We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bistro in Ipanema”
Review of Le Vin Bistro

Le Vin Bistro
Ranked #226 of 13,783 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $25 - $76
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Description: Authentic bistro, serving classic French dishes in a cosy and charming atmosphere. From lunch time until late night.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice bistro in Ipanema”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This French-style bistro at the heart of Ipanema is larger and busier than I expected for a bistro, so to me it lacked atmosphere (from previoous previews I thought it would be more charming) But the food is worth the visit. Forget about nouvelle cuisine, this is well-cooked no-frills French fare. The warm bread and paté they bring to the table is delicious. The Boeuf Bourgignon was nicely done, with the meat melting in your mouth. The veal with mushroom sauce was a bit too rich and the veal slightly chewy. Good wine list, but lacking in wines at the lower range of price. So be prepared to pay over R$ 100 reais for a bottle of decent red (if you are not used to Rio prices, beware that you are very unlikely to get a bottle of red for less than R$ 50 anywhere. That’s about 18 pounds!).

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AWali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Awali,

Thank you for your time and recommendation. We are very happy to hear your compliments. :-) We would like to point out, though, that our wine list is very extensive, offers wine by the glass and covers several ranges of price, including R$ 50 bottles whenever possible. That is, whenever we find good quality wines at that range we definitely offer that option to our customers. We do hope to see you around soon and feel free to request another dish to our waiters if you are not fully satisfied with what was served. They will substitute it promptly and will be glad to do so. And so will we: our wish is that you have the best experience once you are at Le Vin. :-)

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    201
    56
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“excellent food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

we first ate here shortly after it opened a couple of years ago, and even though it is only two blocks from where we live had not been back until saturday night. i must say that the food was excellent, both what i had, which was a mozzarella stuffed ravioli and what my partner had which was squid. tasty, perfectly prepared, and nicely presented. the creme brulee for desert was excellent. worth the money spent.

Helpful?
Thank markroy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear markroy53,

Thank you very much for your comment and recommendation. We hope to see you around soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food with charming service”
Reviewed February 11, 2010

I just loved to dine at this nice restaurant. Their bread, salad and salmon with a lemon sauce and parsnip puree were fantastic.
I just regret that I was not able to have one of their deserts because all of them looked sooooooooooo fantastic!!!
The service was very attentive and discreet.
For me it was a perfect meal... thank you Le Vin!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DriCa_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear DricaSP,

Thank you very much for your comment and recommendation. We hope to see you around soon and that you don't miss our desserts! We're sure that you'll love them! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Connection with French Food and Wines”
Reviewed November 27, 2009

The extensive Wine list, and the Great Food prove to be a Good and enjoyable night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickdyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Public Relations Manager at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear nickdyville,

Thank you very much for your comment and recommendation. We hope to see you around soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“very charming. another...”
Reviewed August 23, 2008

very charming. another transplant from sao paulo.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela F, Gerente de relações públicas at Le Vin Bistro, responded to this review, January 14, 2016
Thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again soon. You'll be most welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Le Vin Bistro also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Le Vin Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing