We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best, can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pousada Guarana
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just the best, can't wait to return!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really a lovely hotel. Tastefully decorated, amazing breakfast and first class service. We were directed to the best of Paraty, from the boat tour we took to the restuarants and bars. So special this place is and Paraty is a must. We will be back as soon as we can. Thank you to David and Gemina for making it so special.

Room Tip: Room 12 was so quaint and cozy. We had a little cat come and visit our porch every morning to say h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    43
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
249
34
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. Love it so much, I returned. The owners and staff are friendly and hospitable. The decor throughout create and environment which allows guests the relax and enjoy their stay.
I would return again and again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyB380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

A true home away from home! David and Jimena were the best hosts, and were very helpful in providing us with restaurant recommendations, transfers, etc. Breakfast was wonderful, served poolside. House is decorated with great taste.

Our room was rather basic but comfortable (good bed!) and clean. We had a superior room with a private garden, but never sat in that garden (it's fairly small anyway) so I would take the basic room next time.

The place may not be in the old town centre (20 min walk away), but I didn't mind at all, especially since we could use bikes to get over there.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are fine, only difference is that they don't have the private garden (which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krommes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Pousada Guarana on our recent holiday in Brazil. This was definitely the best place we stayed, and the best value for money.

The Pousada itself is beautifully designed with a lovely pool, gardens and communal areas. The owners re-home Paraty's stray cats and dogs so there are always lots of animals wandering around, which we loved, being dog lovers. It was nice to sit by the pool reading my book with a cat on my lap! Our room (superior room) was great too - spacious with a private garden area and hammock. There is also a dvd player in the room and an extensive dvd library to choose from (we enjoyed watching Searching for Sugarman).

The hosts, David and Jimena, were also great, as well as the other staff who work there. David helped us plan our days including booking boat trips and providing restaurant recomendations.

A great experience!

Oh, and the breakfasts were delicious as well!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room for a private garden area and hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgillybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were just sad to pass threw this place (just 2 nights) without having the right time to enjoy enough this place!
We weren't sure if it was good at first to be ``out of the central historic spot`` but it did finally-so calm, peaceful, tastefully decorated. It felt like at was at the spa all the time (with the softly music in the backgroungs). And for us, the cats and dogs were ``a plus`` because we love animals...
The owners, very very kind, helpful anf full of stories.
No regrets, we suggest strongely!
P.S. Borrow the bikes, way more fun (and faster of course because the pousada is a bite outside!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superdo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this pousada - the hosts were genuinely focused on ensuring every detail of our stay was perfect and took such effort to make sure everything from the interiors to the breakfasts (amazing!) to making sure we had details on where to eat in town / how to take the tour boat around the islands etc were taken care of. Even to the point that when we needed to get the bus to the next town they offered to take us to the station! Extremely kind and genuine people who know how to make sure you have a relaxing trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights ( we extended as it was so nice ), the breakfast was awesome, the pool super clean, the beautiful rooms really large and comfortable and the owners really friendly. David gave us loads of tips and suggestions and they were all great (the next town we stayed we would never have seen if it wasn't for him). Thanks a lot and happy to see you're a tripadvisor winner you deserve it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moni_foto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.3 mi away
Pousada do Ouro
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chale Recanto da Praia
Chale Recanto da Praia
#9 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pousada Caminho do Ouro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pousada do Sandi
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#8 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pousada Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pousada Guarana

Property: Hotel Pousada Guarana
Address: Rua 5 13 | Portal de Paraty, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paraty
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
#2 Spa Hotel in Paraty
#5 Family Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pousada Guarana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Guarana a place of quiet and beauty For the past ten years we have tried to create a place for traveler's to get away from the hustle of daily life, or a place to relax and recharge after traveling through the big cities of Sao Paulo or Rio de Janeiro. Our hotel caters perfectly for small groups of friends, honeymooners, or couple's getaway. Here you will find quiet corners to chat or relax surrounded by lush gardens and hummingbirds sipping flower to flower. There will likely be a furry friend to keep you company as well should you desire. We want our guests to have the best experience possible. From beaches to waterfalls, fine dining to outdoor adventure, we can help you to the best our lovely town has to offer. Your hosts, David & Jimena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Pousada Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Guarana Paraty
Pousada Guarana Hotel Paraty
Hotel Pousada Guarana Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing