We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dream above Rio!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Ranked #8 of 327 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little dream above Rio!”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

It was our first time in Rio de Janeiro and we spent 7 nights at Carmen and Fernando. Case de Carmen e do Fernando is in Santa Teresa, a charming quarter of Rio. We are very happy that we have not chosen an accommodation at Copacabana or Ipanema, cause Santa Teresa is a very beautiful and relaxed quarter. The rooms are very lovely and tasteful arranged and you notice that you are living at a artists house. On the cosy terrace you can find a pool, that is very welcoming after a long day in Rio with a great view ower Rio. In the morning you have a very tasteful breakfast at which you always meet very interesting travelers for changing tips. At Carmen and Fernando you can have a wonderful accommodation because you feel like at home. There is a very relaxing and open atmosphere. We could experience a great Carneval in Rio, because Carmen, Fernando and Carlos gave a lot of insider tips, that you can not find in any guidebook. For that we would like to thank them. If you are looking for a homelike accommodation with an heartily atmosphere we recommend Casa de Carmen e do Fernando. We are looking forward to our next holidays in Brazil and are happy to meet Carmen, Fernando and Carlos again. Muito obrigado...we will come again!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnigezeiten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    46
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
85
63
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We stayed at this pousada in Santa Teresa just after Carnaval 2010. We found it from Trip Advisor and to be honest...were expecting quite a bit more. Perhaps it was just the last room available (downstairs under the terrace). The room itself was setup as a bunk/bed loft with very little standing room available (we had to stoop most of the time to change clothes, etc under the bunk. The bathroom was tiny and no hot water. There were quite a few large red ants who took shelter in the room as well (oh...did we mention they bite? ha) Given that it was RIO, luckily we didn't stay in the room much except for sleeping. The hosts were very gracious and accommodating. The location in Santa Teresa was very good as a short walk up to the trolley or down the street to the Metro. Breakfast was average. We would not stay here again if it was in the same room as we had. We did have a peek in the upstairs rooms and they seemed much nicer. So I wouldn't recommend based purely on our own experience...but based on reviews from others...you might have a better experience (just make sure you aren't in the room under the terrace)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gethaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We loved our stay with Carmen & Fernando who really made sure that we knew where to go and when. Overall the guest house was beautiful, super clean and tidy & very comfortable. We met so many people when we stayed there which was really fantastic and inspiring.

We stayed in the room downstairs and contrary to what a review wrote about being a jail cell, they are wrong we were very comfortable and I was with my husband and we comfortably chilled out in the room without a problem.

Overall the place has charming appeal and is in the lovely area of Santa Teresa, up on a hill with great views and yes it's a hard walk up the hill but it's good for the heart so why would you complain. I couldn't think of a better place to stay in Rio - we loved every minute of our stay and Carmen & Fernando went out of their way to make us feel safe, comfortable and well informed.

I highly recommend this place, all rooms are beautiful, people are nice, food is fresh and the area is safe. One of our fondest memories on our overseas travel to South America. Carmen & Fernando are all heart... IN FACT THEY ARE BRAZIL'S HEART & SOUL!

Lisa & Hans

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisasanto78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2010

I have been now 2 times in Rio, and I would not like to stay somewhere else! The house is large and so beautiful with its artwork and it´s colorful and creative style! You feel at home and when you want the "family contact" there is so often time to talk to Fernando and Carmen, to ask about where and what is going on in Rio and lots of possibilities to join them to go out like to a samba school, a street party...... These two are so open and warm hearted and you hear and learn about Brasil and Rio from locals, who lived there their whole life! This place is really special, you won´t find this atmosphere and hospitality in biger places!

The rooms are decorated delightfullly, and are all regularly cleaned by cleaning staff. All rooms offer wonderful views over the city center. On hot days it´s best to enjoy the magnificent view from the big terrace with its pool.

It´s not near to the beaches but the underground is within 5 minutes walking distance and goes everywhere a tourist needs to go.
But the best district to go out at night is 10 minutes to walk - Lapa with all the famous bars and life-concerts!! There is also within 5 minutes walking distance bars and restaurants up in St. Teresa, a really nice neighbarhood with historical houses, little winding streets and parks.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViennaXandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

They only have 2 real rooms and they pretend to sell the 3x3meters jail rooms on the bottom floor at the same price (around 100 usd); most strikingly they also think that such holes with no closet are a perfect accomodation for a family of 4 staying one week, like it was settled by e-mail for our reservation.
After spending the first night listening to the noisiest air-condition unit we were so pissed that we left without even bothering to take a look at the rooms upstairs that might became available for us.
Besides, the location is a 20 minutes uphill walk from Santa Teresa; and you'll spend 3-4 extra taxi rides per day to get to the beaches and/or anywhere else in Rio.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TarzanHello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Could not have been more pleased with myself for having chosen this Casa. Moment I walked in at night, I was delighted with the character and location of the house.
Over the next few days, Carmen and Fernando were lovely - Carmen tirelessly giving directions and advice to her guests. Very warm people. The house is immaculate, stylishly decorated and has gorgeous views from the terrace. Very comfortable bed, tiny but adequate modern bathroom, airconditioning, plunge pool. Nice breakfast and fun walk DOWN 200 steps to Gloria for buses and metro. Not so much fun going up but look for motorbike taxis instead for 2R zoom up the hill.
1 minute walk away, a grocery, come bar, come cafe with good pizza and deli. Also a tram stop for the famous 'oldest tram in the world'. A 10 minute walk away, divine restaurants, quaint shops, great architecture and views over Rio.
The taxi driver did have a bit of a problem finding the Casa, but perhaps he was trying to add on a few miles as I had boarded it quite close by. Got the local 'Real' bus from the airport (4R) to Cinelandia and taxi from there (approx 8R). Probably safer to get the bus all the way to the domestic airport if traveling at night as its not much further and easier to pick up a taxi. Found that taxi's often refused to take you to a destination if it was too close. Not funny if you are lost or carrying heavy bags.
Loved Santa Teresa and had no problems with security though some other guests did when coming back very late at night. Think that applies to most areas in Rio, you do have to be aware. Coming from Africa I did not feel threatened at any time, though traveled with my cameras in a scruffy hippy bag and was alert.
Found traveling on buses and metro very easy, people friendly and helpful despite not many people speaking any English.
Wine exorbitant, bring duty free or change to Brazilian cocktails!
Restaurants expensive but street food - eg. pastels, pies, very cheap.
Was very glad I chose Santa Teresa and would stay in the same place if re-visiting without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giftedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
172 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed here originally when we arrived at the begining of September and then again at the end. During that time they looked after our luggage whilst we did some travelling in Peru. What can I say other than they were exceptional. It really was like home - we felt we had the whole place to ourselves despite others staying at different levels. We had the top room with its own terrace with the bathroom located below a spiral staircase. It was lovely, tiny but full of wonderful books that made it difficult to leave and actually look around Rio. Having stayed in this area before we thought we would try out a different Pousada to the one we stayed in before. It was perfect, easy to get to the city and not far from some great restaurants. When we first arrived late at night the taxi drove through what seemed like one big brothel, which is just down the road, but this is Rio and we didnt feel threatened. Everyone recommends taking a taxi in the evening and that is the best option, but during the day the area is buzzing with little shops and stalls and people going about their every day business. We left here to stay in a large hotel on Copacabana for a business meeting and must say we much preferred this set up any day. The Pousada is lovely, I felt like I was in a French country house, its stylish and full of artwork and books. The breakfast was lovely and they leave it there for a while so if later you fancy a coffee its still available. With free internet and a lovely terrace overlooking not particularly nice buildings but interesting nontheless, its is certainly a place I would consider coming back to. There was some misunderstanding regarding the amount charged I was quoted 120 reals and Carmen said it was 130 but it was soon rectified. If you stay for longer the cost goes down and its certainly worth considering this for any length of stay. Oh nearly forgot to mention their lovely two cats, woke up to find one of them in bed with us, not sure what you would do if you dont like cats other than close the doors!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#2 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Gente
Casa da Gente
#9 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Carmen e do Fernando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Carmen e do Fernando

Property: Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Address: Rua Hermenegildo de Barros 172 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed & breakfast with a privileged location in Santa Teresa. Access is very easy by Metro Glory. Are only 10 minutes from walking out of the station . Or by coming Lapa and up the Taylor Street. Near the Cristo Redentor and Sugar Loaf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa da Carmen e do Fernando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Carmen e Do Fernando Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Da Carmen e Do Fernando Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing