We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of The Bakers

The Bakers
Ranked #4 of 46 Bakeries in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Copacabana
Description: A Tradiditional and Charming Bakery established in the heart of Copacabana. For 20 years serving tourists and "cariocas" with the best breakfast, lunch or Sandwiches and Quiches. Also, our pastry was chosen one of the best in Rio.
Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This bakery was very close to the hostel we were staying. We went there two times.
The service is REALLY slow.
Although we liked what we had, I think the food usually "sits" there for a while and the it's not that fresh.
For the price they charge I think they should only provide fresh stuff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla_M_Anjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    277
    74
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We liked everything we ordered here, and even took an apple danish to go. Get the iced hot chocolate for dessert!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“bathroom dirty and slow service”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I went there around 21:00.
The bathrooms were filthy.
The service was very slow, despite the place being almost empty.
The dessert was horrible (cuscus)
The main dishes were ok.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredbb_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best place for breakfast”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We are late risers, so being able to eat wholesome breakfast in the afternoon is a big plus. Very cute location with a ton of scrumptious pies, cakes, tarts to lure you in. Small restaurant in the back of the bakery. This was the only restaurant we went to twice --once for breakfast and the other for lunch. The portion size is good, prices good, and a nice homey feel. They also have hand painted cookies with 'Rio' designs...perfect for souvenirs!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piglet99Scottsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“food and snacks”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

you have there excellent snacks ,sweets , breads and can have a have a good lunch .
Jewish and brazilian inspiration

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank fbueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakers also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to The Bakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing