We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Colonial Paraty
Ranked #3 of 300 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I am normally a big hotel person. I like luxury, service and high end amenities. This was my first time staying in a small pousada type place and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The place: gorgeous!! Cleverson and his wife Daniela were incredible. Even with a new baby they were both there every day to see how we were doing. Cleberson arranged a private boat tour of the islands for us and even private transfer back to the rio airport. They are building a second location that will open this summer just as beautiful as the first...but with a pool!! We will certainly be back. This was our best experience traveling.
We will

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank calliope123toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Casa Colonial Paraty
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 237 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Could't be better. The place is very class , the staf very helpful. However u ask they are ready to help. The bed was big and comfortable the room very cleaner. Breakfast fresh,even the juice was fresh! We'll guys it was beyond your aspectaction. We highly recommended it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rodrigo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

It’s very hard to add anything else to the reviews that have already been written. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we felt most welcome and were spoilt rotten! Everything was relaxed and and very easygoing.

The staff looked after us, helping with trip ideas and restaurant suggestions. Throughout the stay, we were given little treats when we returned to the Pusada such as desserts, fruit and drinks. We were also given a pair of Havaianas to wear and keep.

We used private transfers from Rio, which were organised through the Pusada. Our driver was Fernando, he was great. Yes, a car is more expensive than the bus, but was worth it for the convince and the conversation. We also used Fernando for our transfers to and from GIG whilst in Rio.

All in all, we couldn't fault this place. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. You'll have an amazing time whichever room you stay in.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarrenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Top of my list in places to stay are beds and bathrooms. If you're fed up with creaking and small beds and terrible bathrooms in brazil, then you will be delighted with the top european style quality of the bed - including top quality bed linen - and the beautifully appointed new marble-stone bathrooms with fantastic showers with proper water pressure! Hurrah!
Location is just about as good as it gets in Paraty too - on the best street, a few doors along from the best restaurant in town. But just off the lively square.
The house is beautifully finished - to a standard you very rarely see in brazil - and with only 3 rooms you may be the only people here - we were - and have the house to yourselves.
Breakfast is super - usual Brazilian mix of freshly prepared fruits, breads ham and local cheeses, and a freshly baked little cake every morning. Eggs are offered as a matter of course - rare for brazil but the team here understand that us Brits love our eggs for breakfast! A spare cake is also left for you on your return from your day out - a lovely touch as well as the secret sweet left in your mini-bar, a passion fruit mousse or suchlike! A delicious touch! Nespresso machine and mini-bar and wifi is all thrown in for free. Brand new high quality unobtrusive aircon all over the house.
Cleber and Daniela run the place and both speak super English - Cleber lived in Hammersmith for 7 years! They can organise all sorts of boat trips and so on for you - we went to some amazing remote and deserted beaches on their recommendation - Cleber has camped out all over the area and knows exactly where to go and what to do.
Totally loved the place and the team here - they're also opening a bigger house round the corner (a really beautiful one!) with a garden, pool and lovely antique Brazilian furniture - as soon as the leak in the pool is fixed! Wish I could stay and live in Parati. Hope to see you again soon guys!
(no pool but the outdoor tank/shower was absolutely fine!)

Room Tip: All are lovely. 2 downstairs, 1 upstairs
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This place is amazing! The rooms are very well appointed with comfy beds and modern facilities
the breakfast was very good and plentfull

Great location and great accommodation! Wonderful staff and the owner is a fantastic host and the boat trip ( Donna Geralda) to remote beaches is a must !

Great caipirinhas and fantastic food very nice staff on board !

Highlights - the next door restaurant Banana leaf has amazing dishes , and the fiber hammocks at the same street corner are exquisite

The town has cobble stone so leave your high heals home for this adventure !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OndinaMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My friend and I travelled the coast of Brazil Rio-Ilha Grande-Paraty-Rio and absolutely fell in Love with Paraty and Casa Colonial! Clem and his wife Daniela have done a great job and there is so much attention to detail and breakfast is fab. Nothing was too much for Clem who helped us with every part of our holiday and made it truly special - I would recommend to everyone. A truly idyllic getaway in a fantastic location in the heart of Paraty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spagnoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We've just come back from our honeymoon trip around Brazil and Casa Colonial 12 was our first stop off, and how pleased we were! The house is fantastic, has a really luxurious feel with great design and lovely bedroom and bathroom (best shower of the trip!). There was an another couple staying at the same time as us and although the house has only 3 rooms we still felt as though we had the whole place to ourselves. We chilled out in the lovely living room before we went out for dinner in the evening and had wonderful breakfasts in the garden, with a monkey and birds for company!

There are some really nice touches at the house, inlcuding free drinks in the room minibar, ipod dock in the lounge, coffee making facilities and afternoon cakes, umbrellas to take out whilst wandering the streets of Paraty (which we needed!) and beach towels to take out to the beach. The staff we really hospitable and as we don't speak any Portuguese tried their best to communicate with us in English, which we were really grateful for.

We definitely recommend Casa Colonial 12!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
553 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
527 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
339 reviews
Eliconial
#4 of 300 in Paraty
698 reviews
Historic City Center
Casa Turquesa - Maison D'Hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Paraty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Paraty

Address: Rua Dona Geralda 200, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty > Historic City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range: $186 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Colonial Paraty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA COLONIAL PARATY is a new boutique hotel in the centre of Paraty's old town made up of a small number of impeccably restored colonial houses. Guests have the sensation of being in a beautiful private home, but with the service you would expect in a luxury hotel. CASA DO SIMON offers 5 bedrooms in an 18th century merchant's house restored to a very high standard, decorated with Brazilian antiques and artworks by local artists. There is a pretty walled garden and a beautiful small pool. CASA COLONIAL 12 consists of just 3 bedrooms in a pretty 19th century house that has been attractively restored internally in a bright, clean and modern style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Colonial Paraty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Paraty Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing