We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada do Ouro
Nearby Hotels
Pousada do Sandi(Paraty)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eliconial(Paraty)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pousada Don Juan(Paraty)(Great Value!)
$54
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$377
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveler rating
418
149
26
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
149
26
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingmick jaggerold townhotel barstandard roomoriginal buildingpool tablerestaurants and shopscolonial styleexcellent locationcharming hotelhistorical townfive minute walkwonderful stayquiet streetbeautiful placeprivate boat
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 598 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Pousada do Ouro several times over a period of 15 years. It's getting bettter every time! Its location is perfect and easily reachable by car ( unusual in Paraty). I have stayed in the hotel itsself and the annex. I almost prefer the annex; with its charming rooms in a tiny alley just opposite the main building, makes you feel like you're entering your own home.
Managment has changed over the years but not the quality.Actually it has become better. Service is faultless, friendly and eager to please. On arrival I did not like the room number (13) reserved for me; immediately an other room was offered and chequed before I entered.

Rooms are comfortable, not luxurious. Wifi worked on and off ( no fault of the hotel, other places in town I tried had the same difficulties), the mattress maybe a trifle on the hard side and the towels should now be changed to a more fluffy variety. Breakfast is near perfect; a wonderful selection including English tea selections. A great pity that the restaurant has now closed for dinner, but you can get all kinds of snacks and they will order food from Punto Di Vino for you on request ( wonderful food, see my review). So full marks for the Pousada do Ouro and its elegant, hands on manager. Well done!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IpanemaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Perfect accommondation in a portugues colonial building in the old centre of Paraty with a beautiful courtyard and pool area. Rooms and lounge area are in a classical stylish mode. The service personal is more than polite, engaged and helpful in arranging trips, guided visits and also in case of dificult request (e.g. transfers on weekend). The pousada is offering breakfast and small dishes menue in the bar/pool area. Unfortunately or luckily there is no restaurant within the pousada, but there are so many restaurants in Paraty that this point is not really disturbing. I found it even more comfortable. The only thing to say is - "stay there".

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susanne2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The common spaces won me over. The staff speaks English and can help with logistics to book tours, get around town and assist with travel issues. They are very helpful and willing.

It is a very charming city and this is a very charming hotel. It is in the historic portion of Paraty, near to the port. I found the rooms very quiet and peaceful at night. We stayed in the building across the street. The rooms are not large if that concerns you, it doesn't bother me. I did not find the air conditioning annoying, nor loud. If at all it sounds like "white noise" to me. It has antique terra cotta floors, a bizarre small atrium that seems to serves no purpose, but does bring in some extra light to the room. The bed it simple. The walls are freshly painted white. Feels very clean in the room, even though it is an antique rustic style. The shower head gave decent pressure and there was plenty of hot water.

Our favorite part was the bar area near the pool. It is under a Palapa with comfortable sofas and chairs and tables. There was Bossa Nova playing in the background. So relaxing. They make a great Caiparina too. Wish it had been warm enough to swim, the pool looked very inviting. This would be a great place to come with a group of friends or as a couple.

The breakfast is abundant. They had plenty of fruits and homemade yogurt. They will make you an omelette if you ask.

Very close to the hotel is a casual and inexpensive restaurant attached to a native arts store called Armazem Paraty. You must get the Crab Tapioca quesadilla looking dish. It is outstanding. They also serve a bunch of sucos form the Amazon. I would have eaten there every day had we known about it sooner. It is about 1-2 blocks south and turn left. Down the street from Restauarante Coupe by about 1 block.

We also took a Jeep Tour in the jungle, with a company they recommended. You'll go to about 3 different waterfalls, very short hikes to each of them - beautiful settings each one. It is a tour and you will end up in a caravan with a couple of other jeeps too. You'll go to a restaurant for lunch, in an absolutely stunning remote location - food was good, not amazing but good. They also take you to 2 cachaca places, the second is better than the first and one orchid/bromeliad nursery. I did really enjoy the excursion, but I would say it is probably a better tour to take if you like cold natural water or it is hot outside so you can dip in and cool off. We didn't go in the water, just too cold for me. again, still great day exploring even without taking a dip in the waters.

The Pousada did a great job of making our stay in Paraty fantastic. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

This was a very good stay in paraty ! Great price good service! It's not a five star but it makes up for the charm!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craizyforio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were deciding between 3 places to stay in Paraty. All sounded fine, but it was difficult
to tell which of the three would be best. The decision was made for us when after e-mailing
all 3 only Pousada do Oura had availability. Talk about dumb luck! This place is a find,
offers real value for several reasons, and should go to the top of a travelers list for sure.
The Pousada is quiet, immaculate, and comfortable. It offers a superlative breakfast in
a wonderfully large and pleasant dining room. The pool area is one of the nicest in Paraty
and during hot weather like we encountered it became most welcome! Great jazz surrounds
the pool area where you'll find both an enclosed and open dining space for a drink or light bite. The lovely main reception rooms are expansive and a great place to read, look over
your travel brochures, or just relax.To our delight, the young, energetic staff all spoke English and were full of good suggestions. Rooms are generously sized and have excellent air con. We preferred the rooms in the original building and found the front desk to be most helpful when we asked for a larger bed. ( We are not small people!)At our request the front desk also arranged for us to take a walking tour of the old town. Our guide, Sergio Vieira,
www. descubaparaty.com is the guy-to-ask-for. The former biology teacher plies
you with all the fun back stories about Paraty's past then rounds out the corners
with tons of interesting tidbits about the current life. Walking round town with him
is great fun as everyone stops to give him a hello. Soon the whole little group
is chatting away! It's only four hours from RIo to Paraty and we highly recommend a visit- especially now that this Unesco colonial fishing village is in the midst of getting spruced up with fresh paint and lots of building renovations.The tide overflow filling the streets is like a movie- you need to see if for yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulivh, Owner at Pousada do Ouro, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

We thank you for your positive review about your stay in Paraty and Pousada do Ouro.
We are even more pleased to serve when we receive this kind of acknowledgement.

The Pousada do Ouro team thanks you for choosing to stay with us.
It will be a pleasure to have your visit again soon.

Pousada do Ouro and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews