We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food, lovely ambiance!”

Restaurante Caminho Do Ouro
Ranked #7 of 998 Restaurants in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Historic City Center
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, lovely ambiance!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Great food, with a modern touch - good option to the otherwise quite repetitive food in the region. The filet mignon with jaboticaba (a local fruit) is highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    128
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,001 reviews
497 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
“Delicious food, pleasant ambience and very good service.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

At last a really first class meal in Brazil cooked by a young lady chef with great skill across all the courses. We had read about this restaurant here on Tripadvisor and it was strongly recommended by staff in an adjacent shop selling Brazilian tribal artisanal work. The restaurant looks good with a pleasant eclectic arrangement of tables and differing chairs, each table set with attractively different glasses. The menu is in Portuguese with good clear English translation. And the attentive waiter also spoke sufficient good English to help us.
The chicken and corn soup was substantial and full of flavour. My palm heart salad sauté with pesto was tender and tasty. We both had a favourite of lobster tail served with a side dish of rice creamed as the most delicious risotto and with a sauté of fine mixed small vegetables that was perfectly cooked. I could eat no more though my partner went for the pineapple mille feuille which was crispy and delicious. Chef has a way with dessert. The total for all this, a coffee (also excellent creme espresso), two local beers and a caipirinha was Rs 290.
Throughout we had pleasant attentive helpful service. We loved it all. Best food after nearly three weeks in Brazil.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirkcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best meal in Paraty”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

After a couple of disappointing and overpriced meals in Paraty it was nice to finally find a restaurant that cared about the food and knew how to prepare it. My wife, sister-in-law and I shared the hearts of palm appetizer that was perfect. I had the crusted fish that was cooked perfectly and they both had the filet mignon with the most wonderful fruit sauce reduction. The only only reason for not giving it and excellent score was the poor quality of the desserts. The air conditioning was a definite plus!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Place to splurge”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is one of the best places in town if you want to have a fine dining experience. We shared as an appetizer the Risotto with Shrimps and asparagus (divine!). One meal was cod fish with potatoes and truffles (didn't taste too much truffle though...) wrapped in a leave and surrounded by tomato sauce. Very good. The other was Lobster with vegetables, highly recommended! And save some room for desert (coconut tartlet and chocolat tartlet).They have reasonable size portions
The furnitures is a collection of old chairs/tables/cushions and everything fits really well together. Classy.
Service is attentive. English spoken by the main waiter. The others seemed to be trainees but acting professionally. And the meals came quite rapidly. We didn't have to wait long.
Only two negatives:
1) Wine by the glass is almost inexistant. I had a barely decent Chilean Cabernet from a small bottle. I know that wine is expensive in Brazil and not common in restaurants but I has less classy venues offer more options
2) There is no ambiance per say. It's more of a romantic one on one restaurant. When we were there (friday night, arrived around 7:30-8PM) there was only one other couple and the whole restaurant felt really quiet. Don't remember any music or anything. For sure I wouldn't want to come here solo.
Definitely recommend for a special occasion or if you are tired of casual restaurants and want to feel like you're "going out"

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THE restaurant in Paraty if you want a nice dinner”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

You should go to this place if you want a nice dinner with great food and ambiance. If you are in Paraty during summer time note that this is one of very few restaurants in Paraty with air conditioning.

Helpful?
1 Thank PauloDanilovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Caminho Do Ouro also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Caminho Do Ouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing