We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada do Ouro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada do Ouro
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Lovely location in downtown! The staff was kind and promptly replied to all of our questions and requests. The breakfast was great and the room was very spacious. I read some reviews about problems with the bathroom or the cleaning services but, to be honest, I found Pousada do Ouro much superior to many 5 star hotels in which I have been. The decor and furniture was classic and coherent with the Historic vibe that Paraty has...Too bad that some people confuse it with cheapness, Considering the location (small city), it is an awesome place to stay and enjoy your trip. I absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    137
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
101
300
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zürich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I visited Paraty during May and received a warm welcome from the staff. The staff is very friendly and helpful and everything was perfectly organized for my stay. I love the colonial style and colonial details. The garden is a small paradise with many native plants such as banana tree, orchid, other flowers and palm trees.

They even have a nice convention center. It seems that it used to be a school classroom. It would be fun to do a team event or business meeting in this convention center.

I really recommend Pousada do Ouro. It's close to the harbour and also to the city center. enjoy a game of billiard in the evening and a fresh made caipirinha at the hotel bar. Cool down in the pool after a nice sauna or massage at the hotel spa.

I have stayed here already 3 times ;-) and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have spent six days in this lovely and charming pousada. It is extremely well located in historic center of Paraty, pousada staff is really nice and always open to provide help or tips. Breakfast is great (it worths to mention the daily homemade cakes). A place to go for who like us likes places with lot of memory

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skonsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

I went last January ...and I could not believe! the staff were really kind and helpful!
The Pousada do Ouro is a particular pousada! Nice, chic, relax! but in the same hand not snobish!
Paraty is a paradise - and old colonial town!
For the ones, like me, who like breakfast is just perfect! juices, toasts, breads, juices, cheeses served in the colonial place!
I high reccommend a trip to Paraty and stay in this Pousada!

Room Tip: main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARIA_19799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I were only able to stay 2 nights. We would have loved to stay longer. Staff were very friendly, attentive, spoke excellent english. Our room was extremely clean and spacious. The pool, bar and lounge areas were very relaxing and comfortable. Breakfast was served in the bright well lit dining room. The location is perfect for walking around Paraty, very close to the pier, shopping, restaurants. We plan to recommend Pousada do Ouro to our friends.
GF
Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHDJJAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

I've been to pousada do Ouro and was a little bit disappointed.Rooms too small, the beds were so narrow i could not believe. Cleanliness and service OK.
Needs a makeover !

Room Tip: Stay at the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leilats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulivh, Owner at Pousada do Ouro, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Dear Mrs. Leilats,
First of all, thank you very much for your review. The opinions of our guests are very valuable for us.
Pousada do Ouro is a very traditional colonial Pousada in Paraty.
We offer 3 room categories: Standard, Superior and Suites. The room sizes differ from one category to another, as you can see in the photos at the Pousada’s website. The beds are american standard size beds, we have single beds, queen size and king size beds.
Our standard procedure during check in, is to show the room to our guest, accompanied by a staff member that makes sure that everything is ok.
I am very sorry to hear that you were not totally satisfied with your accommodation. We hope to be able to serve you better in your next visit.
With kind regards,
Pousada do Ouro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Our car died on the drive from Rio, so we arrived at the Pousada feeling stressed and aggravated. Our moods lifted upon entering our room (a "superior apartment" in the annex across the way), a spacious, high-ceilinged room with ceiling fan, louvered shutters and a view of colonial rooftops across the way. The buildings are filled with unique furniture and exquisite flower arrangements. The pool area is magnificent, and the sounds of tropical birds and the sight and smell of tropical flowers soothed away the rest of our travel hassles. Staff were uniformly helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast was served in a charming spacious room, and had abundant choices. Paraty is difficult to navigate, as the cobblestones make walking a challenge, but the town has a seductive charm. Definitely worth a detour.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisenyc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#22 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Chale Recanto da Praia
#9 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Pousada da Condessa
#8 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Ouro

Property: Pousada do Ouro
Address: Rua Moreira 145 | Historical Centre, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
#4 Family Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada do Ouro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of cobblestone streets and horse-drawn carriages you can find the 18th-century colonial house: Pousada do Ouro. Translated as "Guesthouse of Gold," it lies directly at the waterfront at the historical centre of Paraty. There are 27 nicely decorated rooms: All have air conditioning, minibar, telephone, LCD TV, safe and hair dryer. Pousada do Ouro also offers a pool, sauna, spa, bar, pool table, TV and DVD room, assembly room, wi-fi and own parking facility. Break free from your routine and come to see Paraty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Pousada do Ouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Ouro Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing