We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cama e Cafe, Santa Tereza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cama e Cafe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cama e Cafe
Ranked #138 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cama e Cafe, Santa Tereza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here in Rio and also in Olinda and had a really memorable time. I really clicked with the lady I stayed with, and she was also into music and art, so took time to sit with me and suggest different things to do. She also took me out to parties and introduced me to friends, and was really hospitable. One of my aims was to improve my portuguese and it was perfect! She was really patient and there were lots of opportunities to chat. I also felt part of the family, and got invited to events that tourists wouldn't normally see - like a Festa Junina at a local school, which was really special. The house was beautiful and really creative, and I could come and go as I wanted which was really great - sometimes I cooked, sometimes we ate together. The only down side is it was sometimes tricky to get home at night with buses and the bonde. It was a great introduction to the Brasilian culture and since then I've been back to Brasil many times. I will always have special memories of this trip though. And Cama e Cafe had loads of special deals and other useful things for visitors.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vitoria271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
9
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We spent our days in Rio de Janeiro in a very nice and friendly cama e cafe place
at the hill of Santa Teresa. For us everything had been perfect.
We met very friendly and warmhearted owners who served us with a perfect breakfast
and gave us any help we asked for e.g. tips for sightseeing and going out, airport-transport, language lessons, ... .
We are convinced that cama and cafe is a wonderful idea to get to know a lot about Rio
and we are very happy that we foud such a nice, friendly and warmhearted house.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chtheiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We read the previous review about Wanderley's house and thought that we should write about our experience as it was very different and we feel that Wanderley deserves a break!

It is true that the room is basic, the bed is basically a mattress on the floor and everything could probably benefit from a bit more of a clean, but in general it is a pleasant place to stay. Also, the breakfast is amazing! Everyday we've had freshly squeezed fruit juice, coffee, eggs, fruit, toast, cheese, ham, biscuits and crackers, so we really couldn't fault that.

Contrary to what the last review said, both myself and my boyfriend thought the location was great. Santa Teresa is a lovely place and quite frankly one of the only places we would consider staying in Rio having now seen around the city a bit more. After being out and about during the day, it has been a breath of fresh air to come back to Santa Teresa, which we have found generally feels quite safe both during the day and night. Of course it isn't advisable to walk around anywhere in Rio late at night, but if it's simply a case of walking back to the house after dinner we have felt completely safe.

It is true that Wanderley's is possibly a little higher up in Santa Teresa than other houses, but it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the main square where there are shops and restaurants, and there is also a little supermarket only about 5-10 minutes away so you never really have to go too far. And with regard to getting elsewhere in Rio, whether you stay with Wanderley or any other host in the Came e Cafe system you will have to figure out how to get around using the buses or the tram simply because of where Santa Teresa is. The tram takes you right into the centre and there's also a circular bus route that takes you to and from a main metro stop. Also, there are little Volkswagen mini vans that can take you to another metro stop, so there are options, you just have to be willing to find out and have a go!

With regard to finding out how to get around, Wanderley has been amazing. Luckily I speak Spanish so communication hasn't been an issue (this may be different if you don't speak Spanish or Portuguese as I'm not sure what his English is like), and he has been really helpful at giving us advice. He recommended street parties that we should go to during the Carnival, gave us detailed instructions about how to come and go, spent time on the phone booking a bus ticket for us for later in our trip, and when we mentioned an interest in seeing some capoeira he looked around for us and found an event in the paper that we could go to.

So all in all we would recommend Wanderley's house. It may not be the highest standard of accommodation, but the homely feel of Santa Teresa coupled with Wanderley's help and friendliness has given us a sense of ease on this trip - something which I think you definitely need when you come to Rio!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueangel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Note: Cama e Cafe has a lot of different houses, all very different, and in different locations in Santa Teresa, so this review is for Wanderley's house only!

I really, really wanted to like Cama e Cafe - it's just such a great idea, to stay with locals, instead of just being a tourist in Rio. And the people who run the network are so nice and friendly! So I was willing to overlook many things about the place where I stayed - that my bedroom clearly hadn't been cleaned before I got there (the floor was dirty, only the sheets had been changed), that the shared bathroom had not been cleaned in a few days, and wasn't cleaned during the two days that I stayed there, that the 'cama' in question is more like a mattress on the floor, that the room had a funny smell, and that the "house" was actually just a 3-bedroom apartment. All this wouldn't have mattered to me, but I couldn't get past the location! Santa Teresa is a pretty big neighborhood; Wanderley's house is in upper Santa Teresa, so you are really, really, really far from everything you would want to see in Rio. You can explore Santa Teresa, but you wouldn't want to do it for more than half a day. After that, if you want to go to any of the beaches, or to city center, you would have to figure out how to take a bus (not easy!), or take a cab (expensive, plus cab drivers don't know Santa Teresa that well, so finding your way home at night is an adventure). If you are hungry at night, or just want a bottle of water, you can't just walk out and get something on the corner, because there is nothing around Wanderley's apartment, and it's not safe to wander around in that neighborhood after dark. The other two rental rooms were occupied by two long-term tenants, who didn't go out, but drank beer in the kitchen at night. The host also mostly stayed at home. But as a tourist, I don't see the point of staying at Wanderley's apartment: if you are trying to save money, you are not going to - the rooms are cheaper, but you will spend a lot of money on cabs. If you are interested in seeing a real Rio neighborhood, it's nothing too interesting or charming. Since the host doesn't seem to go out much, you are not going to get some really great tips on what to do, outside of what you would read in your guidebook anyway. You'd be better off spending more money, but staying in Ipanema or Leblon, which is what I did, and I couldn't have been happier to get out of Santa Teresa! But again - if you are staying in other houses, in lower Santa Teresa, you are much closer to shops, cafes, the metro, and the places you'd want to see in Rio, so it may be a completely different experience. This review is just for one particular location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank osinboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

The room was clean and comfortable. Communication with both the hostess and the Cama e Cafe tourist office was effortless (in English), and both were extremely helpful. The house we stayed in was very clean and noise-free. Breakfast was excellent, and we were even offered a breakfast when leaaving at 4am.

We only stayed 3 nights at the beginning of the trip, but they helped us plan and book the rest of the vacation. Even later during our vacaation we received help from the Cama and Cafe office. The did some hotel searches and bookings for us.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maciej v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

I spent a wonderful relaxing time at Fazenda Vista Alegra, a beautiful restored farmhouse and working horse ranch and organic orchard. It is just a 2 hour ride from Rio by bus ($14) or car... suddenly you are in a verdant green paradise of old farms and quaint villages being restored by Brazilians on the leading edge of the ecological/cultural tourism trend. I have a full review with photos of the interiors and exteriors on http://www.flashnomad.com I've written several award-winning interior design books and this farm is inspiring another in the series!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flashnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

We selected this network for an overnight stay as a result of tip displayed in a prominent travel guide. As per instruction we provided a brief list of our requirements and in turn were offered three accommodations from which we could choose one. Since we had requested a room with a fan and private bathroom Birgit's House best selected our needs and we opted for it. Upon arrival we were taken to a room that was obviously occupied by someone else and a bathroom in a hallway undergoing cleaning by a maid. It was obvious that it also was being shared with other people. There were no chairs in the room or on the balcony on which to sit nor was there was no desk or table. We met Birgit later in the evening and she told us that Cama e Cafe had made an error and that the sole suite in her place had been double booked. To compensate she had put us in her bedroom. In the morning we learned that the room that we had booked was occupied by someone who had booked for a week rather than one night.

The Cama e Cafe concept is sound and it has potential in the pricey Rio hotel market. It may have been great operation at one time but something has gone wrong with the management. The website is not being kept up, basic knowledge of tourist services is lacking, and there seems to to be little control over the quality of the services provided by the individual homeowners. When we complained we were simply offered a "sorry". No mention was made of compensation for a lower standard room nor was any attempt made to put us in a room of higher standard in another house.

The operation smells of deceit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tellall30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Arcos Rio Palace Hotel
#121 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#34 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#5 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#7 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Santa Teresa
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique
#49 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cama e Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cama e Cafe

Property: Cama e Cafe
Address: Rua Paschoal Carlos Magno 90 | Largo das Neves, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-290, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cama e Cafe is the fist brazilian bed and breafast network. A special selection of charming houses and apartments in Rio de Janeiro. We have over 100 options in Santa Teresa, Copacabana, Ipanema, Leblon and other neighbourhoods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cama e Cafe Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing