We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveler rating
514
85
32
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
514
85
32
4
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 639 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2018

This guest house is a little bit out of the way, but it is easy to reach.
The rooms with a kind of veranda at the entrance are quite comfortable. Me and my husband spent 3 nights and we observed that the staff were very helpful and efficient. The manager, in particular, was very sensible to understand our needs. They make you feel confortable all the time. The place is very clean and tidy. I am happy to recommend Apple House to travelers.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

As part of our honeymoon we have been travelling g round Brazil and Paraty was our final stop. Following on from the great reviews and the fact it has a great offer on we decided to book Apple House. We were not disappointed. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the most helpful people with the biggest smiles. Nobody really spoke any English but somehow it was easy to understand their Portuguese.

Apple House has two swimming pools, one a plunge pool by the River, a waterfall and a sauna from which you can dip straight into the pool, a gym and a bar/restaurant.

The drinks choice in the bar were a little limited (no Diet Coke) but they were happy for us to buy our own from the supermarket to have with dinner. On one of the night's the dinner menu was very limited on choices (the chef looked very stressed) but what we ordered tasted great so we were happy. The breakfast was superb, specially if you like cake for breakfast!

We opted for a room with a river view which was lovely. The finish on the rooms isn't great but that doesn't really matter to us. At the end of the day the shower was warm and had good pressure, the aircon worked and he bed was comfortable.

So why I have i dropped a star? The noise. They are currently building a new block (which look amazing, each with their own plunge pool) but it meant that the noise of construction was going on from 7am until 10pm. That however didn't bother us too much. The noise that kept us up were other guests. On the first night our neighbours stayed up until very late chatting. Not loudly but the noise carries very easily so we could hear every single detail. The worst night though was our last night when different neighbours decided to have a party in the middle of the night that kept us up and then woke up at 6 am and proceeded to sign waking us up again!! I know it's not the hotels fault as to what the guests do but thicker walls would have alleviated a lot of the problems.

On another note it is worth noting that he hotel is 5km from town (about 50$R by taxi). However staff very kindly took us into town and collected us again every day of our stay.

If I return to Paraty I will definitely stay here again as I know I will get the best treatment, I'll just ask for one of the villas that don't have connecting walls!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 726beam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

This little gem is a ways off the beaten track though it only adds to its charm. While this can be a drawback the manager was only too happy to drive my wife and I into Paraty a couple of times which is commendable. The staff were lovely and went out of their way to make us feel very welcome although not speaking Portuguese. The entire complex was always clean and the pools a great place to cool off. Don't come expecting five stars but certainly come expecting a great stay. Happily recommend Apple House to travelers

Date of stay: December 2016
1  Thank Jutty_420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2016 via mobile

Overall we were very satisfied with our stay at Apple House. The service from all personal we were in contact during our stay was great. And the service is what stand out in the place.

I first booked the "triple delux with pool view" for our family (a couple and a child). The room was good, but could see the other room options could have been a better option for a family. The staff were very helpful and accommodating to show us off the other options and a quotation for us to upgrade for a bigger place.

We ended up staying in a ground apartment with 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, kitchen, living room and a small terrace. One bedroom with swimming pool view and the other with the river view.

Once the place is quite new, we have few comments that might help to improve for future guests.

We were missing:
- A place to dry your wet clothes
- More pressure in the water for shower head
- Hangers for towels in the bathroom
- A small side table and a reading lamp in the bedrooms
- Mirror in both bedrooms
- A cabinet or hangers in both bedrooms (was available in only one of them).

As in the other reviews, there is two factors you just need to live with them:

1- mosquitos (but they are everywhere in Paraty).
2- the distance to downtown (and a small drive through a dirty path).

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 697alinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed today
Google Translation

Room tip: Suíte presidencial! Sensacional com a piscina privativa!!!!
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews