We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay ok”
Review of Terrasse Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terrasse Hostel
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Location is perfect but the room that I stayed was really tight and small for 4 people. Besides that is a good price, employees kindly, and very close to ipanema beach. However, the Hostel need to improve their quality, including better common toillets, providing some ventilation and less noisy rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rvertuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 192 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We couldn't find any accomodation for one of our nights in Rio so we decided to stay there.
The room was very tiny, the sheets not very clean, the bathrooms both (tiny and not very clean).
There is no air conditionning so the night was hot and noisy.
Breakfast is quite bad

All of that for the same price as some very good hostels in the area.

In short, it is not a very good place and is quite expensive for what you get, but you will have a roof and a hot shower, ready to leave on the next morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bastise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrasse H, Gerente at Terrasse Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

On behalf of Terrasse Hostel, I would like to thank you for your comments.
Through these we can improve our services and correcting any problem.
We are honored to know that even then, your stay in our hostel was very nice.
Hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Good hostel. Clean. Excelent location near Ipanema Beach, restaurants, bars, night club/disco and shops. The staff -Rosa, Rick & Nuno was professional, very helpful and friendly. Fantastic atmosphere, very gay friendly. I stayed 5 days and I had good time. Rio is super!
I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristof M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrasse H, Gerente at Terrasse Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

On behalf of Terrasse Hostel, I would like to thank you for your comments.

We are honored to know that your stay at our hostel was very nice.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

During Carnival never stay there, except if you do not intend to sleep at night, but during the morning. There´s no stove in the kitchen, so it´s impossible to cook. Fan in the bedroom for couple definitely doesn´t refresh enough in summer. Its bathroom is extremely tight. Staff is polite and Ms. Rosa is extremely kind and helpful. The best location in Rio. So check your priorities and make your choice!

Room Tip: During Carnival never stay there, except if you do not intend to sleep at night, but during the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndreS_oPaulo_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrasse H, Gerente at Terrasse Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

On behalf of Terrasse Hostel, I would like to thank you for your comments.
Through these we can improve our services and correcting any problem.
We are honored to know that even then, your stay in our hostel was very nice.
Hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked one night at this hostel before reading reviews here which was an immediate mistake.

Once we arrived, the lady at the reception (very friendly and professional) told us our reservation does not exist. After we showed her the confirmation email sent by a guy who works there - called Simon, we realized they lost our reservation. Hostel was full (maybe luckily). Simon was there looking uninterested and didn't even apologize for loosing our reservation.

After some time, nice lady found us alternative accommodation, gave us the deposit back and some cash for the taxi, which was fair. Alternative hotel (hotel Vanity - Copacabana beach) however turned out to be wh..e house, the one with mattresses and pillows covered with plastic so they don't stain. It was still ok for one night, but will never ever cross my mind to deal with any of these 2 establishments again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Srechko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent 4 nights too many at this hostel. We got a pretty good idea and feel for the place staying in 2different rooms during the stay. Aside from the people it really has nothing to offer. It is very overpriced and the standard is poor. The place itself as well as the Rooms are very small, place is old, cold water in tiny showers, the breakfast is dissapointing and it is beyond noisy to the point that you cant expect to get any sleep. The rooms were not cleaned even once during the period we were there. It is not recommended for English speakers, or anyone staying more than 1 night ( and even that's only if you absolutely have to). The are a lot of hostels in the area so there really is no reason to stay at this hostel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there then stay in a room that's on the same floor as the toilet and away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_elle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The rooms are the size of a small closet, dirty, smell of mold, they give you a plastic bag with old sheets and old pillow cases that do not match, something your grandmother might use. No TV, no radio, no air conditioning. Just blank walls to stare at. I realized that I didnt have a towel and went to the reception to ask for one and the guy said it would cost $10 reais for a towel! I said I'm paying $170 reais a night for a closet without a bathroom and you want me to pay another $10 for a towel!? I went to Lojas aMericanas and bought a new towel that someone else hadnt wiped their a with for $9 reais. Then I looked on their website and saw the prices and realized I was overcharged for my room, was told the card machine wasnt working so I had to pay in cash, and I wasnt given a receipt, so I bet the extra money was pocketed.

You hear everyone as they come and go, the showers running the toilets flushing, lots of street noise. There is 1 toilet and 1 shower for all male visitors.

Rip off and never again would stay there, and hope whomever is reading this doesnt even consider staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mojito Hostel & Suites Rio de Janeiro
Mojito Hostel & Suites Rio de Ja...
#92 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
15 reviews
Ipanema
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
#27 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
694 reviews
Ipanema
Adventure House
Adventure House
#76 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Beach House Ipanema
Beach House Ipanema
#29 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
424 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#6 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
545 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#3 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrasse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrasse Hostel

Address: Rua Farme de Amoedo 35 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-020, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 842 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $15 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Terrasse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrasse Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Terrasse Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing