We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect stay! Beautiful pousada!”
Review of Vivenda Paraty

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paraty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vivenda Paraty
Ranked #2 of 296 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect stay! Beautiful pousada!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a truly great stay at John's Vivenda paraty. The pousada is very tastefully decorated. Everything was arranged beautifully. The breakfast was tasty and sufficient. The pousada itself is in a good location, walking distance to the old center. John is also a great host. He was very hands-on, super friendly, and always willing to answer questions. He made our stay all that more great.

I would not hesitate to recommend Vivenda to travelers. It's truly a gem of a place! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singmearainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
323
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went on a trip to Paraty while in Brazil. Based on reviews on trip advisor we decided to stay at Vivenda and we were very happy that we did. John was an amazing host and he made our trip a huge success.
We experienced some rainy weather while in town and that did not slow us down at all, as John had a huge selection of movies and a wide variety of activities in town to suggest. We had an amazing breakfast waiting for us every morning and John also made a great caipirinha!
We highly suggest a trip to Paraty and if you go.... Stay at Vivenda! Great place with a great owner!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dchap43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Although my home is not as beautiful as John's and I need to improve my breakfast menu for my husband as the breakfasts here are beautifully served and are truly delicious. John is the most fantastic host and I cannot recommend this place enough for people coming to Parati. Enjoy it xx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hettie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Can't say enough about this beautiful place. My husband and I drove from Sao Paulo and took 2 hours to drive the last 15 kilometers (don't take the RJ-165. It looks like a road, but only on a map.) We cound't have asked for a host more welcoming than John or a room as immaculate and inviting as our bungalow. It is better than the pictures. Every morning a lovely set table and beautiful full breakfast appeared on our porch. And there are nap-worthy hammocks hung outside of every room. We were 2 minutes from an excellent brick oven pizza place and 10 minutes walking from the colonial center... which meant we were close enough to walk, but in a quieter part of town at night. Our bread landed butter-side up when we found Vivenda. Cannot imagine how it could have been better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hostagedwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This pousada is beautiful, with a personal, intimate feel. It was exactly as expected based on TripAdvisor reviews and as expected based on the price paid.

Positives:
The room was beautifully decorated, all white with white painted wooden ceiling. Wardrobe space was perfect for two people. The bathroom was beautifully decorated with lovely shower and water pressure. Breakfast was served daily on the patio and included a delicious selection of fruits, breads, cakes, fresh juice, eggs and natural yoghurt. The owner, John, was a brilliant host who made us feel very looked after - he arranged a boat trip for us and one night when we got caught in a thunderstorm he arranged for a pizza to be delivered to our room and provided us with DVDs. He also provided great recommendations for lunch and dinner. He checked our breakfast requirements every morning and was generally fabulous and friendly. After staying in two hotels in Rio that did not meet our expectations, this was the perfect remedy and really did make my holiday!

Negative
The only negative was the sound of the air-con - but I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenApple85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Wonderfull place to stay and much more....John the owner will take care of everythinks you need you want.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claude o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This immaculate yet homely accommodation is stunning. It's very tastefully decorated to a very high standard and the 3 bungalows overlook a clean swimming pool. There are loungers too and umbrellas - again, very stylish and tasteful. The bungalow is gorgeous - very comfortable, spacious and clean. Air con, air fans too, fridge, hob, arm chairs, dining table. Quiet and peaceful. The owner is super friendly and helpful and his suggestions were spot on - he made us feel very welcome - it was the perfect end to a perfect holiday in a perfect accommodation. I must also mention the breakfast which is superb - it's brought to your veranda so that when you wake up, open your shutters and signal that you're hungry a lovely maid comes over with a giant tray of delicious breakfast. I cannot rate this highly enough. Go!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
502 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
485 reviews
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Condessa
#7 of 28 in Paraty
328 reviews
Maris Paraty
#1 of 296 in Paraty
270 reviews
Eliconial
#4 of 296 in Paraty
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivenda Paraty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivenda Paraty

Property: Vivenda Paraty
Address: Rua Beija Flor 9 | Cabore, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GUEST HOUSE Vivenda is situated in a quiet redidential neighbourhood and only a 10-15 munute walk along the riverside to the old town, or 5 minutes by car. Although not in the historical centre of Paraty, this has its advantages if you're looking for somewhere peaceful to relax. Our guest house is small and exclusive with only 2 double bungalows and a double suite, each facing the swimmimng pool and surrounded by a lush tropical garden,allowing the maximum in comfort and privacy. As a result we do not accept children as we feel they need more space to run around and enjoy themselves. Each room is light,comfortable and decorated with examples of local Brazilian crafts and folk art. the result is a rustic-chic style with exuberant tropical touches. To help you feel even more at home we have provided you with a collection of over 350 DVD'S to choose from as well as paperbacks, art books on Paraty and magazines to read while lounging on your veranda or by the pool. there is also free WiFi access. Our bungalows for a maximum of 2 guests, are spacious and very comfortable. Each covers an area of 42 sq meters including the veranda, facing the swimming pool and surrounded by the garden. They are equipped with a spring box King size bed or two singles if necessary, AC, ceiling fan, TV LCD, DVD player, hairdryer, Eco amenities by Natura, bath robes, a small living room area with armchairs and table. There is also a small kitchen area fully equipped with cutlery,crockery, a coffee maker, toaster and fridge for preparing snacks and salads that don't require cooking facilities. Breakfast is served on your own veranada every morning where you'll also find a hammock and wicker armachairs for relaxing. The suite also facing the pool, is attached to the main house with its own private entrance,full use of the veranda with hammock, wicker armchairs and where your breakfast is served every morning. Equipped with a spring box Queen size bed, en-suite bathroom, AC, ceiling fan,TV LCD, DVD player, hairdryer, Eco amenities by Natura and bath robes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vivenda Paraty Hotel Paraty
Vivenda Paraty Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing