We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the view? But stay for the food!”

Restaurante Aprazivel
Ranked #105 of 13,710 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Teresa
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Come for the view? But stay for the food!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Interestingly, everyone comes to/raves about the views from Aprazivel. Which, given it is Rio, are nothing special - they are largely obscured, you see only the port and parts of the Santa Teresa neighborhood. I was underwhelmed with the view, given the buzz.

However, the happy suprise is usually the famous view restaurants have lousy food, and Aprazivel was actually excellently prepared food, with some twists on Brazilian classics, but the quality and preparation are top notch, and almost make me consider it a food-first resto that happens to be up in the trees. Go, but go for the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carino10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,084
    1,477
    558
    171
    121
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice view”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

It was a nice cab ride through Santa Teresa and up the hill to the restaurant. The staff was very nice and helpful. We went there around noon, it wasn't crowded at all and we had a nice and peaceful view. We expected the food to be more expensive, after reading and hearing stories about the prices. But in comparison with the quality of the food, it was a bit overpriced. The food was okay, but nothing special. The Aprazivel beer was very tasty and so was the dessert. It's a nice place if you want to have another view of the city and a quite time-out lunch.

Another good thing about this restaurant is their own "taxi" service. Not all the taxi drivers know where this restaurant is located. To avoid waiting more then necessary, the Apravizel taxi service comes in very handy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mra_roe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A different concept”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The selling point for this restaurant is the superb views over the city and Rio-Niteroi bridge, we arrived just before sunset so had the chance to enjoy the beautiful scenery at twilight and early evening, an awesome experience! The restaurant has a very tropical feel with tables spread out on different levels wich makes for a nice ambience.There is a great selection of unusual (and delicious) cocktails and we thought the food was very good at the time (the popular grilled palm of hearts is worth trying, very tasty and nicely presented) but upon visiting Zuka restaurant in Leblon later that week (see separate review) we found the food there to be superior and more varied. The service was friendly and efficient. We took a yellow cab up from Gloria's subway station and on the way back one of the black vehicles that are parked outside the restaurant, we thought we would be over charged for this but the ride cost just a little more than what we would have expected to pay if we had taken a cab.
All in all a different eating option, worth visiting at least once.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurous_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
2,434 reviews
838 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 961 helpful votes
“A restaurant with a (very lovely) view”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We spent the day walking around the Santa Teresa area. Lovely little shops, bars & restaurants. We finally decided to go for lunch at Aprazivel. Great choice. Excellent food, wonderful location perched atop a hill, wide far reaching views across the city. We also had some lovely Brasilian wine recommended by the Sommelier. All in all, a delightful experience. Will be back soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I loved it!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. The staff is super helpfull and nice, the food is unbelieveble and they have their own beer called Aprazivel, wich I loved as well. Everything is beatiful with a very tropical vibe. It's a place to spend the entire afternoon just having a conversation. It's a restaurant for couples, friends, family and kids. The only thing is that it's a little expensive. But it worth it!! By the way the view is beautiful. You shoudn't miss it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Francielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Aprazivel also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Restaurante Aprazivel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing