We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite, but close to the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Villa del Sol
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quite, but close to the centre”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice posada at a quite place, but in walking distance to the town.
We had a superior room with a bedroom an a separate living room. The furniture is simple, but the room satisfied our needs. The living room had a sofa, 2 arm chairs, 2 tables and some chairs. It even had a large fridge where we could store some fruit.
The pool area is beautiful and is surrounded by a tropical garden.
Breakfast is quite good, offering fruit, several home made cakes, cereals, eggs, yoghurt, etc.
A baby cot for our child was set up in our room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank thomo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    134
    59
    14
    10
See reviews for
87
85
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I'm confused by some of the reviews. I'm staying here now and the room is large with a separate sitting room. Over looking lovely vegetation. The pool is great. It's only a short walk to the old town yet it's quiet and out of the way.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Near the historic center, this is a pleasant place.
Rooms are very small but clean and comfortable.
Breakfast (brazilian style, included), ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edson_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

Luckily for us we only stayed one night in this pousada.Very very small rooms,just a bed, not even a chair.The airco makes an awful loud sound.
The so-called bathroom is very tiny,the shower is too high to reach.No hairdryer.
The persons at the reception are unfriendly and unhelpful.
There is no safe deposit.
The staff at the bar don't understand a word of English,Spanish,French,German.Yes we tried al these languages, we even used our hands and feet to explain and we showed him a small book"how to explain in Portuguese"but nothing worked!!!NO COMPRENDO
If you order a cold and a hot sandwich-don't even bother-they're both cold.
Small swimming pool with lots of chairs.
The breakfast room is quite nice,even cosy.Buffet is okay.
If you want to have a wake up call-don't trust the reception-they forget!!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the hotel
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank boneyardbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.8 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#7 of 28 in Paraty
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chale Recanto da Praia
Chale Recanto da Praia
#9 of 28 in Paraty
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pousada Villa del Rey
Pousada Villa del Rey
#22 of 28 in Paraty
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada do Sandi
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Villa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Villa del Sol

Property: Pousada Villa del Sol
Address: Rua da Floresta, 301 | Parque Imperial, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil (Formerly Othon Pousada Villa Del Sol Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Villa del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pousada Villa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Paraty
Paraty Sol Hotel
Pousada Villa Del Sol Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing