We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better available”
Review of Terrasse Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrasse Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better available”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The hostel is very close to the beach, however better hostels are available a block further away. The double room was smelly and small with worn out sheets with road noise. There is no common area to speak of.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foupieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    58
    44
    12
    23
See reviews for
8
29
55
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

I cant report on the hostel itself but I can comment on the owners. We just found out today that they cancelled our bookings during the carnival period, 2 weeks before it starts!!! The hostel booking website emailed me to state that they tried to get them to honour their bookings but they refused and have now been removed from their website.

Now all that remains for accomodation is so expensive that we may have to miss the carnival all together.

Many thanks to the owners/pirates.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dazba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
saigon, vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

I had stayed one week in this hostel in single room with my own terrasse.
I love it, totally. Walk out of the hotel you can find bars, restaurants, supermarket, one block to the beach... very nice location. You can go out in evening in Rio with no fear in this area.

God bless you.

Nguyen Van Xuan Loc , Saigon, Vietnam

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nguyenvanxuanloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We arrived very late at this hostel and checked out early in the morning. Definitely not what we expected, based on the reviews on this site and on hostelz and hotelworld. Although renovated in 2007, the place looked nothing like fresh photos and is a really lousy. The room we stayed in looked run down and it had this funky smell.

The washrooms were approx. 1.5 feet wide with chipwood plywood as doors and located right on the side of a set of stairs going up and down. The showers were so small you can't bend over and pick up soap without hitting your head on the walls.

When we checked in, they had all day to get our sheets ready and they didn't have them ready for us they even lost one of our pillows.

No AC, fan blows the smelly air all over you. Place smelt like mold.

Wash basins were in the hallway, clientele frequently blew their nose in the sink and left it.

It's located across the street from a loud bar the goes on it to the night.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobayashiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

My friend and I were in Brazil over May and stayed at the Terrasse Hostel for the last few days of our holiday! We stumbled across the hostel quite by chance but was definately a great find. From being someone who spent half my life at boarding school I know how difficult it can be to share personnal spaces like bathrooms etc with people you don't know BUT that was so great about Terrasse is that it was clean and most importantly the people we met there were just all so great!! Definitely very memorable part of our holiday. The guys that worked there were great (Chaz & Brady) and very helpful! Bruno who is one of the owners of the hostel is awesome, he took time out to help us in a country where we did not know the language and we can't thank him enough! It is also in such a great location, a block back from Ipanema beach and close to all shops and restaurants and night spots! It was really good value for money and would definitely recommend this hostel. They will also help you organise any tours and even organise tickets to watch the football at the maracana stadium! We had a great stay there and we will return no doubt when we visit Brazil next year!

  • Liked — The great location and the friendly people that worked there
  • Disliked — sharing a bathroom but otherwise nothing at all
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AfricanDayDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#117 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Ipanema
Tiffany's Residence Service
Tiffany's Residence Service
#196 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#4 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
#24 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Ipanema
The Mango Tree
The Mango Tree
#21 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Ipanema
Adventure House
Adventure House
#71 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrasse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrasse Hostel

Property: Terrasse Hostel
Address: Rua Farme de Amoedo 35 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-020, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 765 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Terrasse Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Terrasse Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing