We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely dire - pig swill would be better”
Review of La Trattoria

La Trattoria
Ranked #151 of 13,710 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Copacabana
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely dire - pig swill would be better”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place is lacking in atmosphere, service is perfunctory at best and the food was the worst excuse for Italian that I have ever experienced. The gnocchi was over-cooked and stodgy and it had very little sauce so I essentially got a plate of dry sticky potato for dinner. Hugely unimpressed.

The food that is served also bears absolutely no resemblance to the pictures used on their website.

Este lugar é falta de atmosfera, o serviço é superficial no melhor ea comida era a pior desculpa para o italiano que eu já experimentei. O nhoque foi mais caseiras e indigesto e tinha muito pouco molho para que eu essencialmente tem um prato de batata pegajoso seco para o jantar. Imensamente impressionado.

A comida que é servida também tem absolutamente nenhuma semelhança com as imagens utilizadas em seu site.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmadlondoner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    521
    165
    45
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice venue, average food.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice atmosphere, good service but the food was pretty average. The veal was tough and the sauce tasted as if it came out of a packet. The chicken soup with ravioli was quite nice. The prices are very reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judi_G123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a great find”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A great family restaurant, busy but for good reason. The food is fantastic!!!!
This is our second time to Rio and we found this restaurant on our first visit. We liked it so much we had to make our way back (in the rain). So glad we did!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mycaptainchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely restaurant”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My mum and I went to this restaurant last night. We got there at about 7.45pm the restaurant became fairly crowded soon afterwards so for dinner any later it might be a good idea to book. We were seated immediately and the service was brilliant. We had a very friendly waitor who endured my terrible Portuguese. The food was simple but delicious. We had two mains, a salad, two glasses of wine, a caipirinha and two desserts for GBP42.
Really lovely evening in there and exactly what we were after on a wet and blustery evening in Rio.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent food, pleasant and attentive staff, fair prices, cozy atmosphere. Excellent for a break from the Brazillian gastronomy...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roy_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to La Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing