We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brasil good but expensive restaurants” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guimas

Guimas
Ranked #366 of 13,575 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lagoa
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brasil good but expensive restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

As a Brazilian who lives in the Us it is always a surprise how crazy is the cost of restaurants here. This is a very romantic restaurant , consistent food , and high prices .
Suggestion : avoid the "couvert" , too much bread and go for the appetizers instead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    109
    30
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
246 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Unfortunately this is the best option in the area.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to Guimas for over 15 years, and I still insist on visiting this place. I know why, it's the sheer lack of options in the area. The food is just ok, the couvert that everyone raves about is quite insipid. Staff members at times can be surly and inattentive. So why come back? The place has its charm, even though it comes at high and unnecessary cost.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Used to be very good, now it's worse than mediocre”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Guimas used to be one of the most charming restaurants in Rio -- I hadn't eaten there in years until I went back last week. What a pity! A boring uninspired couvert, main dishes that were both bad and ugly. To the management's credit, we complained and after replacing one dish, they comped our drinks and apologized with the excuse that "Everyone loves Guimas." If they do, it's a nostalgic love that has nothing to do with the current menu. There's a lot of competition in Rio now and no excuse for this kind of bad expensive food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobsybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst restaurant we experienced during 3 weeks in Brazil”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Extremely disappointing!

After great tripadvisor reviews, and being recommended this restaurant from 2 different local brazilians we decided to check it out. We were extremely disappointed...This place is not cheap so you would expect good food and service. 5 waiters in an empty restaurant you would expect one to approach you to take your order. It took 15 minutes and our hungry persistence to place our order.

We ordered the shrimp Caesar salad to share and what we received was romaine with grilled shrimp, shredded Parmesan and a "ranch" type dressing- certainly the worst attempt of a "ceasar" salad we have ever had. My husband ordered a steak au poivre and I a steak with a mushroom sauce. We both received the same sauce, and to say it tasted like a packet bisto gravy would be doing the sauce too much justice. Also not cooked medium like we ordered. I could not even eat the potato rosti (really needed seasoning) and I could have done a better Parmesan crisp myself- how can you make Parmesan cheese taste so bad! After spending $200 R we expected a meal that was worth the value, and this was not. Our experience left a bad taste in our mouths and we could not wait to leave.

The only item worth while is the bread and dips they give you when you arrive (great duck pâté) although they charge you $10 R without warning.

Do not waste your money or time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashbash55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to have a meal in Rio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Guimas is an amazing restaurant in Rio. First of all, it has been here for more than 30 years. It is located in a quiet street in Gávea, a charming neighborhood in the city. There you will find an excellent crew, from the doorman to the barman. The food is delicious. You can choose pasta, beef or seafood, everything spectacular! And the atmosphere is also very nice, with drawings on the wall made by the clients and some instrumental jazz playing in the background...
It's the right place to go for lunch or dinner with friends, family or couple.
Once in Rio, spend some time and have a meal at Guimas!

My favorites: "filé do bêbado" and "lagostin com risoto de limão siciliano".

Price for two with starter, 2 main dishes, 2 deserts, 3 juices and a beer, with the service and tax included: around 200 reais (U$ 100,00).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jobisaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guimas also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Guimas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing