We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss it”
Review of A Marisqueira

A Marisqueira
Ranked #480 of 13,710 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Copacabana
Barueri, SP
Level Contributor
179 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Do not miss it”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

An old Portuguese restaurant that has kept the same décor for the last 40 years. If you are a restaurant goer by their decoration you shall most probably come back from the door. But if you enter prepare yourselves for an unique extraordinary gastronomic experience. Start with the codfish cakes and alheiras (sort of sausage) with a bottle of Portuguese green white wine (I recommend their Adega Cooperativa Conde da Barca). All fishes are above average, the dired codfish dishes is handled by them as a form of art and their rice with octopus is delicious. I highly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Osler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    84
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in Rio”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Every time I come to Rio, I have to reserve a day to go to A Marisqueira. A traditional Portuguese restaurant (seafood, mainly), it is a jewel. The fish is spectacular (any kind!), the service is excellent and the ovos moles are an old temptation of mine... Not to be missed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carioca001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Strange Experience”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a very strange restaurant. We arrived in Rio in the evening and needed to find a place for dinner. We chose A Marisqueria because it got decent reviews and it was just around the corner from our hotel. The decor looks like it hasn't been updated in 30 years, but that doesn't bother me if the food is good. The prices are so out of sync with the quality of the food and the decor that I think that maybe we got a "tourist" menu. But our daughter speaks Portuguese and we had the menus before the waiter realized the rest of us needed English menus. The food was just ok and the portions were huge. If we'd ordered two portions for 4 of us the prices might not have seemed so out of whack. The sangria was also very strange. It tasted like the wine was cut with straight up grape juice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A friendly restaurant in Copacabana”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The food at Marisqueira is very home style. Tasty and plentiful. The waiters are very helpful and friendly. The owner comes to see if you need anything and ready to serve you more if you want. They go an extra step to serve you well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M2C7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Best trout in Rio”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very good food in a traditional ambience. You will getba feling on the old times in Rio restaurants. The waiters are very nice, and the food is outstanding, but not gourmet.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank darwinsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Marisqueira also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to A Marisqueira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing