We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great views, awesome caipirinhas”

Restaurante Aprazivel
Ranked #110 of 13,659 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Teresa
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great views, awesome caipirinhas”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really worth trying. Indeed expensive, however great food. Had a very good goat meat and really good appetizers. Don't miss the caipirinhas.
The view is amazing

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,043
    1,464
    555
    171
    121
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food, stunning location”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Arrived after dark on a clear but cool night... stunning views across Rio from the amazing setting on the hillside in Santa Teresa. We chose a warmer table, under a verandah, but still with wonderful views. Other tables were out in the open under trees, all beautifully lit by spotlights. The restaurant was much larger than we had expected, but there were lots of staff so we were served quickly. Our group enjoyed glorious main courses of fillet of duck, roast beef, fillet steak.... Some of which were served with Brazilian specialities like spinach cooked in coconut milk and banana - incredibly delicious and different! Puddings were beautifully presented and fabulous... the creme brûlée quite the best we've ever had! The food and drinks (we had juices and a bottle of very good Brazilian wine from the comprehensive list) were pretty expensive, but we found that in Rio generally, so I guess this was par for the course! Service was a little bit too efficient really, we felt rather watched over, almost rushed, but perhaps when they were busier this wouldn't be an issue?! But all in all a very special and delicious dinner - and the maitre d' was great at arranging a car back to our hotel for us, when we could tear ourselves away from the view!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“One of the best places in Rio”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Well, it is expensive. But if you want to indulge yourself in Rio, there's nothing close to this restaurant. The food is delicious, really above the average standard of food in rio. The service is great and pleasant. But if course the amazing thing here is the location: little huts with straw roofs in a huge garden on Santa Tereza mountain, overlooking the city and the bay... Incomparable

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kvknem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
187 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“The whole package”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was not sure what to expect from this restaurant and ended up being very surprised. Aprazível offers you the whole experience. The location in fantastic, the view is breathtaking, the service is ultra-kind and very efficient, the drinks are delicious and the food was incredible. We decided not to other main dishes, but to order five different kinds of appetizers, so we could really taste a little bit of everything. And it was worth it. Delicious and creative traditional Brazilian food in its best. Yes, it was expensive, but it was worth it. I would defintely go back there again. Try to go during lunch time to enjoy the amazing view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“They think vegetarians are stupid!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just like most restaurants in Rio, the only vegetarian option is: pasta and salad!
It's unbelievable the disregard concerning the vegetarian clients, is it so difficult to understand that If I want to eat pasta I would go to an Italian restaurant and not this one???
And above all, they charge for a shiitake lasagne just as much as the real creative dishes. Their logic works according to the brazilian commercial idea of vegetarianism: "Give them salad and carbohydrate (cheap to make, easy to profit!)! Sad!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Aprazivel also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Restaurante Aprazivel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing