We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant... not fantastic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Margutta

Margutta
Ranked #502 of 13,608 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Description: Traditional Italian house on Ipanema. Inaugurated on 18 August 1994. It maintains a loyal and select clientele. Gastronomy winning awards for years. Service and quality are unquestionable.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good restaurant... not fantastic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I went here for dinner while visiting Rio. I thought the food was good but didn't wow me. I had a whole fish baked in the sea salt as that was highly recommended to me by the waiter. I thought it was a nice dish but have had it before in different places and this one wasn't my favorite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    86
    29
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marvelous beef and fish in a small restaurant where the focus is on the food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The small restaurant located one block off the ocean in the upscale Ipanema neighborhood and next to the exclusive Country Club, the best of beef and fish,presented classically Northern Italian style.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilkRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excelent fish. Poor set up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best fish restaurants in town, qualitywise. You will realy enjoy it. Prepared simple and tasty. The set up of the place is really old fashioned and an upgrade would be advisable. Ask for the baked fish (for two at least) with olive oil and white wine. As per the salad, the fruit du mer salad

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jose_Albaladejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good fish and drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is an unexpectetdly nice, cozy, great-fresh-food place! The deco, linen and aspect of the waiters is a little toomuch torned down, but if changing that has any chance of impacting quality, just leave it as it is! Cipirinhas are excelent, and the bread and spreads pffered as you sit... Jummy. D not go there and miss the whole fish, whatever they recomend tp you, made in theirmoven with olive oil and herbs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose_Albaladejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Have the Octopus salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Really comfortable place with good and good value. The Octopus salad, served warm, was great! If I was in Rio longer I would have gone back for a 2nd time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Stoney89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margutta also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Margutta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing