We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea food heaven”
Review of Satyricon

Satyricon
Ranked #89 of 13,701 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Sea food heaven”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I believe Satyricon is one of the best restaurantes in Rio. Just after the bar counter at the entrance you will see a big table that resenbles a fish market stand, with lots of raw fish and sea food. Start with the fish carpaccios, thin slices of different kinds of raw fisch, each one scorted by its sauce, a symphony of flavours. You may continue with squid (superb), octopus, shrimps or fish, because everything is excellent here. The wine list, with an emphasis but not limited to whites, is very comprehensive: last time I had a great south african chardonay. Friendly service and nice environment, although not cheap, because the ingredients are very fresh and cannot be stored.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAmemberSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    280
    105
    48
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London,England
Level Contributor
272 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Highly rated and deservedly so.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Satyricon is considered to be one of Rio's best (or the best) fish restaurants and based on our experience we would agree. Very attractive and tasteful design and tables always filled with both visitors (early) and locals (later). We ordered "fish of the day" specials and both (grilled red snapper and another red snapper baked in a delicious wine and herb sauce) were excellent. A Brazilian Chardonnay was rather more than decent and a real bargain vs. imports. Service is professional albeit not overly friendly due to (our) language limitations. And they even serve a very good dry Martini! Our fish dishes were comparable to the best we have had in many, many years of fine dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
187 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“made me very happy”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

had some many good things, was hard to say which was best.
would not miss this place.
great wine list as well.
I had fresh sea urchins, fresh scallops, followed by their grilled octopus, I was so busy eating mine, not sure what my wife was eating, think salmon, she was very happy as well

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank westlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stylish, buzzy Rio restaurant with attention to detail and excellent service”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We visited for my niece's birthday and the entrance with its raw bar and the decor is very impressive. Our food was very good - my sister had the fish cooked in salt which is a specialty which was superb and the food relied on the intrinsic taste rather than fussy cooking. Service impeccable and wine selection was one of the best of our visits in Rio. I would give it 4.5 out of 5. I cannot comment on the cost as my sister was paying, except to assume that it is pretty expensive even by Rio standards.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BermudaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location, tasty food, average staff”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Location and welcome.
Very nice facade, doorman welcomes you, you walk trough a nice bar with a welcoming woman taking your reservation You walk past several tanks of fresh lobster and seafood. There's even a really nice section with a lot of fresh fish on ice and a man making sushi.. Another waiter takes you to your table. Everybody greets you with a smile. Main room is nice, spacey and with dimmed lights. In the far back you have a garden style room with more tables. We chose one in the main room against the wall.


Staff
Staff is friendly and speaks some English, enough for them to understand what you are ordering, and any inquiries. But, we got the wine map first without the menu, which made it difficult to choose a wine to go with your meal, in fact, we didn't get the menu at all, I had to go and get a couple after waiting 15 minutes, and almost drinking a glass of wine. No worries, as long as the food is good, this is merely a small bump in the road. Another small minus for me is that after initial wine testing, they didn't fill up our wineglasses. Never seen this before in this type of restaurant. But, what the hell...

Menu and food
Wow, large menu with Italian food, pastas, seafood and meat. They even had sushi, some really expensive sushi, which I bet is really good. We were more keen on some good South American meat so I went with a sirloin with tagliatelle and my girlfriend went with a steak in pepper-sauce.

Food came quite quickly, but what an awful presentation. My plate was just filled with a creamy tagliatelle and a steak. My GF got her filet, with dry french fries, pepper sauce on the side and green peas. Looked like any random street cafe plate of meat, but I have to say, it tasted really good. I just wish they did more with the presentation to make it more appealing.

All in all a good experience, but too expensive for what you get, quality wise. And they charged us for the bread couvert, some 15 dollars a head or something. Maybe this is usual, but I like to know what I'm paying for especially when it seems to be free.

We paid roughly 120 USD for two main courses and two cheap glasses of wine.
Don't think we'll come back, don't get me wrong, It's a great restaurant, but I like Guiseppe's in Leblon sooo much better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horabjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satyricon also viewed

 

Been to Satyricon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing