We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Esplanada Grill

Esplanada Grill
Ranked #669 of 13,710 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Oakville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We came to the Esplanada because of the great reviews, but were not impressed. The food was OK, and quite expensive. Before you order you get a large assortment of things, none of which is explained-- several bowls of condiments, a bowl of something resembling couscous, and a good bread basket and cut veggies. Then a green salad is brought to the table, though not mentioned by the menu or the server. I had the " medallions" of which there were two. They were wrapped in very smoky bacon and sprinkled with coarse sea salt, so it was difficult to taste anything other than that. The batatas fritas were under fried, but the creamed spinach was good. My husband had a half of some bigger steak cut, which he found flavorful, but he agreed on the three star rating overall. The service was indifferent. We are trying another steak restaurant tomorrow night so will review that one too in the hopes it's better!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NapaSLvA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    77
    42
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
325 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Nothing special but quite expensive”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had diner at this restaurant together with three friends from abroad, expecting we would find a very good quality meat and special service for the price they charge. I was wrong.
The maitres and the waiters seem like they could not care less for the customers even though the restaurant was semi empty when we arrived...
The food was reasonable at best. I had a carpaccio as entrance which was semi frozen and I could almost not eat it .
The meat was the best part of the meal and was well done but not outstanding!
The restaurant itself had nothing special also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MiriamM972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific But expensive- Doesnt worth”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I go there since i was a kid. The food is REALLY terrific. Always the best quality , and its very conservative, they never change de meni or the decoration. The bad part is the price. Its VERY VERY expensive , and you will pay almost RS 250,00 sharing a chicken and a salad. Dont forget to think about the Couvert . Its very good, but i u eat , u will be full and it cost 38 per person .
I recomend if you dont mind in spend money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vivicohen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meat Feast”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Superb place for Sunday lunch or any time you want to try some of the best meat dishes in Rio. Great service and extensive wine list.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“best lunch in Rio!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The perfect steakhouse.
The entrées are great, the desserts finish perfectly the meal, but the meats...
Wow, wonder where they get those cuts. Couldn' t find such tasty and exquisite meat! Not even in Argentina!
Think the waiter's name was Celso that was great serving us!
Go there!!

Helpful?
Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esplanada Grill also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Esplanada Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing