We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uninterested staff, but OK food”
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
Ranked #203 of 13,664 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Copacabana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Uninterested staff, but OK food”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a dinner. The Italian style food was OK, but expected better as it was a bit pricey. But then again it is right on Copacabana beach which would add a bit to the price as well. The staff were doing their job, but not really coming across as friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Razzy_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    378
    113
    46
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average food, service, overpriced.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Had the Spaghetti with clams and garlic - quite ok, above average, not outstanding.

Also had the spaghetti bolognese - too salty. Brazilian food is normally salty I know but for Italian this is too salty.

Location is good, just in front of Copacabana.

Did not see anyone eat pizzas, and did not eat, so not sure it was as good as some other reviewers mentioned.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived back in Rio rally late and starving. Even at 11pm, Don Camillo's was buzzing with life and full of customers. Most seemed to be Cariocas, which was good; if the locals eat here, it's usually a positive thing. It was busy in the way the best Italian family places often are - a bit noisy with some bustle but an underlying efficiency.

We ordered simple starters (melon and Parma ham, and tomato and mozzarella salad) and pizzas. We were ally impressed that the maitre who had taken our orders spotted before we did that we'd been given ham, no melon. It disappeared and reappeared in a flash, this time with melon. No harm done.

The pizzas were good, with good flavours and a nice base. But big - I reckon we could have survived with one between two with a salad. The wine list was comprehensive and really well priced, which is unusual for Brazil, where average wines often seem to be highly priced. We had a bottle of 2007 Montepulciano which was about R$60 and good value at that price.

Overall, for a Copacabana beach front restaurant, Don Camillo was good value and good quality with a nice Italian family restaurant atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaynorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Italian in Copacabana beach!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This Italian restaurant is very well located. We had a very good meal and a nice service. The spaghetti alla vongole was suberb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucamargos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The service was friendly and efficient. We ordered risotto, lasagne and spaghetti all of which were very tasty. The deserts were really delicious too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing