We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need remodelling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Park Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Petropolis
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The staff is superfriendly and the outside is pretty. But I have seen B&Bs better maintained. The furniture is old and unpractical. No AC in my room (although they provided me a fan, by request). The restaurant is the most critical piece: average breakfast and untasty food for lunch. The place really screams for remodelling. It is certainly fairly priced, but i don't intend to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lsilva73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 192 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2010

I wanted to see Serra da Dos Orgaos park near Petropolis and there didnt seem to be many hotels in the area, so I thought it better to book a hotel in advance before leaving the US. I didnt know what to expect from this hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. Lots of old artifacts and art work all around this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and spoke enough English for me to communicate.

This was a 'garden-style' hotel, and altho it was an older hotel, it was well maintained. In front of the hotel, there's a little park-like area, and there I saw the biggest pine cones I've ever seen (if that is what they were). My room was comfortable and easily big enough for 1 person and had a TV. No AC that I could find in my room, but didnt really need it since it is in the mountains and not too hot. It had a pool and I think it also had a workout room. The continental breakfast was nice and had a nice selection of items, as I found to be the case in most of the hotels in Brazil. They also served dinner for about 23 Reals more, I think, but I didnt partake.

The hotel was a little hard to find if you dont understand Portuguese, and street signs seemed almost non-existent, so the fact that I knew the road the hotel was on didnt help. I found it by accident after wandering around for a while (a sign on the road indicated the hotel), but after I found out where it was, it was pretty easy to find again. And not much room for parking; only 4-5 'official' spaces, altho there were a few more 'unofficial' ones. But mine was one of only a handful of cars and it wasnt a problem.

That said, I found that the place to stay if you want to see the popular features of Dos Orgaos park (Dedo de Deus, etc.) is in Teresopolis. These are actually a good ways from Petropolis; took me probably the better part of 2 hours to get there. You can see these from the highway traveling from Rio to Teresopolis, so you really dont even have to spend the night up there (altho you might want to as a break from the congestion and heat of Rio in the summertime). But if you also want to see the museums of Petropolis, this hotel is a good, moderate-cost option. My price was 148 Reals, I think, which was about $82. And I just saw a price of $63 on this site.

All things considered, including the money, I'd have to say that (along w the Quality Inn in Curitiba) it was about the best hotel I stayed in in my 9 days in Brazil.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Prisrcsantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank EVANIOJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Manoela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThiagoMetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petropolis hotels
Hotel Petropolis Inn
#18 of 28 in Petropolis
321 reviews
Hotel Casablanca Imperial
#7 of 28 in Petropolis
903 reviews
Hotel Vila Bavaria
#19 of 28 in Petropolis
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel York
Hotel York
#20 of 28 in Petropolis
112 reviews
Quality Hotel Itaipava
#4 of 8 in Itaipava
476 reviews
Grande Hotel Petropolis
#4 of 28 in Petropolis
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Park Hotel

Address: Rua Doutor Hermogenio Silva 522 | Retiro, Petropolis, State of Rio de Janeiro 25715-059, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Petropolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Petropolis
Price Range: $37 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riverside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Park Hotel Petropolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing