the meat melting in your mouth. The veal with mushroom sauce was a bit too rich and the veal slightly chewy. Good wine list, but lacking in wines at the lower range of price. So be prepared to pay over R$ 100 reais for a bottle of decent red (if you are not used to Rio prices, beware that you are very unlikely to get a bottle of red for less than R$ 50 anywhere. That’s about 18 pounds!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AWali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Awali,

Thank you for your time and recommendation. We are very happy to hear your compliments. :-) We would like to point out, though, that our wine list is very extensive, offers wine by the glass and covers several ranges of price, including R$ 50 bottles whenever possible. That is, whenever we find good quality wines at that range we definitely offer that option to our customers. We do hope to see you around soon and feel free to request another dish to our waiters if you are not fully satisfied with what was served. They will substitute it promptly and will be glad to do so. And so will we: our wish is that you have the best experience once you are at Le Vin. :-)

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vin Bistro also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Le Vin Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing