We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Camillo

Don Camillo
Ranked #186 of 13,576 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Copacabana
citizen of the world
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Don Camillo was a surprise at how delicious it was! I love truffle and they had a steak and truffle dish that I looooovvveedd. Plus the drinks are big and strong. However, it is pricey so bring cash. Lots of it! You won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2jayhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    363
    109
    45
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Over priced with poor quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff was friendly with fast service, however the place was almost empty on a Monday at 8:00pm. I ordered a Chicken Ceasar Salad and it came made with soggy ice berg lettuce that was warm and the dressing was watery with no taste. I told the server that it was terrible so I ordered dessert and coffee but got an expresso instead. The bill arrived without any adjustment even though I didn't eat it. The price of the salad was R$39.00

Helpful?
Thank Travelwinter55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Pasta and Fresh Air along Copacabana Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

On a recent trip to Rio de Janeiro, a friend and I ate at Don Camillo three times. The combination of the prime location, the comfortable outdoor deck, and the best pasta I've eaten anywhere -- yes, in Brazil of all places -- kept bringing us back. I recommend their pastas with seafood in particular. My favorite was a black tagliolini with shrimp and octopus with garlic and olive oil that was so perfectly cooked and seasoned that I had to order it on a subsequent visit. Another excellent dish was their fettucine with crawfish in a creamy red sauce. One of Don Camillo's gimmicks (though I must admit I enjoyed it) is that they bring out the pasta right in the pan it was prepared in for "inspection" by the diner, before they plate and serve it. A recommended starter is the carpaccio of assorted fish including tuna and salmon... melted in my mouth, and went really well with the bread that is served at the table. One small critique is that 2 of the 3 times we went to Don Camillo, the bread was not served warm from the oven, which would have been a nice touch... however, the bread does include assorted varieties (including crispy breadsticks) and they are quite good. I tried a different dessert each night... the desserts are excellent, but my favorite was the pear poached in wine, and served with vanilla ice cream and a sauce made from berries. I noticed other commenters also mentioned this dessert -- it was quite a sensory experience to end the meal. My friend was a big fan of the caipirinhas (the Brazilian national cocktail) prepared by the barstaff at Don Camillo, and he said they're the best he had in Rio.

The service at Don Camillo is very professional and attentive. If you want a table on the patio/deck (and I recommend this), the tables are a bit close, but not uncomfortably so. It gave us a chance to notice some of the other dishes people were having -- a "neighbor" ordered a Portuguese pizza with hardboiled egg and Kalamata olives that looked enticing. If you want a table after 9 pm, it's best to reserve in advance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
478 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Overpriced dining beachside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

You should know that if you eat at a restaurant with outdoor cafe dining along Copacabana Beach you should expect mediocre food at rediculous prices. And that is true to Don Camillo! I should say, the food was really pretty good - especially the pasta. The service was good as well. It is a packed tourist place trying to be more. My advice, get off the beach and have a really nice meal at half the price. If you want to watch the beautiful (and not so beautiful) beachgoers while you eat, this is the place for you - bring extra cash.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yecats59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
943 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Excellent Pasta and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The pasta is great, and there were three birthdays when we were there. Musicians played wonderful songs to the ladies having birthdays. It was a very nice evening experiencing this in Copacabana. In the summer, eat inside as the AC keeps things cool.

Helpful?
Thank LiketoeatCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Camillo also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Don Camillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing