We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is as good as everyone says!”
Review of Vivenda Paraty

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paraty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vivenda Paraty
Ranked #2 of 298 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It really is as good as everyone says!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I found this pousada here on TripAdvisor. Read the reviews, saw the photos, but wasn't sure if it would be as nice as everyone said. And yes, it was that nice! The place is impeccably kept -- everything is white or off-white and it looks brand new. We stayed 2 nights and my biggest regret of our 3 week trip to Brazil is that we didn't spend more time in Paraty, and specifically at this beautiful pousada. It was a slice of heaven. John is friendly and outgoing and makes you feel like a special guest in his home. Although he sees hundreds of guests a year, you would never know it -- he acts like you are the first and only one. It rained while we were in Paraty but that didn't stop us from enjoying the area. John gave great recommendations on places to go and restaurants to eat at. We really could have spent 4 or 5 days there and been THRILLED. Thank you John for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrym78218849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
326
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tartu
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

John is running a very nice, beautifully designed and homy enterprise in Paraty. It is small enough for him to manage it without major visible effort and offer all the guests with as much personal attention as they ask for.
A pool, great breakfast (home made yoghurt, mmm), the collection of DVDs for rainy days, caipirinhas upon request, hammock just outside your room and a nice, healthy 15 minute walk from the centre to Vivenda are all exactly what we were looking for. Plus clean, white, but not sterile rooms made us really enjoy our 8 days stay at Vivenda.
In addition John really does take time to give you his advice and recommendations about topics of your interest, be it dining or beaches around Paraty. Plus he is a really interesting guy to talk about Brazil and Brasilians in general, if you haven't learnt all about the country at home already, as he has been living there for about 30 years.
Strongly recommended, if you are interested in spending your money on accommodation without drawbacks.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and ask for bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sille T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

John Hudson and the Vivenda B&B, it's a unique experience. Once in a great while you come across a magical place. This indeed was indicative of my recent stay at the Vivenda B&B. Both
the host and the accommodations were above and beyond my expectations. John is someone
who truly enjoys what he does. It's hard to discern whether your a guest or a family friend. For those who want their stay in Paraty to be phenomenal, I truly recommend the Vivenda.

Room Tip: By all means, go for the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond-M62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Vivenda was a perfect stay while in Paraty. This was our first experience of traveling in Brazil and we were so impressed with this place we didn't want to leave! It was comfortable, clean, and the most delicious breakfast served each morning. But what made it perfect, was the owner John. He was so helpful in all our questions about restaurants, booking tours, and recommending places for our other travels in Brazil. His enthusiasm was a nice way to greet each day as a traveler and we missed him after we left. We rented the 2 bungalows as we were traveling with our adult son and we were the only guests so it was private and restful to come back to the pool after a full day of sightseeing around Paraty. We felt so relieved to be outside of town where it was quiet and relaxing. If you like the feeling of a home away from home, this is number one in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkland, WA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We made reservations for two nights based on Trip Advisor ratings. Wish we could have stayed longer.
We were made to feel welcome. Given lots of information, recommendations and maps. The bungalow was beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful. John has paid careful attention to every detail. It is clean, bright and peaceful. If you like plants, you'll love the gardens. What can we add to all the other reviews. You just have to try Vivenda.

Room Tip: We loved the space of the bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingflemings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you go to Paraty, you must stay here. Nothing else comes close. I have now been several times to the expensive inns in the Historic Center. While the novelty of staying in an old building along with the convenience of location have their benefits, the prices are absolutely ridiculous. Meanwhile, just a short walk (right over the bridge – Paraty is very small) from the Center you can find this true paradise, with the luxury of the other hotels, but with an intimacy that no other place will offer you. With only 2 bungalows and 1 room connected to the main house, you will always feel like you have the whole place to yourself. The host’s care and attention to detail can be found all throughout the meticulously kept landscaping, the perfectly decorated rooms, and the breakfast that will make you feel like English royalty. He answered all of our questions, helped us make tour reservations and kept us completely satisfied. However, at the same time, he gave us plenty of space and was never intrusive. Skip the “experience” of staying in an old, colonial house, and pick this private oasis for you next trip to Paraty.

Room Tip: We rented out the two bungalows, which are more private and have much more space than the 1 room con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place is amazing. Beautifully maintained, Jon is so helpful and friendly, the staff prepare a beautiful and delicious breakfast, the rooms are immaculately cleaned, and the location is perfect.
By far best place we stayed in Brazil.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glur21215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
508 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
352 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
544 reviews
Maris Paraty
#1 of 298 in Paraty
272 reviews
Eliconial
#4 of 298 in Paraty
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivenda Paraty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivenda Paraty

Property: Vivenda Paraty
Address: Rua Beija Flor 9 | Cabore, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GUEST HOUSE Vivenda is situated in a quiet redidential neighbourhood and only a 10-15 munute walk along the riverside to the old town, or 5 minutes by car. Although not in the historical centre of Paraty, this has its advantages if you're looking for somewhere peaceful to relax. Our guest house is small and exclusive with only 2 double bungalows and a double suite, each facing the swimmimng pool and surrounded by a lush tropical garden,allowing the maximum in comfort and privacy. As a result we do not accept children as we feel they need more space to run around and enjoy themselves. Each room is light,comfortable and decorated with examples of local Brazilian crafts and folk art. the result is a rustic-chic style with exuberant tropical touches. To help you feel even more at home we have provided you with a collection of over 350 DVD'S to choose from as well as paperbacks, art books on Paraty and magazines to read while lounging on your veranda or by the pool. there is also free WiFi access. Our bungalows for a maximum of 2 guests, are spacious and very comfortable. Each covers an area of 42 sq meters including the veranda, facing the swimming pool and surrounded by the garden. They are equipped with a spring box King size bed or two singles if necessary, AC, ceiling fan, TV LCD, DVD player, hairdryer, Eco amenities by Natura, bath robes, a small living room area with armchairs and table. There is also a small kitchen area fully equipped with cutlery,crockery, a coffee maker, toaster and fridge for preparing snacks and salads that don't require cooking facilities. Breakfast is served on your own veranada every morning where you'll also find a hammock and wicker armachairs for relaxing. The suite also facing the pool, is attached to the main house with its own private entrance,full use of the veranda with hammock, wicker armchairs and where your breakfast is served every morning. Equipped with a spring box Queen size bed, en-suite bathroom, AC, ceiling fan,TV LCD, DVD player, hairdryer, Eco amenities by Natura and bath robes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vivenda Paraty Hotel Paraty
Vivenda Paraty Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing