We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great invention, wonderful choices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Delirio Tropical

Delirio Tropical
Ranked #45 of 13,629 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great invention, wonderful choices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Delicious salads, grilled fish and meat, soups and other fares at a reasonable price. Everything is made from scratch, the vegetables are home grown, the desserts are homemade.staff isveryfrie sly and accommodating and will do their best to take care of you. I love the pasta salad with basil and pine nuts, as well the cauliflower and ricotta cheese salad. The empanadas are to die for, as well as the quiches (cheese and onion is my favorite) as well the crapes (mushroom is my favorite); they also have daily soups, grilled salmon, checked and meat with special sauces. The cost is based on what you have (1, 2 or 3 salads) plus meat or side other. It's extremely reasonable, considering the quality, quantity and the selection they offer. Eat and go for a walk at the beach, one block away! Bom apetite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marimont O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    458
    90
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
266 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Delírio Tropical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

A "healthy"kind of cafeteria style restaurant that's not as inexpensive as previously thought, but still has reasonable prices, if you compare to other Rio food places. There are several branches of this restaurant and we went to the Ipanema branch at the corner of Prudente de Morais and Garcia dÁvila, just a block away from Visconde de Pirajá, the busy commercial avenue in Ipanema. You can choose from several ready to take dishes; there's a wide selection of goodies to choose from. The food is good and the the looks of the interior are quite nice, very informal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SergioSequeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
639 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Sets The Kilo Standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We happened upon this restaurant as we were out from our nearby hotel stretching our legs after the overnight flight from the US. So glad we did. We had terrific dinners here three nights in a row. This restaurant was far better than the other four kilo restaurants we dined in. The vegetable and salads were outstanding; fresh as can be and flavorful. We paid 15R for a plate with two vegetable/salad sides plus 8R for an entrée. No wonder we saw locals lined up at the door waiting to get in. The staff recognized us as tourists and went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delírio em Ipanema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Recommended after going shopping, or after beach.

Salads and juices are the must, right at the heart of Ipanema.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpeczenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
376 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Good comida por kilo one block from Ipanema beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Comida por kilo is a typical lunch option in Brazil.
The price of the food is payed based on the weight. that's why is called comida por kilo..Food for kg.
It is basically like a fast food but with top quality simple and delicious food.
from steamed vegetables to salas, rice, tarts, pastas, grilled meat or fish it reminds you the home food. Very healthy and light, you can get a tray, pick your food, get it weighted, pay and enjoy your lunch looking at street through the glas façade.
Perfect for a quick lunch when you are in Ipanema Beach.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EuDiMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delirio Tropical also viewed

 

Been to Delirio Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing