We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming hotel”
Review of Casablanca Koeler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casablanca Koeler
Ranked #11 of 86 Petropolis B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very charming hotel”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Petropolis is a beautiful town, straight out of a storybook.
Hotel Casablanca Koeller is very charming, small and intimate. Perfect location, great service and very friendly staff.
The rooms are all individually decorated, well maintained and clean.
They served a delicious breakfast which was included in the rate.
I cannot wait to go back to the hotel and to Petropolis.

Recommend for business, couple, family, friends or solo travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zephne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    168
    53
    10
    4
See reviews for
72
202
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The location was great for sightseeing. We found the staff to be attentive and helpful. The rooms and grounds were clean, everything was well maintained. The free breakfast was superb and the free wireless internet worked well.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second level of the main building and were impressed with the high degree of mainte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

You can walk to anywhere in the historic center from here. The rooms are very clean and serviceable, but if aesthetics are your thing, wear blindfolds. Friendly staff. An exceptional breakfast (probably, partly because it was Sunday) with the best savory pastries we have eaten. A really good decorator could take this place to another level.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Texascountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lovely small hotel ideally situated about 50 yards from the Cathedral and places of historic and colonial interest. We stayed for one night in the modern annexe just behind the hotel (the main building is old colonial) and had a large and comfortable room overlooking the (empty) pool. As others have commented, wi-fi reception in the annexe is non-existent and I had to sit in the foyer every time I wanted to check email. Breakfast was about the best we had during our three week holiday and we ate far too much as a result. (I am ashamed to say we even had chocolate cake with chocolate sauce one morning!) As well as the more sensible cereals, croissants and toast, there was also the option of hot scrambled eggs.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a short sightseeing trip to Petropolis.

Room Tip: The annexe rooms are good and spacious but if Wi-Fi is an issue, ask to stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martingale54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at the Casablanca Koeler for 6 days. It has a very good location directly by the cathedral in the centre of Petropolis. The breakfast was a continental buffet with a good variety. Fresh fruit, meat, cereals, cakes, fresh juices, etc,...

I would rather call the Casablanca Koeler a Guesthouse than a hotel and whilst the rooms were very clean some things could do with a bit of maintenance, i.e. loose toilet roll holders and sockets.

My room smelled very musty and on the second night, during a strong thunderstorm water came through the ceiling, which I believe was due to a window being open in the room above me. This might have happened before and would explain the smell.

The night porter was very helpful and upgraded me to another larger room, which unfortunately still smelled a bit of "old house", but nowhere near as bad as the first room.

All rooms have Wifi, but the strength depends on where the room is located in relation to reception.

Whilst the staff I met were all very nice and helpful, they unfortunately only speak a few words of English.

Overall, it was good value for the money and I will stay there again next time I am in Petropolis.

Room Tip: Upstairs, away from the roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOCIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Been traveling in Brazil for 7 weeks, and have had some great stays, but this beats them all. Greeted with such friendliness and professionalism. Great location, walking distance to many local sights and Bohemia Brewery, and well stocked grocery store. Great breakfast and fast wifi top it off. Will definitely choose Casablanca Koeler if in Petropolis again. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenjbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petropolis hotels
Hotel Casablanca Imperial
#6 of 26 in Petropolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Grande Hotel Petropolis
#3 of 26 in Petropolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Hotel Solar do Imperio
#2 of 26 in Petropolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Casablanca Center Hotel
Casablanca Center Hotel
#8 of 26 in Petropolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Hotel Petropolis Inn
#17 of 26 in Petropolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Pousada Monte Imperial
#11 of 26 in Petropolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Koeler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Koeler

Property: Casablanca Koeler
Address: Avenida Koeller 61, Petropolis, State of Rio de Janeiro 25685-060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Petropolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Petropolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca Koeler 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casablanca Koeler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Koeler Petropolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing