We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - good value !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca Palace
Ranked #54 of 91 Petropolis B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2012

At first sight the entry - at a busy shopping street - and lobby throws you off a bit. The staff had trouble with English but were friendly enough.
But then a charming, antiquated elevator brings you to the upper floors. The room's interior seemed to be stuck in some bygone era and there hung a tad of the typical musty odor of older not-well-ventilated buildings, but our room was enormous with comfortable enough beds, an adequate bathroom and in a quiet location.

Breakfast was a feast with plenty of choices for every taste and superb coffee.

All in all we were very pleased with our choice of this budget hotel right in the center of town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Genise_VDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 134 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms in the adjacent building were much more of a budget hotel feel thats where my room was located. But the rooms in the main building were lovely the bosses were sent to those rooms. Breakfast was very nice out on the balcony and the staff was very pleasant. We were in Petropolis on a business trip and the hotel was appropriate for that purpose. WIFI worked very well throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Would not recommend as a family location but very highly recommended for business trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachloverA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

On the plus side, Casablanca Palace has a great location on the main pedestrian shopping street in Petropolis and large clean rooms.

Overall though, the place definetly has a budget hotel feel to it - I'm not complaining, it's adequate for it's price bracket, but at the same time, not worth writing home about. The lobby and rooms are comfortable enough, but furnishings are definetly plain. There is no internet service available (and there are not many internet cafes in Petropolis). Breakfast is good, but comes at an additional cost.

I must say that, on the whole, Petropolis was a bit of a letdown. It does have a great natural setting and a couple of good museums, but nightlife in the town was seemingly non-existent. I arrived to a packed town on Saturday afternoon. I was shocked to find that at 10:00 pm, the place seemed to clear out and close up.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonymous1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

It is not Casablanca, nor palace. Main building is quite nice, but the other in far end is rather in bad shape. Unfortunately I had room in that old one. My room was on the top floor, and I was using stairs, I couldn’t trust that elevator! All building smells like in the middle of jungle (moisture). Room however big, with comfortable bed, was old and that smell…
Staff friendly and helpful but thought to talk in English. But for me that’s good opportunity to improve my Portuguese.
I think there are better places to stay in Petropolis, but I heard that rooms in first building are way better , also location is great – so close to main street and most of city attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main building (this with restaurant and lobby)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

close by to everything. nice staff, GREAT breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were visiting Petropolis from Rio (actually we were running away from a horrible hostel in Botafogo), and we're looking for an accommodation for the night.

The Casablanca Palace is not cheap by Brazilian standards, but Petropolis itself is a very expensive (and rich) city. Consider that we went to a pousada and we were asked 20 reais more than this hotel...

Anyway the Palace is a lovely building, full of wood and very elegant.
Our room was clean (and that's a huge issue in Brazil) and very comfortable, with a good bathroom.
The breakfast is served in the lovely dining room upstairs, were you can overlook the Petropolis abbey and the main street. The Palace is also very well located, near the city center and the bus stop for and to Rio, and near to the Petropolis Real Palace.
The hotel has a pool too, but it was too cold to use.

I'm recommending this hotel if you're visiting Petropolis, particularly if you need a break from the Brazilian chaos, and relax in this nice European-like town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glamismac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Janaína M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petropolis hotels
Hotel Casablanca Imperial
#8 of 28 in Petropolis
941 reviews
Hotel Petropolis Inn
#14 of 28 in Petropolis
354 reviews
City Center
Casablanca Center Hotel
Casablanca Center Hotel
#11 of 28 in Petropolis
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Dom Pedro
#63 of 91 in Petropolis
68 reviews
City Center
Hotel Grao Para
Hotel Grao Para
#21 of 91 in Petropolis
285 reviews
City Center
Hotel Orleans
Hotel Orleans
#27 of 91 in Petropolis
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca Palace

Address: Rua Dezesseis de Marco 123, Petropolis, State of Rio de Janeiro 25620-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Petropolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Petropolis
Price Range: $51 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casablanca Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casablanca Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca Palace Petropolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing