We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million dollar view, big potential but definitely not there yet.”
Review of The Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Villa
Ranked #163 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I definitely have mixed feelings about this place. First, the location is quite stunning. The hotel is located in the hills of Santa Teresa, which means every room of the hotel has an incredible view - but really, really breathtaking - of the bay, the statute of Christ and more. You can tell that the place once upon the time has been beautiful. The design is careful and exotic and has a potential to be a truly boutique hotel. However, the place hasn't been kept up or renovated for a very long time so in practice it is really a mess. First, the website is very misleading - the hotel is really not as nice as the pictures and words on the website. There is no restaurant and no food wahtsoever except the breakfast, which is offered on a roof terrace with an unbelievable view. Our room was large but it hasn't been painted for ages and as much as it had a design potential at the closer look looked cheap. The room smelled, sheets were damp, Jacuzzi did not work, hot water almost never worked. Each time we had to call a front desk before we wanted to take the shower for them to fix it, which was very annoying. There was a very nice pool on a terrace with an awesome view so we have enjoyed that very much, but there were no umbrellas for instance, which was annoying. In conclusion this could be a truly amazing place but it just isn't because it requires still a lot of work to get it to a decent level.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for The Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 368 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Recently came back from a short work holiday down in the marvelous city of Rio de Janeiro.I was attending in behalf of my company the international congress of Latin American travel agencies. Since we book so late I had no choice but to stay in Rio 180 hotel which is located in the charming neighborhood of Santa Teresa. I was a little bit afraid ( to be honest ) as i didn't know what to expect seeing so many bad reviews. I got to say that I was pleasantly surprise by the place. They even gave me an upgrade to the best room "Carnaval " which has a balcony were you see the Christ, just perfect for a romantic dinner. The breakfast is amazing as you get to eat outside their restaurant terrance which overlooks the bay. The view is just absolutely stunning to say the least. The staff was always friendly and spoke perfect English. Near by the hotel you can enjoy food from all over Brazil in the cool district of largo de guimaraes consider the cultural heart of Rio. If you are looking for a quite, intimate and relaxing experience i got to say you have to give Rio 180 hotel a chance. Great getaway for couples.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmanBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

let's not talk about the location, miles faraway from everything, taxi expensive and often you need to walk 20 minutes to get one, the hotel says they cannot find them.
no bar, no restaurant, just the view
I have no words for the manager of the hotel, a big fat arrogant man.
the only positive thing, the view and a guy call Andres, really nice person who won't survive over there.

last thing, no locker on the windows, just because Brazil is a safe country

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filippo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.
We want to apologize for all the inconveniences and problems you experienced at the Rio180° Boutique Hotel.
We assure you that we introduced measures to improve our service quality and standards.
We really hope you will come back to the Rio180° Boutique Hotel, to see and enjoy our renovation.

For that reason, we are delighted to offer you a one-day stay at the Rio180° Boutique Hotel for free!

Please, just contact our front desk to reserve your stay.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Terrible location! You are far away from everything, be ready to pay taxis and spend a lot of time commuting to the center. Not helpfull staff! They are not even able to ask for a taxi! Bad breakfast! Any attention to the detail!
I can't understand where the other clients had been, it must be another hotel! It's true, the views are incredible!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P251074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.
We want to apologize for all the inconveniences and problems you experienced at the Rio180° Boutique Hotel.
We assure you that we introduced measures to improve our service quality and standards.
We really hope you will come back to the Rio180° Boutique Hotel, to see and enjoy our renovation.

For that reason, we are delighted to offer you a one-day stay at the Rio180° Boutique Hotel for free!

Please, just contact our front desk to reserve your stay.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Be sure as to why you are staying here. You should stay here for the view - it is beyond comparison. We had a room on the second floor above the pool. We overlooked Sugar Mountain and could see Christ The Redeemer. The view was breathtaking. We negotiated a lower rate by emailing the hotel directly. It is "under renovation" but it appears to have been this way for quite awhile. The vision is there, but the effort to get it done appears to be lacking. Do not stay here for the service ( the receptionist did not speak English, we asked for a card for the hotel to give a taxi driver - they did not have one, I finally used google translate to ask the teenage receptionist for water when we checked in). It is difficult to get to a restaurant if you are not used to walking. We walked almost 2 miles downhill and ate at an OK bar for dinner - thankfully we could find a taxi in the busy square and point uphill until we got back to our hotel. YOU MUST book their driver to pick you up at the airport. I have no clue how a taxi could find this place. We booked this same driver - using google translate - for the afternoon we arrived to drive us around. His name was Juvenal. When he wanted to speak to us he would call his daughter to translate. He took us for a lunch at a small restaurant, drive us to Corcovado - explained the best way to get to the top - take the vans with sign language, waited for us to return and dropped us back at Rio 180. We were gone over 4 hours and he charged $50 USD for the both of us. What service! Also - beware you will have a hard time getting taxi service to pick you up at the hotel. We pre-booked Juvenal to take us the airport and he was waiting for us early. The other guest had that was going to the regional airport had been waiting for over an hour for the taxi they called for him and was risking missing his flight. We told him to ask Juvenal to drop him off on the way to our airport and he agreed. We hope he made his flight! This place is worth a one night stay for the view. Do not use it as a base - use it for the view and travel smart. Book your transport ahead, know what you are getting and enjoy the view!

Room Tip: Be certain to get a room with a view - otherwise do not stay here.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foreveronward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I were in a pinch to find a hotel during Rio 20. We found availability in 1 of the 8 available rooms on booking.com. We checked out the website, rooms looked great and decided to book.

When we arrived, we had to buzz a door bell to be let in. Since the neighborhood is a little sketchy, that made us nervous, but the nearby favela ended up not being that big of a deal.... Staff was nice, but I would not stay here again. We paid over 300 USD a night here for the Pao de acucar room and I do not think that was a good value at all. Here is why:
- t.v. Was not in the room when we arrived
- no safes in room
- no toiletries besides hand soap provided
- no closets or drawers provided
- sheets and towels were damp
- no lunch or dinner served
- breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, fruit, bread, and cheese / ham. No choice of hot items or even cereal, yogurt, or eggs
- hot water availability was inconsistent ( e.g. We had to ask to have the hot water turned on to take showers)
- could not get a wi- FI connection from our room or the breakfast area. Only place we could get it was in reception.
- room did not look like picture on website

There are many other options to stay in Rio for the money we spent. Hopefully you will have better luck and not have to book a hotel during a huge, global, convention!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JL1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were so disappointed seing the room by comparison to what we saw on the internet that we almost took a taxi and left immediately. Moreover the complete lack of service (apart from the wonderful receptionist) made us regreat our choice instantaneously. This is a shame because the location and the view are exceptionnal, but so far this belongs more to the hostal category than anything else. We once thought our room was the ugliest but we had the chance to see other ones and apparently ours was not the worst (a mixture of very bad taste and bad maintenance). No eating facilities available, you have to wait more than half an hour for a taxi if you want to go to the restaurant, not even shampooo and soap available in the rooms, dirty swimming pool, etc...
Please be honest on your site and show your clients the reality of your place so that at least they do not get too disppointed...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GobTrotEur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.
We want to apologize for all the inconveniences and problems you experienced at the Rio180° Boutique Hotel.
We assure you that we introduced measures to improve our service quality and standards.
We really hope you will come back to the Rio180° Boutique Hotel, to see and enjoy our renovation.

For that reason, we are delighted to offer you a one-day stay at the Rio180° Boutique Hotel for free!

Please, just contact our front desk to reserve your stay.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
#190 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
86 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#7 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
303 reviews
Santa Teresa
Vila Santa Teresa Hotel & Spa
Vila Santa Teresa Hotel & Spa
#180 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
#13 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
372 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
#115 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
69 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#17 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa

Address: Rua Doutor Julio Otoni 254, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil (Formerly Rio 180º Suites & Cuisine)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#58 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $77 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rio, in the historic and bohemian town of Santa Teresa, The Villa is an 11-room boutique hotel with a hilltop position and a million dollar view! From the hotels main terrace, guests can take in the sweeping vista over the Guanabara Bay and the green hills of Santa Teresa, while enjoying the view of world famous art deco statue Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf Mountain. The hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beaches of Copacabana and Ipanema, the samba clubs of Lapa and the Sambodromo stadium. Described by those in the know as the South American Montmartre and one of Rio's hidden gems, Santa Teresa is packed with local artists, galleries, cafes and some of Rio's best small restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio 180
The Villa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing