We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bit yucky!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Sereia do Mar
Ranked #64 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place gives me the shivers everytime i think about it! We were given a private room in the back of a huge dorm. We payed a silly amount of money for this cramped dark room. The dorm outside smelled like wee! I am pretty sure somebody just had a wee in the middle of the room. We had to share one disgusting toilet. They had cleaned before we arrived but the forgot about the shower walls. It was caked with black hair. I felt so ill that i just refused to have a shower there. The kitchen was manky. The day we stayed there the restaurant was closed, everybody had the day off! The hot tub in the middle of the place looked as if it hadnt been cleaned in months.
I will say one very positive thing though, the staff were excellent! they were really friendly, really helpful - that is, when they were there, but apart from that - yuck - stay away!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgrange2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 182 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

After reading reviews we thought this would be a great hostel to stay in however we were a little disappointed. The website makes it out to be a lot nicer than it actually is. We stayed in a 10 bed mixed dorm - it was meant to be air conditioned but it was only at one end of the room so our end was very hot. There was no air flow and the fan did not work, the room was very dark too and my bed was very thin and uncomfy. The bathroom was the worse - I dont think it was cleaned throughout our 4 night stay and it smelt very bad of urine. We ended up using the toilets opposite our room which are actually for the bar as ours were just disgusting.
The workers were also staying in our room which meant, although they were very friendly, it was not as social as we had hoped. They also took up a lot of the room - there were no pegs for us to use in the bathroom as all their things were on them.
The food was good and we found it was the cheapest along the beach stretch. The breakfast is nice with a big choice, however you need to get there early to get the best choice!
Kayaks which are said to be free for the first 1/2 hour on the website are not - we got charged for this,
Paraty is really pretty and nice to walk around, we went on a boat trip which was fun and pretty, not much to see snorkelling though!
Overall, I wouldnt say this place was horrendous to stay at, it just needs some improvements but I certainly wouldnt rush to stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Unfortunately I have nothing positive to say about this place. I found it to be disorganized and dirty, which gives it a very low price/quality rating.
The staff was not helpful nor friendly. It seemed as they were also on vacation and did not want to be bothered - although the price was high enough to expect to be treated as customers.
The internet was also never working.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterJLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

There is nothing bad I could possibly say about this hostel. My girlfriend and I initially were going to stay for 3 days or so, we ended up here for just over a week. The staff are second to none, they were incredibly helpful, the setting and the hostel itself were out of this world. Very clean, amazing breakfast.... the list of good things is honestly endless. Live music on some nights was a nice touch, decent prices on Caipirinhas. Even though it rained 95% of the time we were there, we left super sad to be leaving such a welcoming hostel, but we were super relaxed. An amazing place, truly spectacular service...highly memorable. A big thanks to Atus, Pepe and everybody.

Room Tip: Doesnt really manage which room, the dorms (even 10 bed dorms) are split up, 4 beds then a little di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had a great time staying at this hostel, although arrived as part of a Topdeck tour, it was probably my favorite hostel that Is stayed in on the trip, it was a bit out of season, but the staff were MORE then friendly and made a big effort to make our stay a lot of fun, with a great boat trip with lots of Caprinihas. The Pizzas very yummy, and in general can not fault the hostel. Would definitely like to go back and see it in full season, and spend more time there on my own rather then in a group... Although a little walk from town, the area is so nice, it really doesn't make much difference, and then the bonus you are right on beach front. The management clearly care about the hostel and have been running it for a few years now. Wish them all the best! Very happy memories. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The staff is great- friendly and each speaks multiple languages- but this is one of the only great things about this hostel. It is hard to outweigh being eaten alive by mosquitoes in the rooms with the good service. The rooms and bathrooms have NO ventilation- our fan was broken. The dark paneled wood mixed with black floors were not exactly a great way to detract mosquitoes... so we were pretty much screwed even with bug spray. The lack of ventilation from the shower and lu areas didn't help- every shower added more moisture to the room.
We wanted to cook dinner in the kitchen but the sponge was super old, so it was really hard to feel that the plates were clean- even though we cleaned the dishes before and after we ate.
Location is pretty good- right near the beach and outside of the city center- about a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

It’s a little way out of town, around a ten minute walk from the centre. This is not too much of an issue, as the beachfront location is great – there’s plenty of bars, restuarants etc nearby.
The hostel itself has a bar and restaurant that actually feels like a proper bar, not just something that’s been added to a hostel. The bar is fairly reasonably priced – it’s not cheap, but it’s no more expensive than what you will pay in local restaurants. The food is also good – they have an all you can eat pizza option for 20 reais, which is a great deal if you’re hungry!
The dorms themselves are fairly nice, though they are a little cramped (especially if everyone has a large bag). There is lockable underbed storage for all of the beds, but this can only fit small bags. Each dorm also has fans, air con and automatic mosquito aerosols (very useful!)
Bathrooms are inside the dorms and are all very clean and spacious. The showers seem to have an endless supply of hot water. One disadvantage with the bathrooms is that the bath, shower, sinks etc are all in the same room (so, if someone is using the shower, no one else can use the toilet). This isn’t too much of an issue when it’s quiet, but could be a pain in the high season.
There is reliable, fast wifi throughout the building, plus a couple of computers in the bar for everyone to use. There’s not a lot of plug sockets in the dorms, but plenty in the bar if you need to charge anything. There is a TV and DVD player in the upper part of the bar, as well as a wide selection of board games and books.
There is a kitchen, but it’s fairly small and not very well equipped. It’s perfect for cooking a few simple things, but that’s about it.
The hostel has a free pickup service from the bus station if you give them a call when you arrive. They also rent out kayaks for the beach – the first half hour is free to all guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.2 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chill Inn Paraty Hostel & Pousada
1.0 mi away
Pousada Vitoria
Pousada Vitoria
#43 of 306 in Paraty
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Geko Hostel Paraty
Geko Hostel Paraty
#13 of 275 in Paraty
302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Paraty
0.7 mi away
Conchas de Paraty Pousada
Conchas de Paraty Pousada
#119 of 306 in Paraty
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sereia do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sereia do Mar

Address: Av. Jabaquara 33, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Price Range: $11 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Sereia do Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the seafront, the Sereia do Mar is a unique place in a fascinating scenario: the Jabaquara Bay, a beach of calm waters and unique horizon, just a few minutes walk from the historic center of Paraty. Enjoy a full and tasty breakfast when you wake up, get close to an island in one of our kayaks, dance along during our live shows, try our delicious pizzas and caipirinhas ... these are just some of the great things that await you when you stay with us. All in a familiar and contagiously cheerful atmosphere with a staff that loves Paraty and enjoys to provide you an unforgettable vacation! Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian. Guests under 18 permitted only in private rooms(unless an entire dorm is rented). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hostel Sereia do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Sereia Do Mar Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing