We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit in Brazil” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bossa Nova Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bossa Nova Hostel
Ranked #32 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must visit in Brazil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here for a week and it wasn't long enough. The hostel was clean, comfy and in a central location so you could walk everywhere you need. But the BEST thing about this hostel is it's owner and host Alan. No only will he greet you with a friendly smile but he will give you all the information and advice you will EVER need to make the most out of your stay. He took us to the most beauriful beaches and simply picturesque waterfalls and made our trip completly unforgettable. This is a must visit hostel for anyone visiting Brazil :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendanhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
18
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights but wished it was longer! The hostel is 10mins walking distance from town with access to a big supermarket around the corner. Rooms, kitchen facilities and communal area was great. Easy to meet other travellers and hit the beaches together!
Alan, the hostel owner was awesome! Anything you needed to know and more. Super friendly and helpful!
Recommended for anyone!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ashton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good: The owner Alan is a very nice guy and had a lot of helpful advice for our many questions, including where to get buses from and which beaches to visit. He had set up a projector in the lounge to watch all the Football World Cup matches which was awesome. The breakfast each day was fresh and delicious. It is located right next to a large market and 1 block from the bus stop to catch the bus to nearby beaches.

Bad: The bathroom in our room was very poor as the toilet leaked water 24/7, and as a result the floor was always wet, and this water would get trekked through to the bedroom. Prices had doubled for the World Cup period, which is understandable, but for the increased price, the value of some services provided wasn't really acceptable: the wifi worked less than 50% of the time, and we were told that our cooking used too much gas. When we left Paraty we saw a sign at the bus terminal for the hostel stating that there was free pickup, but this service was not offered to us, and would have been especially helpful as we arrived at 11pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to Reception as possible to try connect to the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossa N, Proprietário at Bossa Nova Hostel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello, why didnt you let us know you didnt figure out how to flush our toilet? It wasnt broken. You were keeping it flushing because you didnt know how to use it. Next time just let us know. You were here during a holiday in Brazil and its why our prices were higher than usual. The whole country had higher prices for this holiday. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- Nice host who spoke good english
- Cheap

Cons:
- Very basic
- Room dirty if i have to be honest
- Quite a long walk to the historical town
- breakfast poor

Overall, I would not stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Esben U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossa N, Proprietário at Bossa Nova Hostel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for your visit, we are known as the most clean hostel in Paraty. Please check most of our others reviews to realize about it. Im sorry for your impression. You should be let us know if something wasnt as you wished. We would be solve it. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent 8 days in paraty, so we were in that hostel for a long time and i can say without a doubt- this is one of the top hostels i ever been at. Excellent location: just 2 minutes from the supermarket and the bus station & 10 minutes from the old city, clean rooms & kitchen, the b-e-s-t staff who always there to help with every question.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank אורי ל
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were meant to stay here for 3 nights but extended our stay for another 2 nights as we liked it so much. It is relatively new as it has only been open for 2 summers! It is very clean and the staff are great. It is very affordable and you get a good breakfast. The owner is really lovely . He even drove my friend and I to the waterfalls on his day off! It is a quiet and relaxed atmosphere and a short walk to the historical centre. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I chose this hostel based on reviews and I can confirm it is one the of friendliest places i have stayed in. Overall quality is great, one needs to walk for 10-15 min to get into the downtown but such exercise only improves health. It is a good place to relax, even when it's busy it can still be relaxing. The staff are absolutely fantastic, which makes a big difference to one's travel experience.
I also recommend to stay for more than a couple of days and over the weekend. Rushing your way through Paraty will cause you miss out on a lot. I already have planned to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichalGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Vibe Hostel
#26 of 232 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Aloha Hostel Paraty
#53 of 232 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hostel Recanto Azul
Hostel Recanto Azul
#77 of 232 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Geko Hostel Paraty
#21 of 232 in Paraty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bossa Nova Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bossa Nova Hostel

Property: Bossa Nova Hostel
Address: Rua Geraldo Antunes Vasconcelos 33, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 232 Specialty Lodging in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bossa Nova Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bossa Nova Hostel you will get the full Brazilian experience, Samba with feijoada, traditional barbacues and forro show's are just some of the events we can provide underneath our beautiful avocado tree. The Bossa Nova Hostel's main goal, to be the meeting point of people around the world who want to learn about Brazilian culture and also the wonderful and historical Paraty. We offer free WiFi for our guests to remain connected, a very well equipped kitchen, hot showers, private bathrooms in all rooms, terrace with a beautiful view of the city, a bar, bike rental, PS3, guitar and percussion, and great breakfast in our cozy garden. The Bossa Nova Hostel is located 200 meters from Roberto Silveira Av., the main street in Paraty, and 100 meters from the biggest supermarket, a variety of bars, restaurants, convenience stores and a the local shopping street. The hostel is set within a charming neighborhood of Paraty, and is only a 15 minute walk from the historical center and 10 minutes from the bus station. Bossa Nova Hostel Policies and Conditions: Check in from 11:00. Check out before 13:00. Cancellation policy: 72 hours before arrival. Payment upon arrival by cash, credit cards, debit cards. This property may pre-authorize your credit card before arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bossa Nova Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bossa Nova Hostel Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing