We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food with possibility of food poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of il MIO ristorante - CLOSED

il MIO ristorante
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average food with possibility of food poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a group of six people and everybody experienced more or less stomach problems after eating at il MIO. Luckily it was not food poisoning, though. We all ate little different food, so it is probably general hygiene of this restaurant. Food itself was average, but over-priced. Not all foods were not available, not even "chef's recommendations".

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperSamuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    9
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average Restuarant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Came here as part of a tour group. Stop in for Lunch. Food was just average nothing to write home about. I did have a look at the menu, seems a little over priced. Great location though in the Ipanema area. The fish cakes are good. Really nice bar, seems more like a place to grab a drink.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruiseboy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Bad service and horrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We ended up here because the other places were full, with long waits, and they had a table for us. To start, the polenta appetizer was fine but the texture was very off, almost watery. The food took more than 40 minutes to arrive (from when I decided to start measuring the time). The pasta with prosciutto di Parma and funghi was horrible. The pasta cooking point was very uneven, some pieces were overcooked and other pieces were hard. The funghi sauce had lumps of flour! My girlfriend's risotto with seafood and saffron was even worse. The rice was overcooked and the seafood was extremely rubbery, this dish was left almost untouched in spite of the hunger. To close the evening, they made a mistake in our check that made me extra angry.

We complained to the waiter and manager, neither one apologized or attempted to rectify the situation. Restaurant service is Brazil is notoriously bad, and this is one place that definitely lives up to the stereotype.
Avoid this place and eat at a corner bar instead ("butiquim"). It is much cheaper with better quality food to boot!

Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lunch as part of a tour group sucks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place seems like it should be better than it is. The places looks nice from the inside. Went here as part of a tour group.

I'm not sure how you should be provided lunch as part of a tour, but have to pay for water. But whatever.

Was given two options for the appetizer. A salad which I had and was fine. Some other kind of fish dish that my wife said was edible. The main course I had spaghetti which was barely edible. Honestly something out of a can would have been better. Very little sauce. It just sucked. Wife had a fish dish which she said was barely edible. If you are going here as part of a tour, sucks for you. Hopefully the rest of the menu is better for traditional diners.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cecildadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience-We were not part of any tour group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Looking at other reviews, it seems that the set lunch here as part of a tour group jas given rise to many negative comments. My wife and I stumbled across the restaurant on a casual Sunday walk around Ipanema,about 3.30pm and we had a very good experience. Wr were welcomed by the restaurant manager, seated comfortably in a conservatory area where we could watch the world go by and had a very nice lunch indeed, with a distinctly upmarket 'feel', nice linen , cutlery etc, wine bottle correctly opened and poured for tasting etc

At first we thought we had got the wrong order -plates ofolives, pate,other little dishes of assorted antipasti and nice were put in front of us-a lot of it. No mistake about it, this was part of the service.All of the food we had was excellent - weboth started with oysters, had fish mains -very tasty and well prepared, washed down with sparkling water and a nice bottle of Argentinean Malbec. The wine list is fairly pricey, but the malbec we had was comparable in price to other similar wines we had in other comparable nearby establishments.

Waitress service was attentive, and there were no real delays either in the service delivery.Nice espresso at end of the meal.

Moral of the story with this restaurant, examining other reviews, seems to be twofold-ie not to go as part of a tour group on a set lunch inclusive package, and not to go there from about 1-2.30 pm in between a day-long combined Corcovado and Sugarloaf organised tour group!!!!!!

We had no problem with our bill, not cheap, but then dining out in Rio is not inexpensive, and what we paid seemed similar to what we paid in other comparable restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welford54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il MIO ristorante also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing