We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool vibe and great food!”
Review of Bar do Mineiro

Bar do Mineiro
Ranked #112 of 13,664 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Brazilian, Bar, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Santa Teresa
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cool vibe and great food!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Typical Brazilian restaurant. One of the places that serves Feijoada during the weekdays and it is delicious! You see it on almost every table for a reason. You can order it for multiple people, but it is a huuuuge meal, so consider ordering for one less (order for 2 people if you are 3) unless you are all big eaters. My mom and I ordered for 2, and even with my boyfriend pitching in the three of us were unable to finish the meal. Great food!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    444
    118
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always crowded for the Feijoada.”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great crowd, friendly service and fantastic Feijoada. Good Caipirinhas, good food. We did not like the long wait but this occurred only once in our four trips there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wow and WOW AGAIN!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

After obsessively watching Anthony Bourdain for my upcoming trip to Rio, I made it a point to not leave Rio without visiting this place.
What an amazing little place!

If you are hungry, come a little early because you will likely have to wait for a table. We had a group of 8 and waited about 40 minutes. In the meantime, we drank their amazing caipirinha's which are out of this world! Probably the best I had in Rio.

Once seated the first thing ordered was feijoada and more caipirinha's.

This place is known for having the best feijoada in Rio, and the reviews did not skip a beat! It was flavorful, smelled incredible and just... Oh my.

If you are looking to eat authentic Brazilian food away from the tourist areas, do yourself a favor and come here.
The vibe and atmosphere is just what the doctor ordered while on vacation!

Loved it!!

Helpful?
Thank PassportHeavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macae, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fejioada for lunch”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Reagan and I enjoyed a lunch here on Sunday. There was a little bit of a wait but it was worth the 20 minutes. I had a cold beer while we waited and read a magazine. The atmosphere is busy. The Fejioada is incredible. Reagan liked her Chicken Sandwich as well. Nice spot to visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
286 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We went to this place only because every single website recommended it as the best of Santa Teresa. We waited outside for almost an hour until we got our table, the place was packed and as expected we ordered the feijoada... It wasn't all that special, there are much better (less expensive, tastier and quicker) places in town... (Academia da Cachaça!).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar do Mineiro also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Bar do Mineiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing