We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vila Carioca Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This would be one of the best hostels I have stayed in during my 10 months backpacking around South America. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the outdoor and kitchen area had everything you needed, and the breakfast was just fantastic. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help you and answer all your questions. Felt like my home away from home.

Room Tip: Good value, social areas, and quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandaJane207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 477 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Gostaria de recomensar esse hostel,pois tem uma otima localizacao,quartos com ar condicionado, cafe da manha e um clima super gostoso.Valeu mesmo!!!Meu sonho de conhecer o Rio foi perfeito!
I would like to recommend this hostel, i had a great time, is very well located, the rooms with air conditioning, good breakfast and everything nice. Thanks a lot guys!!!! My dream to go to Rio was perfect!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariane_Ferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed two nights in Vila Carioca,tucked in at the end of a blindending street in Botafogo.The hostel was very calm and clean and the service was excellent forr a hostel.The location makes you feel very secure.
The breakfast included was good.The room I stayed in (6 bed dorm ) was ok and nice to have a balcony.Also air con and fan.The area is nice ,with short distance to the metrostation,which makes it easy to see the rest of Rio.Very recommended for a hostel stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

stayed for 3 nights and would stay even more. the staff is really great, with good suggestions. the breakfast is simply amazing, with fresh fruit, coffee, tea, bread, cakes, ham and cheese..
i slept in room 'corcovado' for 14 (? dot remember exactly) people and have private toilet and shower. kitchen fully furnished to cook your fodd and also for bbq..
great location, a 2 mins walking from botagofo metro station..
free good wifi but have to pay to use the computers (even if you dont use internet).
would definitely come back. recommend.
stayed in october 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco_Gip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very good, loved the place, very clean, organized and well located. I was very well attended, good price and breakfast is very tasty. I really recommend this hostel because it is a very nice place. I met new people from different countries, it was a peaceful place and safe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I am satisfied with the choice of Vila Carioca Hostel. The localisation is really great, the area is safe and nice. It is the great starting place to visit Rio. Staff is friendly and always ready to help you or advise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliT00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Having stayed a lot of different places in Rio, I have to say that the staff here is by far the friendliest and most laid-back. The hostel has a buena onda, it is different from the normal, grey-and-white hostels around the city, with lots of colors and monkeys outside, and a vibrant staff. The hostel also helps you with all kinds of different tours, and its location in Botafogo, I feel, is a more genuine Brazilian experience. It is close to the metro and Verano, an amazing buffet place, and for those interested, it is close to the birth place of Brazilian Jiu Jiutsu :) I had to leave one day earlier than expected, and did not have to pay for the last day even though I had booked it (this would not happen many other places).

Room Tip: Some privates come with a little balcony where you can sit and enjoy Rio :) The privates are amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joakim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#12 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
267 reviews
Botafogo
Gaia Comfort Hostel
Gaia Comfort Hostel
#15 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
148 reviews
Botafogo
BotaHostel
BotaHostel
#19 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Hospedaria Rio
Hospedaria Rio
#67 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
41 reviews
Leme
Chill Hostel Rio
Chill Hostel Rio
#46 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
79 reviews
Copacabana
Pura Vida Hostel
Pura Vida Hostel
#22 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Carioca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Carioca Hostel

Address: Rua Estacio Coimbra 84 | Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 834 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $13 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vila Carioca Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Vila Carioca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Carioca Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing