We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous retreat”
Review of Pousada do Ouro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada do Ouro
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous retreat”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Pousada do Ouro was such a treat. Gorgeous architecture, lovely old colonial feel, spacious both in the living areas and the bedrooms. Welcoming staff who spoke English - a rarity in Brazil! Lovely pool and great caipirinhas! Perfect location between the beach and the historic centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    139
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
103
306
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A gem of a hotel in this delightful town.
The hotel is beautiful, with lovely areas to relax in.
Our rooms were large and comfortable with all conveniences.
Breakfast was excellent and meals could be brought in from
neighbouring restaurants.
The staff were extremely welcoming and made every effort to
help us with excusions.
One of the nicest hotels Ive ever stayed in. Highly recommende.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosslyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Pousada do ouro was great. We recently stayed there for 3 nights while touring Paraty. The staff was the main highlight. They not only spoke English, which is relatively rare in Brazil, but were also friendly, accommodating and helpful. The hotel was clean, quiet, safe and well located for exploring Paraty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micahb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Pousada do Ouro during a short visit to Paraty as part of a 2.5 week trip to Brazil. I would definitely say that it was the best place we stayed at in brazil and maybe in general over the last few trips.
The hotel itself is beautiful, both the common areas as well as the rooms. We stayed in the standard room so can only imagine the more expensive rooms were even more beautiful! The room was big and very nicely decorated and with all amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
The staff was extremely helpful, professional and friendly. They helped us to find transportation last minute and were patient although it took quite some time.
The breakfast was rich in choice and very tasty.
All in all, an amazing place to experience the lovely town of Paraty from.
obrigado!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abarneah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A very nice gem of a hotel right in the heart of Paraty. Very relaxed atmosphere, perfect for a weekend getaway, a stopover between SP and Rio or even a week of relaxing at the beaches. We went in November when few tourists are roaming the streets of Paraty.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank koelschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have stayed with my family (wife and a 9 month old baby) in a lovely room 22. This had direct view from all windows (lounge and bedroom) to the trropical garden and it is directly above the main lounge. The common areas are very relaxing and the whole place is highly advisible for someone who is looking to charge bateries whereas at the same time being located at the historic centre of Paraty.The staff has been very helpfull and polite during the complete stay. Even without asking for, we already had a full size cot on the side of our bed as soon as we arrived. This hotel is minutes away from a church square where bars and restaurants with live music can be found. We are definitely going back to Paraty, and we will definitely stay again in this Pousada.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My family and I stayed for five days at the Pousada Do Ouro. It was a great experience. The location is unbeatable, right in the Center of the Historical Center (you can walk everywhere, you don't need taxis) and the hotel facilities are very good: the pool, spa, sauna and bar. Our room was a suite for the four of us and it was perfect. There was plenty of space and we loved the décor. The staff was friendly and helpful and we did not have a single complaint during our entire stay. Also, the breakfasts were really good and the dining room staff are top notch. We have already recommended this hotel to others and they have just written to us saying that the Pousada was exactly how we had described it. They also had a great time. I would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Ours, # 26 was perfect! We all loved it and had amazing nights of sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
502 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Condessa
#7 of 28 in Paraty
328 reviews
Chale Recanto da Praia
#8 of 28 in Paraty
203 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Ouro

Property: Pousada do Ouro
Address: Rua Moreira 145 | Historical Centre, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
#4 Family Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada do Ouro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of cobblestone streets and horse-drawn carriages you can find the 18th-century colonial house: Pousada do Ouro. Translated as "Guesthouse of Gold," it lies directly at the waterfront at the historical centre of Paraty. There are 27 nicely decorated rooms: All have air conditioning, minibar, telephone, LCD TV, safe and hair dryer. Pousada do Ouro also offers a pool, sauna, spa, bar, pool table, TV and DVD room, assembly room, wi-fi and own parking facility. Break free from your routine and come to see Paraty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pousada do Ouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Ouro Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing