We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“December 2011” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada do Ouro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada do Ouro
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Codicote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“December 2011”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had 6 memorable days at Ouro through Christmas 2011. We had 2-standard rooms allocated in the annex across the road from the main building, both rooms were excellent standard although slightly modest, I regret that I did not go for deluxe rooms. The buildings are very pretty 18c originals, imaginatively restored with a great courtyard garden and a swimming pool. I can not praise the staff enough, the service was exemplary and always with the broadest smile. All our requests were promptly attended to and the tours organised each day were with probably the best boats, cars and drivers. Great thanks to all at Ouro.

Room Tip: If budget allows go for deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alp1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    137
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
101
300
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I came with my family for a two night stay on the way to Rio de Janiero. We booked a 3-person suite, which was very nice. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is adequate for our needs. The decor is in a colonial style, fitting with the look of the overall town of Paraty. The service at the reception is friendly and accommodating. They helped us book restaurants, massages and outings. The hotel is perfectly situated in the historic town centre next to the shops, restaurants and all attractions.

One word to the wise, the hote booked a 4 hour boat trip on our behalf that we were rather disappointed with. The boat was quite old (not in a quaint sort of way) with the paint was peeling, and really slow. The captain was not at all interested in ensuring we had a good trip, and he spent most of his time shouting conversations on his mobile phone over the roar of his diesel engine. We only made two stops, one for snorkeling which was rather disappointing and the other a nice beach. The rest of the time was spent ferrying back and forth between Paraty and these two stops. So, we recommend that you wait until your arrival and go out to the dock area, which is right next to the main square and check out the boats, speak to the captains and negotiate a good fare. What we were charged seemed like highway robbery given the quality of our outing.

On the other hand the hotel recommended a massage at the Shambhala Asian Day Spa, which they booked on our behalf and it was truly excellent!

Back to the hotel itself, it has a nice pool and lovely garden with an outdoor bar and a cozy lounge. Breakfast was delicious and ample. We booked in for the New Year period, which we found to be rather expensive. But its certainly money well spent as the hotel has exceeded our expectations and we've had a really relaxing and enjoyable time.

One more thing to note, because of the festive period, there has been loud music and dancing in the square until 5am the first night we arrived, I was able to sleep just fine with ear plugs, but you could certainly hear the festivities in our room. I danced until 1 am and then called it quits ;-) Paraty is a fun town that knows how to party! But be forewarned if you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs.


In conclusion, I would definitely recommend this Pousada, but book the boating yourself ;-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndigoNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulivh, Owner at Pousada do Ouro, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
First of all thank you very much for your review. It is a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests!
We have checked the boat trip you took and we are very sorry that our indication didn't achieve your expectations. Usually our indications are very well accepted through our guests.
We allready checked which boat it was and we will certainly not indicate him anymore if his services do not improve.
Thank you very much for this advice and hope to see you again in Paraty sometime soon!
For any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind regards,
Pousada do Ouro and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

everything is perfect about this pousada! we recently stayed there for 5 nights. we stayed in two rooms (since we made our reservation late it was the best they could do). both rooms were beautiful, clean and charming! the location was perfect and there was secure onsite parking.

you walk inside and are welcome by gorgeous, lush gardens. there is a beautiful pool as well (not too big, but completely adequate). there are drinks available and finally the caphiriana I have been waiting for! DELICIOUS!

the nightly restaurant recommendations were amazing. sabrina organized a boat for us for the day and it was perfection! the morning breakfast was delicious. there is not a restaurant onsite but there is a restaurant that they work with who delivers. on christmas day that restaurant was not serving the food we wanted so they called somewhere else AND went to get the food!!

I feel like this is what a hotel/pousada should be!! one of the best experiences I have ever had!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Everything perfect during our stay with family. Paraty worth every minute of visit. Beautiful landscapes, well conserved houses and buildings. Many cultural places and history of Brasil to know.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igormorbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our minibus transfer twisted and turned along narrow lanes and we wondered what sort of hotel we were going to especially when it stopped outside what looked like a garage door!
HOWEVER, once we were inside it was a lovely old building that had been tastefully converted. What we had not appreciated is that the hotel is in the 'Historic Centre' which does not allow any traffic in the cobbled streets. Hence the circuitous route around the Historic Centre to the back entrance of the hotel. During our tour of South America we stayed at some nice hotels (Sheraton, Hilton, etc) but this little 'rustic' hotel beat them all. The breakfast buffet was not huge but it was the best - the homemade yoghurt (with a bit of honey) was superb. Lovely scrambled eggs and crispy bacon as well.
The Historic Centre is lovely to just wander around. A boat trip around the Bay is also very good.

Room Tip: Paraty Tours have a daily minibus transfer to/from Rio (hotel or airport). Our room was across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULnCAROL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a wonderful , clean, tranquil place.
Very good.
thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Pousada do Ouro is a relaxing hotel with great hotel staff. It is a fascinating hotel with many unique rooms, a great hotel bar area for lounging and chatting, and honest knowledge of the local Paraty restaurants and activities. We had a great time at Pousada do Ouro.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ODoyleRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#22 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Chale Recanto da Praia
#9 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Pousada da Condessa
#8 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Ouro

Property: Pousada do Ouro
Address: Rua Moreira 145 | Historical Centre, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
#4 Family Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada do Ouro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of cobblestone streets and horse-drawn carriages you can find the 18th-century colonial house: Pousada do Ouro. Translated as "Guesthouse of Gold," it lies directly at the waterfront at the historical centre of Paraty. There are 27 nicely decorated rooms: All have air conditioning, minibar, telephone, LCD TV, safe and hair dryer. Pousada do Ouro also offers a pool, sauna, spa, bar, pool table, TV and DVD room, assembly room, wi-fi and own parking facility. Break free from your routine and come to see Paraty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada do Ouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Ouro Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing