We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and charming”
Review of Pousada do Sandi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada do Sandi
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Beautifully decorated, nicely maintained, centrally located and comfortable. Breakfast room bright and cheery, great assortment of melon and fresh fruit, delicious pastry and good coffee. Extremely cordial and helpful front desk, very knowledgeable and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 533 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

My wife and I, together with a couple from London, took five hours to drive from Rio to Paraty. The main road is still being repaired because of the torrential rains early in the year which cause numerous mud slides. Still, this tortuous journey, ended with our arrival in a magical place called Pousada do Sandi, right in the center of Paraty. This hotel is in an old colonial house which has been decorated with style and charm. This is the second time we stayed there. But this time we took some friends who also thoroughly enjoyed it. The breakfast was very good and the omelette was as good as the one from two years ago !! I would strongly recommend this place for someone looking for peace and for enjoyment of good taste art. The place is full of beautiful works of art to be admired !!
Some areas the hotel (ceilings) will need a coat of paint soon, but it is still beautiful. The only thing I do not like about Paraty is that they add a charge to your bill, to cover the live music in some places. One has to pay it even if one doesn't like the music !!
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They have their own car park which is a definite plus. There was a photographic convention when we were there and the town was full of
happy young people having caipirinhas and exchanging artistic views ( I think).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carioca15001906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Pousada do Sandi is in the perfect location in a picture perfect vilage. The old town of Paraty is an 18th century town that from the outside has changed very little. The pousada is in the heart of the old town a very short wlk from the sea.
The building is interesting and different, the public rooms are large, the pool area very attractive.
However, there is something lacking. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool with good views but it was in need of a coat of paint.
There seemed to be loads of staff walking around the place but they never seemed to be there when you wanted them. For example it took a long time to get a drink.
Only a few of the staff seemed particularly friendly and it wasn't just a language problem as we stayed in other hotels where they didn't speak much English but who were much more friendly.
We enjoyed our stay but given the location and the raw building it could be so much better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THFC1882Epsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed there with a large group for 2 nights and I have to say that we had a blast. Our room had a small balcony facing the pool area which I strongly recommend since it's more quiet. The rooms were nothing spectacular, but it's what you expect in a small posada in Brazil. Breakfast was good. The pool is a bit small but we only spent a few minutes there (after all, in Paraty you better be on a boat!).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpacanins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Whether you like Pousada do Sandi or not is very much a matter of personal taste. For me, especialy after a beautiful boutique hotel in Rio it felt cluttered, kitsch and a little faded.It had been described as THE hotel in Paraty and I didn't feel it lived up to this billing. The best thing about it is the central location in the heart of the old town which was perfect for us as we were there at New Years Eve (or would have been if it hadn't rained non stop for 2 days and flooded all the streets - maybe that has coloured my view). And credit where due they put on a fabulous New Years eve with free champagne most of the evening(included in our very expensive New Year package). There is a nice enough pool but only a couple of loungers and brollies and very cluttered with kitsch statues and foliage. The bar has a naff nautical theme and one evening we came back before midnight to be told the bar was closed. Nice enough buffet beakfast in a dining room tucked away and a bit cluttered. Bedrooms OK but damp patches on the walls and gloomy bathrooms. And previous reviews about noise are so right - I am not fussy about noise and always take ear plugs but was woken 2 nights (not New Years Eve !) with shouting and yelling in the street outside. Paraty is worth seeing, but I suggst only a couple of days and have a look around for a more authentic, better value and quieter Pousada.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jettyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

The Pousada is very nice, the bells of the church did not bother at all !!
Great staff, very helpul and nice. they even knew what our favourite drinks were after the first night. =)
The only thing that troubled me was the owner of the pousada. Not very welcoming for a person who deals with guest every day.
Totally recommend the pousada, cause no bad humored person should ruin your vacations!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_Pipkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This hotel is AMAZING. It is ideally located in the nicest town we have ever visited in the whole world. Beautifully decorated pousada, fantastic staff, lovely breakfasts, great pool. The barman makes the best Caipirinhas ever, he taught my husband how to make them and was just the nicest guy. Maurice (think he must be the owner) was also so helpful, charming, funny, spoke fantastic English, gave us a free room upgrade for our honeymoon, recommended so many things to do, restaurants etc. I cannot speak highly enough of the place. We honestly didn't want to leave - we could have stayed forever and wish we could go back - only wish it wasn't so far away!!

As a town, Paraty is an absolute must - it is a hidden gem and a lovely sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of Rio. Lovely shops, restaurants, boat trips, it is so pretty and so charming. It honestly made our honeymoon.

If anyone is thinking of going then I would say definitely DEFINITELY do!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamsmugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
566 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
517 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
342 reviews
Pousada Villa del Sol
#22 of 28 in Paraty
281 reviews
Resort Croce del Sud
#7 of 28 in Paraty
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Sandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Sandi

Address: Largo do Rosario 01, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Paraty
Price Range: $135 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pousada do Sandi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is impossible to think of the historical center of Paraty without mentioning Pousada do Sandi, or Sandi's Lodge. Located in one of the most important historical building sites in Paraty, Pousada do Sandi is a reference in town. Known worldwide for its rich colonial architecture, Paraty's historical center is remarkable. The building that shelters Pousada do Sandi is a city picture postcard. We offer our guests: Sauna, Captain's bar (Pub), Game room, Cable TV and 300 titles of DVDs, Business center, Breakfast, Room Service, Private Parking, SPA All our rooms have conditioned air, telephone, TV, video, safe, minibar, private bathroom, the double beds are king-size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pousada do Sandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Sandi Paraty, Brazil
Pousada Do Sandi Hotel Paraty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing