We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable”
Review of Pousada do Ouro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada do Ouro
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The pousada is amazing! In terms of location - if you are looking to stay at the historic center - it does not get any better. The hotel dependencies are beautiful, they are a monument on their on, and definitely keep you on the "colonial vibe". Service in Paraty is great in general but the hotel staff is extra friendly and helpful. The breakfast is delicious and poolside meals and drinks are great too. The pool side area has an atmosphere of its own, enjoy it after a sauna. For room service you have the option of ordering from Punto Di Vino, which is an amazing restaurant very close to the pousada.

The only two considerations I have are:
1. The bathroom amenities could be improved, the soaps and towels seemed bellow hotel standards, but nothing critical.
2. We stayed at the hotel during carnaval break, the parades will get noisy enough and keep you up at night. Ask in advance for rooms that do not face the street. You wont get a "view" but you guarantee a good night sleep.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DebiMMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    139
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
103
306
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were 6 friends and a baby that stayed at this pousada last week. We had an amazing time and much of it thanks to the helpful staff at the pousada. They provided great advice on boat trips, helped organize our spa visit, recommended good restaurants and were generally helpful and pleasant about everything. This is probably the best service we had anywhere in Brazil! The pousada is also beautiful - nice, clean rooms as well as a cute pool, bar and common areas. Plus there was enclosed parking and the pousada is in a great location in the heart of the historic centre and within walking distance to the pier. I would highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This colonial B&B is beautifully maintained, charming and quite comfortable. I love the lacquered doors. Pool is small but, very inviting; we spent the hot afternoons submerged there. The location is great. Yes, the wifi is limited....so what? I was on vacation, I don't think we need to be connected all the time. Staff were helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the breakfast, it's always a happy thing when you have two cake selections each morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The breakfast dining room is almost in itself worth a visist, generating a colonial feeling. The breakfast itself is of course excellent. Friendly staff, a cozy bar with expert caipirinhas, lounge area pool and very comfortable and stylish rooms make this a gem in Paraty.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manymangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very nice colonial B&B/boutique hotel. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived as we didn't know what to expect. We booked a big room for 4. Two adults and 2 children. The room was a duplex suite. On the higher level you have the queen size bed, and in the lower level you have the bathroom, 2 single beds, a table with 4 chairs, fridge and rocking chair. All very nicely decorated. Overall, really relaxing and green atmosphere. One thing I wasn't too happy with was the rate per night. Brazil is expensive, specially for tourists, so maybe I just need to get used to it, but consider paying NYC/London price if you want to travel comfortably in Brazil. And Paraty, and specially Pousada do Ouro, even though being in a small town, won't be the exception.
Another thing that could be changed are the service hours. The pool bar closes at 10pm, which I think is a bit early. Also Wifi connection is the room was really poor. For the price paid I would have expect flawless wireless internet, and much longer bar/kitchen opening hours.
On the plus side, the service provided by staff was really good. And we even got a late checkout without extra fee, which these days is almost impossible to get.
Would I stay again: Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a side street facing room. These rooms seem to be much nicer, and the street noise is accept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JvR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frigiliana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Faultless. The small bedroom and bathroom was perfectly adequate, but take a travel kettle, coffee and milk powder if you like an early morning or late evening cup of coffee as there are no coffee facilities in the rooms. Also the fridge and air-con was quite loud at night, but nothing too bad. I would upgrade to a superior room next time. Plenty of food and choice at breakfast and very good service from the staff.
Swimming pool area was beautiful, if small, and the staff were friendy, helpful and charming.
Ideally located for all the bars and restaurants of Paraty. About a ten minute walk to the nearest beach.

Room Tip: Get a superior room. Our courtyard room was rather small and had a noisy fridge and air-con. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frigilianafreddy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Pousada do Ouro is a charming hotel in the middle of historic Paraty. The room was perfect and so was the overall decoration, very friendly service. The only thing we could miss was a pousada-feeling. It can be a bit unpersonal as it feels more like a proper hotel. But the experience was charming and we would certainly recommend a stay here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aventuroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
503 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Condessa
#7 of 28 in Paraty
329 reviews
Chale Recanto da Praia
#9 of 28 in Paraty
203 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Ouro

Property: Pousada do Ouro
Address: Rua Moreira 145 | Historical Centre, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
#4 Family Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada do Ouro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of cobblestone streets and horse-drawn carriages you can find the 18th-century colonial house: Pousada do Ouro. Translated as "Guesthouse of Gold," it lies directly at the waterfront at the historical centre of Paraty. There are 27 nicely decorated rooms: All have air conditioning, minibar, telephone, LCD TV, safe and hair dryer. Pousada do Ouro also offers a pool, sauna, spa, bar, pool table, TV and DVD room, assembly room, wi-fi and own parking facility. Break free from your routine and come to see Paraty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Pousada do Ouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Ouro Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing