We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go there!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Villa
Ranked #154 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Dont listen to bad reviews, they are out of date anyway, the staff are friendly, the new owner, Jean, speaks perfect english and can't do enough to help. When one of us was not very well he offered to get medicines from the pharmacy or anything we needed. The views haven't changed, they are still breathtaking with Sugar Loaf mountain as the backdrop to the pool and breakfast area and Corcovado to one side. I'm not sure why previous guests mention remoteness, to get down to the metro and bars and restaurants just stand outside the hotel, every few minutes along comes a minibus which takes you down for RS2.75. Taxis also pass by frequently. To get back just go to the church end of the square near Largo de Machado metro and look for a minibus with "Silvestre" in the windscreen, they run every 15 mins or so depending on demand. If you need anything or want information just ask the hotel staff, they know the area and have plenty of advice. Enquire about airport pick-up and drop-off when you book, if they can the hotel will probably do it for you., they are that helpful. I haven't added any photos because the hotels entry shows it all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t&a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.

Your feedback is very important for us,
and is a great satisfaction for the whole staff, and for me.

We hope to have you here again, to enjoy your stay.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    115
    58
    28
    31
See reviews for
22
217
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Well, the view is great and the rooms are also excellent. Pool is cool. However, you are well outside the city and also outside Santa Teresa, so you definitely need a taxi (which from the beach or center can take some time depending on the traffic). Breakfast is rather poor. English is spoken (depending on who is at the reception).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I definitely have mixed feelings about this place. First, the location is quite stunning. The hotel is located in the hills of Santa Teresa, which means every room of the hotel has an incredible view - but really, really breathtaking - of the bay, the statute of Christ and more. You can tell that the place once upon the time has been beautiful. The design is careful and exotic and has a potential to be a truly boutique hotel. However, the place hasn't been kept up or renovated for a very long time so in practice it is really a mess. First, the website is very misleading - the hotel is really not as nice as the pictures and words on the website. There is no restaurant and no food wahtsoever except the breakfast, which is offered on a roof terrace with an unbelievable view. Our room was large but it hasn't been painted for ages and as much as it had a design potential at the closer look looked cheap. The room smelled, sheets were damp, Jacuzzi did not work, hot water almost never worked. Each time we had to call a front desk before we wanted to take the shower for them to fix it, which was very annoying. There was a very nice pool on a terrace with an awesome view so we have enjoyed that very much, but there were no umbrellas for instance, which was annoying. In conclusion this could be a truly amazing place but it just isn't because it requires still a lot of work to get it to a decent level.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Recently came back from a short work holiday down in the marvelous city of Rio de Janeiro.I was attending in behalf of my company the international congress of Latin American travel agencies. Since we book so late I had no choice but to stay in Rio 180 hotel which is located in the charming neighborhood of Santa Teresa. I was a little bit afraid ( to be honest ) as i didn't know what to expect seeing so many bad reviews. I got to say that I was pleasantly surprise by the place. They even gave me an upgrade to the best room "Carnaval " which has a balcony were you see the Christ, just perfect for a romantic dinner. The breakfast is amazing as you get to eat outside their restaurant terrance which overlooks the bay. The view is just absolutely stunning to say the least. The staff was always friendly and spoke perfect English. Near by the hotel you can enjoy food from all over Brazil in the cool district of largo de guimaraes consider the cultural heart of Rio. If you are looking for a quite, intimate and relaxing experience i got to say you have to give Rio 180 hotel a chance. Great getaway for couples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmanBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

let's not talk about the location, miles faraway from everything, taxi expensive and often you need to walk 20 minutes to get one, the hotel says they cannot find them.
no bar, no restaurant, just the view
I have no words for the manager of the hotel, a big fat arrogant man.
the only positive thing, the view and a guy call Andres, really nice person who won't survive over there.

last thing, no locker on the windows, just because Brazil is a safe country

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filippo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.
We want to apologize for all the inconveniences and problems you experienced at the Rio180° Boutique Hotel.
We assure you that we introduced measures to improve our service quality and standards.
We really hope you will come back to the Rio180° Boutique Hotel, to see and enjoy our renovation.

For that reason, we are delighted to offer you a one-day stay at the Rio180° Boutique Hotel for free!

Please, just contact our front desk to reserve your stay.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Terrible location! You are far away from everything, be ready to pay taxis and spend a lot of time commuting to the center. Not helpfull staff! They are not even able to ask for a taxi! Bad breakfast! Any attention to the detail!
I can't understand where the other clients had been, it must be another hotel! It's true, the views are incredible!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P251074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.
We want to apologize for all the inconveniences and problems you experienced at the Rio180° Boutique Hotel.
We assure you that we introduced measures to improve our service quality and standards.
We really hope you will come back to the Rio180° Boutique Hotel, to see and enjoy our renovation.

For that reason, we are delighted to offer you a one-day stay at the Rio180° Boutique Hotel for free!

Please, just contact our front desk to reserve your stay.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prophetstown, Illinois
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Be sure as to why you are staying here. You should stay here for the view - it is beyond comparison. We had a room on the second floor above the pool. We overlooked Sugar Mountain and could see Christ The Redeemer. The view was breathtaking. We negotiated a lower rate by emailing the hotel directly. It is "under renovation" but it appears to have been this way for quite awhile. The vision is there, but the effort to get it done appears to be lacking. Do not stay here for the service ( the receptionist did not speak English, we asked for a card for the hotel to give a taxi driver - they did not have one, I finally used google translate to ask the teenage receptionist for water when we checked in). It is difficult to get to a restaurant if you are not used to walking. We walked almost 2 miles downhill and ate at an OK bar for dinner - thankfully we could find a taxi in the busy square and point uphill until we got back to our hotel. YOU MUST book their driver to pick you up at the airport. I have no clue how a taxi could find this place. We booked this same driver - using google translate - for the afternoon we arrived to drive us around. His name was Juvenal. When he wanted to speak to us he would call his daughter to translate. He took us for a lunch at a small restaurant, drive us to Corcovado - explained the best way to get to the top - take the vans with sign language, waited for us to return and dropped us back at Rio 180. We were gone over 4 hours and he charged $50 USD for the both of us. What service! Also - beware you will have a hard time getting taxi service to pick you up at the hotel. We pre-booked Juvenal to take us the airport and he was waiting for us early. The other guest had that was going to the regional airport had been waiting for over an hour for the taxi they called for him and was risking missing his flight. We told him to ask Juvenal to drop him off on the way to our airport and he agreed. We hope he made his flight! This place is worth a one night stay for the view. Do not use it as a base - use it for the view and travel smart. Book your transport ahead, know what you are getting and enjoy the view!

Room Tip: Be certain to get a room with a view - otherwise do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foreveronward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
#186 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#26 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Copacabana
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
#85 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
#54 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Botafogo
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
#25 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
#131 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa

Property: The Villa
Address: Rua Doutor Julio Otoni 254, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil (Formerly Rio 180º Suites & Cuisine)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#59 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rio, in the historic and bohemian town of Santa Teresa, The Villa is an 11-room boutique hotel with a hilltop position and a million dollar view! From the hotels main terrace, guests can take in the sweeping vista over the Guanabara Bay and the green hills of Santa Teresa, while enjoying the view of world famous art deco statue Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf Mountain. The hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beaches of Copacabana and Ipanema, the samba clubs of Lapa and the Sambodromo stadium. Described by those in the know as the South American Montmartre and one of Rio's hidden gems, Santa Teresa is packed with local artists, galleries, cafes and some of Rio's best small restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio 180
The Villa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing