We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Portal das Artes
Ranked #41 of 294 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisboa
2 reviews
“Loved it and will be back”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pousada Portal das Artes is a cosy place with an excellent vibe. It makes you feel like home and the decoration sets you in an holiday mood.
The rooms are super clean and the sheets smell wonderfully and are changed every 2 days. The beds are super comfortable and the only reason you feel like waking up for is to enjoy breakfast. Everything is fresh and full of all those wonderful brazilian flavors.
The staff is incredibly nice and speak english. The host, Rui, is very helpful and takes pleasure in setting you up to enjoy everything Paraty has to offer.
I recommend it and will stay there every time I'll go to Paraty.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomes_ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

It feels not like an hotel, but your friend's house. Rooms are nice and clean, small territory is really cute, location is a bit far from center, but we had a rentcar and no issues to get there. Staff speaks English! That;s very important in Brazil, ask them how to get to waterfalls and Trindade beach - fantastic places!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PavelZhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very peaceful and clean, and beautifully decorated, this pousada makes you fell at home! Catarina and Rui, the owners, make you fell welcome and you know your presence is appreciated. Loved the five star homemade breakfast. I recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadaRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This place was very clean and amazingly decorated. The house wife has a real talent, she create art from simple things and they are fantastic.

Host was a charm, he helped me find a place to stay for more days since he was full capacity, invited me to watch Portugal soccer game....

Well, I think everything is said. Amazing place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

It feels a bit like you are home. The pousada was cosy and tidy, runned by lovely people. The breakfast was fresh and really tasty. It is not really close to the center, but the owners lend us a bike for free. A taxi is about 20 reias (not 100% sure, but prices are set). You can also walk, takes about 20 minutes.
The owners were really helpfull, they helped us with making reservations and tips for things in Paraty. They even brought us to the busstation when we were about to call a taxi when we left.
We just had a lovely stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineTimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Away from the bustle of the historic centre, this little Pousada was artsy yet cosy. The building itself is a converted weekend home, and has been beautifully renovated. There is a nice reception area with sofas and big widescreen TV, as well as lovely outdoor areas with comfy seating and a funky outdoor kitchen area from where you have breakfast. Breakfast was great with a wide selection of cereals, fruit, cake, bread, cold ham and cheese etc.

As it was our honeymoon, we booked the master suite and were not disappointed! The decor is a combination of rustic red brick and classy wood panelling, with a huge bathroom and dressing area as well as private outdoor area (with hammock!). First class.

Room Tip: Book the master suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnb164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very nice owners, brand new bed and bath clothes. I cannot forget the didactic video games that Rui played with my 9 years old son..Everything it's very clean with a very nice smell... don't know why but really remembered my childhood..... It's about 20 to 25 minutes to the historical center walking, but for sure it's a nice and safe path... We are staying in master suite, we are leaving tomorrow, but we are missing it already... If you are looking for cleanliness, a nice breakfast, and a good vibes environment you won't be disappointed...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank comavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Brunello
Hotel Brunello
#30 of 294 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnu's Pousada
Magnu's Pousada
#20 of 294 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pousada L'essence
Pousada L'essence
#22 of 294 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Rosa Cafe
Pousada Rosa Cafe
#90 of 294 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Magia Verde
Pousada Magia Verde
#32 of 294 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Portal das Artes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Portal das Artes

Property: Pousada Portal das Artes
Address: Av. Candido Portinari 4 | Portal das Artes, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 294 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Portal das Artes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Portal das Artes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Portal Das Artes Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing